Angband.oook.cz
Angband.oook.cz
AboutVariantsLadderForumCompetitionComicScreenshotsFunniesLinks

Go Back   Angband Forums > Angband > Development

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old November 20, 2010, 00:29   #51
Nick
Vanilla maintainer
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Canberra, Australia
Age: 54
Posts: 7,982
Donated: $60
Nick will become famous soon enough
Quote:
Originally Posted by fizzix View Post
Ok, I've just spent about two hours trying to merge the master branch into my own and I've come to the conclusion that I don't understand at all how git works.
I have achieved this once, and IIRC the key is to use 'upstream' (which should be takkaria/angband if you forked from that). I think 'git merge remotes/upstream/master' may be the thing you want, although you may need to do something like 'git remote add <upstream URL>' first. Maybe.
__________________
One for the Dark Lord on his dark throne
In the Land of Mordor where the Shadows lie.
Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 20, 2010, 00:41   #52
Magnate
Angband Devteam member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 5,057
Magnate is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to Magnate Send a message via Yahoo to Magnate
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick View Post
I have achieved this once, and IIRC the key is to use 'upstream' (which should be takkaria/angband if you forked from that). I think 'git merge remotes/upstream/master' may be the thing you want, although you may need to do something like 'git remote add <upstream URL>' first. Maybe.
If you create your git repository with "git clone <wherever>" then the thing you cloned is called 'origin'. So you need

git fetch origin
git merge origin/master

To merge origin/master into your current branch.

@fizzix: what was the problem - not knowing the syntax for the merge or not being able to merge successfully? If your branch is too far forked you may have dozens of conflicts.
Magnate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 20, 2010, 02:18   #53
Nick
Vanilla maintainer
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Canberra, Australia
Age: 54
Posts: 7,982
Donated: $60
Nick will become famous soon enough
Quote:
Originally Posted by Magnate View Post
If you create your git repository with "git clone <wherever>" then the thing you cloned is called 'origin'.
Right. I hit the fork button on github, then cloned the result - hence my clone is origin. I'm sure we're helping.
__________________
One for the Dark Lord on his dark throne
In the Land of Mordor where the Shadows lie.
Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 20, 2010, 05:26   #54
fizzix
Prophet
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Madison, Wisconsin, US
Posts: 3,002
fizzix is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Magnate View Post
If you create your git repository with "git clone <wherever>" then the thing you cloned is called 'origin'. So you need

git fetch origin
git merge origin/master

To merge origin/master into your current branch.

@fizzix: what was the problem - not knowing the syntax for the merge or not being able to merge successfully? If your branch is too far forked you may have dozens of conflicts.
there were conflicts problems. I wanted to accept the origin version, but it wouldn't let me. Eventually I gave up, downloaded the files directly, replaced them all manually, and then still had trouble merging. Apparently it worked eventually, as it looks like I'm successfully merged and I can start trying to figure out how lighting squares works.
fizzix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 20, 2010, 14:10   #55
takkaria
Veteran
 
takkaria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,946
Donated: $40
takkaria is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by fizzix View Post
there were conflicts problems. I wanted to accept the origin version, but it wouldn't let me. Eventually I gave up, downloaded the files directly, replaced them all manually, and then still had trouble merging. Apparently it worked eventually, as it looks like I'm successfully merged and I can start trying to figure out how lighting squares works.
Lighting stuff is all in cave.c, pretty much.
__________________
takkaria whispers something about options. -more-
takkaria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 21, 2010, 13:27   #56
Magnate
Angband Devteam member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 5,057
Magnate is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to Magnate Send a message via Yahoo to Magnate
Quote:
Originally Posted by fizzix View Post
there were conflicts problems. I wanted to accept the origin version, but it wouldn't let me. Eventually I gave up, downloaded the files directly, replaced them all manually, and then still had trouble merging. Apparently it worked eventually, as it looks like I'm successfully merged and I can start trying to figure out how lighting squares works.
Fine - that isn't a git problem, as you'd have to deal with conflicts using any VCS. When 3.2 is out I'll try and come up with a better way of keeping track of who is messing which which bits of code so that we can minimise merge conflicts.
Magnate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 21, 2010, 13:29   #57
Magnate
Angband Devteam member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 5,057
Magnate is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to Magnate Send a message via Yahoo to Magnate
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick View Post
Right. I hit the fork button on github, then cloned the result - hence my clone is origin. I'm sure we're helping.
Indeed - I think what people may not have realised reading your last post is that you created the remote "upstream" manually, after the clone of origin. It probably isn't ideal that when I've described that process on the dev wiki, I've called the new remote "official" instead.

Never mind - when we are assimilated all these problems will be solved ...
Magnate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 4, 2010, 10:22   #58
Rizwan
Swordsman
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 292
Rizwan is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Magnate View Post
Never mind - when we are assimilated all these problems will be solved ...
Nooooooo I don't want to be assimilated

Now you are scaring me with that Borg-like talk

Rizwan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sangband SVN/Git/? camlost Development 7 September 9, 2010 19:31
[Z+]Crash when moving arrows into a container Asgoth Variants 1 December 6, 2008 05:15


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:49.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.