Angband.oook.cz
Angband.oook.cz
AboutVariantsLadderForumCompetitionComicScreenshotsFunniesLinks

Go Back   Angband Forums > Angband > Vanilla

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old November 19, 2010, 20:52   #11
Timo Pietilš
Prophet
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Climbing up from hole I just dug.
Posts: 4,096
Timo Pietilš is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by buzzkill View Post
I've got a 72" HDTV. I've been thinking a lot about if I could play full dungeon on screen with 32x32 tiles. Problem is I need a video card with a digital video out port, which I don't have right now.
72" = 180cm. How far away you have to look at that? Doesn't it bother you that if you look at something at one corner you don't notice something other happening in another?

Reminds me one time when I was watching Dune in movie theater. Was front row seats (full theater) and *very* wide screen. Still remember those thumpers that had very low frequency sound that got resonance from my ribcage.
Timo Pietilš is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 20, 2010, 02:13   #12
buzzkill
Prophet
 
buzzkill's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Indiana, USA
Posts: 2,939
Donated: $8
buzzkill is on a distinguished road
You get used to it pretty quickly, but you do need to sit about 8-10 feet away. It pretty much the only really nice thing I own. It cost more than the car I drive to work every day.

@Timo, My PC's an old P4, probably 10 years old. I already updated the video card some years ago (so I could play GTA4). My next upgrade is going to be a new PC, but my old one still serves my purposes oh so well. All my 'real' gaming occurs my PS3 now.
__________________
www.mediafire.com/buzzkill - Get your 32x32 tiles here. UT32 now compatible Ironband and Quickband 9/6/2012.
My banding life on Buzzkill's ladder.
buzzkill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 4, 2010, 17:16   #13
Rizwan
Swordsman
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 292
Rizwan is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by buzzkill View Post
You get used to it pretty quickly, but you do need to sit about 8-10 feet away. It pretty much the only really nice thing I own. It cost more than the car I drive to work every day.

@Timo, My PC's an old P4, probably 10 years old. I already updated the video card some years ago (so I could play GTA4). My next upgrade is going to be a new PC, but my old one still serves my purposes oh so well. All my 'real' gaming occurs my PS3 now.
So when is there going to be a PS3 port for angband?
Rizwan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 4, 2010, 20:27   #14
buzzkill
Prophet
 
buzzkill's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Indiana, USA
Posts: 2,939
Donated: $8
buzzkill is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rizwan View Post
So when is there going to be a PS3 port for angband?
If only "other OS" (linux) was still supported.
__________________
www.mediafire.com/buzzkill - Get your 32x32 tiles here. UT32 now compatible Ironband and Quickband 9/6/2012.
My banding life on Buzzkill's ladder.
buzzkill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 4, 2010, 23:51   #15
PowerDiver
Prophet
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,712
PowerDiver is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by buzzkill View Post
If only "other OS" (linux) was still supported.
What do you mean by that? I play on linux and can resize my screen.
PowerDiver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 5, 2010, 00:17   #16
Timo Pietilš
Prophet
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Climbing up from hole I just dug.
Posts: 4,096
Timo Pietilš is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by PowerDiver View Post
What do you mean by that? I play on linux and can resize my screen.
Supported in PS3 I guess.
Timo Pietilš is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 5, 2010, 01:08   #17
buzzkill
Prophet
 
buzzkill's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Indiana, USA
Posts: 2,939
Donated: $8
buzzkill is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Timo Pietilš View Post
Supported in PS3 I guess.
Yep. The PS3 originally gave you the ability to install a secondary operating system. I guess hackers took advantage of this 'loop hope' and tried to exploit it to crack the PS3. Sony has since removed that ability.
__________________
www.mediafire.com/buzzkill - Get your 32x32 tiles here. UT32 now compatible Ironband and Quickband 9/6/2012.
My banding life on Buzzkill's ladder.
buzzkill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 8, 2013, 21:03   #18
Casio
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 11
Casio is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by takkaria View Post
Have you tried a) decreasing font size b) making the window bigger?
Sorry to revive a dead thread, but I just stumbled across this in an effort to find an answer to this same question. Running 3.4.1 on Mac OS X, and unfortunately decreasing font size automatically makes the window smaller, and then making the window bigger increases the font size again. Is there something particular to making this work on the Mac, or am I just being stupid? (Very possible!)

Last edited by Casio; April 8, 2013 at 21:10.
Casio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 8, 2013, 21:17   #19
Derakon
Prophet
 
Derakon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 9,002
Derakon is on a distinguished road
Unfortunately the initial Cocoa port was simply written so that resizing the window changed the font size instead of the number of visible rows/columns. The person who wrote the Cocoa port is incommunicado, and none of the other devs are Cocoa experts. Myshkin is working on the problem, but it's a bit slow going. Rest assured that while this is the intended behavior (i.e. it's not technically a bug), you're not alone in considering it to be undesired behavior.
Derakon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 8, 2013, 23:47   #20
Casio
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 11
Casio is on a distinguished road
Ah, thanks for the clarification.

Next up: find (or compile) a console-based binary. I'm not a tile guy anyway.

Thanks again!
Casio is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to use large screen size? kicker Vanilla 13 May 23, 2012 03:22
Bug in ladder-show.php Pete Mack Oook! 1 May 12, 2010 09:50
blank screen r1796 Faust Vanilla 5 November 30, 2009 17:01
[Iron] Show flavors for known objects ekolis Variants 5 February 27, 2008 09:54
[FA] overview doesn't show anything when using graphics petebull Variants 1 May 2, 2007 21:51


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 21:48.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.