Angband.oook.cz
Angband.oook.cz
AboutVariantsLadderForumCompetitionComicScreenshotsFunniesLinks

Go Back   Angband Forums > Angband > Development

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old October 9, 2013, 18:20   #1
Ingwe Ingweron
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Manhattan Beach, CA
Posts: 1,585
Ingwe Ingweron is on a distinguished road
Persistent bugs

Squelch bugs persist in Oct 05 dev 574. Appears to squelch one quality level above what is indicated (e.g., setting squelch of Elven Cloaks to "Excellent, but not splendid" squelches "Non-artifact" instead). There seems to be some disconnectedness between squelching from the inventory/equipment menus and squelching from the options menu, they don't seem to match up. Digger squelching is limited. Unclear what the new category "Great Weapons" covers.

Another persistent bug is in targeting. When a monster is just around the corner and you can "see" it, you can target it. You can also target that location if a monster is not there. However, if a monster is on that location and you cannot "see" it, then targeting will not lock.

Finally, dropping items from inventory/equipment menus still has persistent, albeit intermittent, bugs. For example, you id an item and go to drop it, but the option isn't available. You have to leave the menus, select "d"rop and then drop the item. Still haven't figured out why this is intermittent. Possibly in connection with having inscriptions on the items, and/or items being ego or artifact items, and/or items in the quiver?
Ingwe Ingweron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 20, 2013, 02:41   #2
molybdenum
Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 84
molybdenum is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ingwe Ingweron View Post
Finally, dropping items from inventory/equipment menus still has persistent, albeit intermittent, bugs. For example, you id an item and go to drop it, but the option isn't available. You have to leave the menus, select "d"rop and then drop the item. Still haven't figured out why this is intermittent. Possibly in connection with having inscriptions on the items, and/or items being ego or artifact items, and/or items in the quiver?
When this happened, do you remember if there was a "pick up" command available?
molybdenum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 20, 2013, 06:37   #3
Ingwe Ingweron
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Manhattan Beach, CA
Posts: 1,585
Ingwe Ingweron is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by molybdenum View Post
When this happened, do you remember if there was a "pick up" command available?
The inability to drop or Drop all from the inventory menu is quite prevalent.

Here is a sequence that just occurred:

You see a Scythe (5d3)
@ picks it up using "g" command
You have the Scythe 'Avavir' (5d3) (special) (q)
@ identifies the Scythe using a rod of identify
In your pack: the Scythe 'Avavir' (5d3) (+18,+12) [+30] <+3, +1> (q)
@ opens the inventory menu using "i" command
@ chooses the item (in this case "q")
Detail on the weapon is given, but only the following choices:

I) Inspect
w) Equip
v) Throw
{) Inscribe
k) Ignore

No d) Drop is provided.

@ can either throw the weapon away using the "v" command, or <Esc> the detail, <Esc> the inventory menu, choose the "d" command once out of the inventory menu thereby redisplaying the inventory menu, and finally, choosing the item.

Even more of a pain if item is equipped to identify it. Then the "v" throw away option is not available, so must <Esc>, <Esc>, "d", choose item.

And even more of a pain with missiles, where @ looks at the equipment menu and Inspects the missiles in the quiver to determine based on damage comparison which to throw away, but has to leave the Inspection, leave the equipment menu, select drop, select the equipment menu "/", then, finally choose the item to drop and select "d" drop and list how many or choose "D" Drop all.

Sorry for the tediously long answer. Maybe all you needed was for me to say, "No. There was no "pick up" command available, it was already in the @ pack or on the @ body.
Ingwe Ingweron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 20, 2013, 08:03   #4
molybdenum
Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 84
molybdenum is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ingwe Ingweron View Post
Sorry for the tediously long answer. Maybe all you needed was for me to say, "No. There was no "pick up" command available, it was already in the @ pack or on the @ body.
On the contrary, your "tediously long" answer is quite helpful. You also seem to be missing the activate command. I'm still not able to reproduce this. However, I made a bunch of changes to the object context menus. When they get merged in to the next new nightly, an update would be appreciated.
molybdenum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 20, 2013, 17:16   #5
Ingwe Ingweron
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Manhattan Beach, CA
Posts: 1,585
Ingwe Ingweron is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by molybdenum View Post
On the contrary, your "tediously long" answer is quite helpful. You also seem to be missing the activate command. I'm still not able to reproduce this. However, I made a bunch of changes to the object context menus. When they get merged in to the next new nightly, an update would be appreciated.
Will do. Wish I knew how to code in order to help out, but alas, all I can do is play test. Note: Activation wouldn't have been a choice because the item was in the pack, not equipped. I can't explain it, but for some things, especially early in the game, drop is available, but then later becomes unavailable.

Last edited by Ingwe Ingweron; October 20, 2013 at 19:04.
Ingwe Ingweron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 21, 2013, 14:58   #6
MattB
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Berkshire, UK
Posts: 1,094
MattB is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ingwe Ingweron View Post
Squelch bugs persist in Oct 05 dev 574. Appears to squelch one quality level above what is indicated (e.g., setting squelch of Elven Cloaks to "Excellent, but not splendid" squelches "Non-artifact" instead). There seems to be some disconnectedness between squelching from the inventory/equipment menus and squelching from the options menu, they don't seem to match up. Digger squelching is limited. Unclear what the new category "Great Weapons" covers.
Actually, in my nightly at least, the squelch system works perfectly in-game (i.e. if you squelch an average launcher, all average launchers are squelched), but the 'quality squelch' submenu is broken. After the first two lines (pointy and blunt melee weapons) all entries refer to the category in the line below (due to the addition of the 'great weapons' category). So if you want to change the quality squelch level of a category, you have to enter that quality on the line above the one you want it to effect. Thus digger squelching only offers two options because it is actually referring to rings below, which only have two levels. I assume the bottom row actually applies to the 'great weapons' category many lines above. It IS irritating, it IS a bug but it IS playable once you work out the work around.

Hope this helps someone!
MattB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 22, 2013, 04:19   #7
molybdenum
Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 84
molybdenum is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by MattB View Post
Actually, in my nightly at least, the squelch system works perfectly in-game (i.e. if you squelch an average launcher, all average launchers are squelched), but the 'quality squelch' submenu is broken. After the first two lines (pointy and blunt melee weapons) all entries refer to the category in the line below (due to the addition of the 'great weapons' category). So if you want to change the quality squelch level of a category, you have to enter that quality on the line above the one you want it to effect. Thus digger squelching only offers two options because it is actually referring to rings below, which only have two levels. I assume the bottom row actually applies to the 'great weapons' category many lines above. It IS irritating, it IS a bug but it IS playable once you work out the work around.

Hope this helps someone!
Are you using the latest nightly?
molybdenum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 22, 2013, 14:51   #8
MattB
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Berkshire, UK
Posts: 1,094
MattB is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by molybdenum View Post
Are you using the latest nightly?
No, it's actually...

v3.5-dev-570-g6acf027

Apologies if it seems lazy not to have checked, but I had to scrap a dynasty I was having a lot of fun with (and a really cool randart set) by changing over nightlies because of compatibility issues, so I thought I'd wait until someone told me it had been fixed before upgrading!

Sorry if that has now been fixed, but that is how it is on my nightly.

Love the monster location thing, by the way.
MattB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 22, 2013, 17:45   #9
molybdenum
Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 84
molybdenum is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by MattB View Post
No, it's actually...

v3.5-dev-570-g6acf027

Apologies if it seems lazy not to have checked, but I had to scrap a dynasty I was having a lot of fun with (and a really cool randart set) by changing over nightlies because of compatibility issues, so I thought I'd wait until someone told me it had been fixed before upgrading!

Sorry if that has now been fixed, but that is how it is on my nightly.

Love the monster location thing, by the way.
Not a problem. It should be fixed in the latest whenever you want to move over.
molybdenum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 24, 2013, 14:45   #10
MattB
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Berkshire, UK
Posts: 1,094
MattB is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by molybdenum View Post
Not a problem. It should be fixed in the latest whenever you want to move over.
So I trust you, I deleted the whole folder (including saves), downloaded the new nightly and...

It works perfectly! Thanks so much for the help.

Back to Hairy Betty I, and off we go.
MattB is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bugs: V3.1.2 Pete Mack Vanilla 34 December 1, 2010 17:18
V bugs (3.1.1) Pete Mack Vanilla 3 January 10, 2010 09:02
Variant with persistent dungeons? Sabreman Variants 5 November 15, 2007 21:22
V 3.9 Bugs momo125 Vanilla 3 September 11, 2007 15:48
Feature Request: Optionally persistent dungeon levels TJA Vanilla 6 August 22, 2007 10:42


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:40.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.