Angband.oook.cz
Angband.oook.cz
AboutVariantsLadderForumCompetitionComicScreenshotsFunniesLinks

Go Back   Angband Forums > Angband > Variants

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old January 13, 2008, 20:03   #1
Antoine
Ironband/Quickband Maintainer
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,009
Antoine is on a distinguished road
Ironband new release

Hi all

There is a new Ironband beta release out. It is savefile compatible with the previous beta and I recommend updating.

The new release includes some bugfixes, some balance improvements and some documentation improvements. In particular,
- different races get different starting equipment,
- tiles are now assigned correctly to the new monsters and objects,
- cursed ammo can now be worth using sometimes, and isn't as annoying
- some useful objects are more common
- some nasty monsters are immune to Teleport Away.

Ironband is rapidly becoming stable and I hope to go to a full release soon.

A.
Antoine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 13, 2008, 20:04   #2
Antoine
Ironband/Quickband Maintainer
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,009
Antoine is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Antoine View Post
Hi all

There is a new Ironband beta release out. It is savefile compatible with the previous beta and I recommend updating.
Should have mentioned that the downloads are at angband.oook.cz/ironband.
Antoine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 17, 2008, 04:33   #3
flight2q
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 7
flight2q is on a distinguished road
Ironband new release

No longer have easy floor option.
No longer have option to have running interrupted by doors/etc.

Definitely more useful stuff lying around. Even so, combat potions/scrolls end up getting depleted since there is no infinite magic. Game seems meant to be played avoiding battles, got to take one's chances until detect evil?
flight2q is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 17, 2008, 23:23   #4
Antoine
Ironband/Quickband Maintainer
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,009
Antoine is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by flight2q View Post
No longer have easy floor option.
No longer have option to have running interrupted by doors/etc.

Definitely more useful stuff lying around. Even so, combat potions/scrolls end up getting depleted since there is no infinite magic. Game seems meant to be played avoiding battles, got to take one's chances until detect evil?
Are those options important to you? I am happy to put them back if you want.

Yes you will have to avoid some battles, which is dicey until you get a means of detection. Either that or play a HT Warrior and just kill everything you meet

If you find yourself using all your consumables up in the early game then you are probably doing something wrong.

A.
Antoine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 18, 2008, 05:50   #5
flight2q
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 7
flight2q is on a distinguished road
Thanks! It would be super to get those options back.

Easy floor makes it easy to confirm picking up stuff with the left hand on keyboard.

There are a bunch of different options of places to interrupt running; I turn them all on. But I think doors are the important one. You might ask around about defaulting the door option to on. IIRC, with this setup
-+-+-
--*-- where +/* are doors
it will run you past the door (*) that you haven't opened yet. Obv it will also run you past a place where you might want to search for another door too.
(Added: Trying to duplicate this, but I can't.)

Talking about running, and sand, riddle me this - why can you run through sand when it is dark?

Added: Oh, if it's convenient, the flavor text in the inventory display is really irritating.

Last edited by flight2q; January 19, 2008 at 06:09.
flight2q is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 22, 2008, 20:02   #6
DaveMan
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 11
DaveMan is on a distinguished road
Hi,

Thanks for the updating. I tried to compile it under xubuntu (using both Makefile.std and Makefile.gtk) and I got the binary, but the game stops responding upon character generation (when it says I can press [ENTER] to confirm and start the game).

Also I need to run mkfontdir in lib/xtra/fonts to get the game launched.

Looking forward to the solution. Thanks!
DaveMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 22, 2008, 20:05   #7
Antoine
Ironband/Quickband Maintainer
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,009
Antoine is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveMan View Post
Hi,

Thanks for the updating. I tried to compile it under xubuntu (using both Makefile.std and Makefile.gtk) and I got the binary, but the game stops responding upon character generation (when it says I can press [ENTER] to confirm and start the game).

Also I need to run mkfontdir in lib/xtra/fonts to get the game launched.

Looking forward to the solution. Thanks!
I don't know anything about this, can anyone else help?

You could also try posting the same comment on rec.games.roguelike.angband, someone there may be able to help

A.
Antoine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 23, 2008, 06:59   #8
Nick
Vanilla maintainer
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Canberra, Australia
Age: 56
Posts: 9,319
Donated: $60
Nick will become famous soon enoughNick will become famous soon enough
Quote:
Originally Posted by Antoine View Post
I don't know anything about this, can anyone else help?
Looks like in this line (from get_name() in files.c):

Code:
	put_str("Select Name Using Random Name Generator? (y/n)", 24, 10);
the 24 should be a 23, which is the bottom line in a standard angband term. So when it's apparently hung, it's actually just waiting for a y/n answer. Enlarging the window shows the prompt correctly (if you use Makefile.std and -mx11; gcu and gtk still don't show line 24 as far as I can see).
__________________
One for the Dark Lord on his dark throne
In the Land of Mordor where the Shadows lie.
Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 23, 2008, 13:30   #9
DaveMan
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 11
DaveMan is on a distinguished road
Thanks, Nick, making this change does the trick!

Antoine, it seems only the old (8x8) tiles work at the moment, is that true? I tried Adam Bolt's but the dungeon itself remains ascii.

Now diving to lvl3 ...
DaveMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 23, 2008, 20:09   #10
Antoine
Ironband/Quickband Maintainer
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,009
Antoine is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveMan View Post
Thanks, Nick, making this change does the trick!

Antoine, it seems only the old (8x8) tiles work at the moment, is that true? I tried Adam Bolt's but the dungeon itself remains ascii.

Now diving to lvl3 ...
Oh, I thought that was how it supposed to be. I will look into it.

Will put Nick's fix into next release...

A.
Antoine is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
reactions to changes in new V release will_asher Vanilla 50 April 9, 2008 18:47
Ironband... Daven_26d1 Variants 45 January 22, 2008 08:43
Ironband dev question Antoine Variants 1 January 11, 2008 05:10
FuryBand Gold Beta Release The GP Fury Variants 15 November 26, 2007 22:31
Unangband release imminent andrewdoull Variants 0 October 20, 2007 23:59


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:44.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.