Angband.oook.cz
Angband.oook.cz
AboutVariantsLadderForumCompetitionComicScreenshotsFunniesLinks

Go Back   Angband Forums > Angband > Vanilla

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old February 5, 2008, 18:18   #31
K.I.L.E.R
Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 56
K.I.L.E.R is on a distinguished road
Despite all the bugs Angband has ever had, this Vista bug (I don't mean it's the developers of Angband's fault) is by far the most annoying.
K.I.L.E.R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 5, 2008, 19:23   #32
takkaria
Veteran
 
takkaria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,946
Donated: $40
takkaria is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by K.I.L.E.R View Post
Despite all the bugs Angband has ever had, this Vista bug (I don't mean it's the developers of Angband's fault) is by far the most annoying.
I disagree, but then I would. I think all Windows users are going to have to have straight ASCII displays until someone sorts this out, given that I'm not on Windows anymore.
takkaria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 5, 2008, 20:35   #33
d1sc0nnected
Scout
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 27
d1sc0nnected is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to d1sc0nnected Send a message via MSN to d1sc0nnected
Thats terrible news Tak. =P

Angband is the only program I'm having a problem with on my new Vista laptop, but that alone makes me hate Vista.

I hate tiles! I want letters and dots and lines and blocks! Thats the way *band was meant to be played!

Someone please find a solution to this horrifying problem! I beg you!
d1sc0nnected is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 6, 2008, 16:08   #34
Kadoles
Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 58
Kadoles is on a distinguished road
I'm at work so i really can't test anything out, also my work computer is running win98se and angband runs wonderful on it, but...

Does anyone know if its compatible with the extended ascii codes:



I thought 176 thru 178 may work.
Kadoles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 6, 2008, 17:26   #35
Elsairon
Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 117
Elsairon is on a distinguished road
One solution; make a graphic set of ascii characters. Then use graphics mode and still see ascii.

Another option; ( dependant on *band supporting display of background colors -- not sure if it does) If so, one could define a background color and use the 'space' (ascii 32 iirc) to display walls, perhaps changing the color slightly for different ores or lighting levels.
Elsairon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 6, 2008, 18:43   #36
zaimoni
Knight
 
zaimoni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 590
zaimoni is on a distinguished road
This would depend on the front-end. Certainly the curses front-end could be easily adjusted to support background colors, although you do have to hack in a special case for when the monster color is the same as the background color.
zaimoni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 8, 2008, 12:40   #37
Andiiboi
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 4
Andiiboi is on a distinguished road
So this walls thing with Vista* is totally suxxors. I tried playing, and the lack of visible walls was starting to annoy me. Anyway, I started poking around, and this is what I found.

ASCII characters (search the web for ASCII table or something) 28-32,127-255 do not work in Vista. Most of these I wouldn't miss much, but a look in the lib/pref/font-win.prf told me that the walls were set to ASCII character 127.

This is the line for permanent walls, so you can start a new game and mess around with that in the town (not that this would affect your saved game anyway):
F:60:1/127

1 is the code for white color, and 127 is the code for the block we remember seeing. I started testing out random numbers to see what would work, but really, there is a better way to see what you might want.

Start up Angband, and in 3.0.9, go into the options (=), interact with visuals (v), and select change feature (8). This allows you to play with the dungeon tiles.
n/N = forward/backwards feature name
a/A = forward/backwards color
c/C = forward/backwards character

You can actually just remedy your invisible wall problem here (remember to dump your pref file), but you'd have to do this for every savefile you have.

To do change the startup defaults, edit lib/pref/font-win.prf, changing all the 127's to your character of choice. I liked character 2, but you can have arrows or whatever you would like. If you add #'s to the front of any line, it will revert to whatever the default (old school) tile was, which was a blank space for floors and #'s for walls (If you like dots for floors, DON'T remove the #'s from in front of the floors/traps. Also, if you like cheating, change the traps to some color or character other than whatever floors are.)

So, there we are, a temporary fix. I still miss the "real" blocks. By the way, I think lurkers or other invisible characters might show up funny unless we fix them too. I haven't encountered any yet, and I don't really care at this point.



*Stupid Vista also messed up all the editable files, making it all one annoying line of text. To fix the files, copy and past into Wordpad, and resave. Or recopy from Wordpad into Notepad and save. I'm more comfortable that I'm not doing strange things to the text when I'm working in Notepad.
Andiiboi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 6, 2008, 14:41   #38
Nick
Vanilla maintainer
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Canberra, Australia
Age: 54
Posts: 7,962
Donated: $60
Nick will become famous soon enough
Cool Fixed!

OK, there is now a fix for the blank walls in Vista problem. It seems that the problem is with the resolution of the fonts; the fonts used in Vanilla (and most variants) are 75x75 dpi, and they need to be 96x96.

Here is a zipfile containing an appropriate 8x13 font (to go in lib/xtra/font) and a new font-win.prf (to go in lib/pref).

Most of the credit for this goes to Arralen, who managed to make the fix for a slightly different problem in FAangband.
Attached Files
File Type: zip wall_fix.zip (3.1 KB, 656 views)
__________________
One for the Dark Lord on his dark throne
In the Land of Mordor where the Shadows lie.
Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 6, 2008, 14:59   #39
takkaria
Veteran
 
takkaria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,946
Donated: $40
takkaria is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick View Post
OK, there is now a fix for the blank walls in Vista problem. It seems that the problem is with the resolution of the fonts; the fonts used in Vanilla (and most variants) are 75x75 dpi, and they need to be 96x96.

Here is a zipfile containing an appropriate 8x13 font (to go in lib/xtra/font) and a new font-win.prf (to go in lib/pref).

Most of the credit for this goes to Arralen, who managed to make the fix for a slightly different problem in FAangband.
Is that all? A fairly easy job then, I'll see what I can do about regenerating all the V fonts.
takkaria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 6, 2008, 15:04   #40
Nick
Vanilla maintainer
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Canberra, Australia
Age: 54
Posts: 7,962
Donated: $60
Nick will become famous soon enough
Quote:
Originally Posted by takkaria View Post
Is that all?
So it would seem - I've tested it for FA and V in Vista, and everything is happy.
__________________
One for the Dark Lord on his dark throne
In the Land of Mordor where the Shadows lie.
Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 21:02.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.