Angband.oook.cz
AboutVariantsLadderForumCompetitionComicScreenshotsFunniesLinks

Go Back   Angband Forums > Angband > Vanilla

Old January 4, 2021, 19:12   #1
VeritasAequitas
Scout

VeritasAequitas is on a distinguished road
Mage advice

Im new to mages, they are a totally different way to what im used to playing (oogabooga, hit things with hammer oogabooga).

Thanks to an early potion of experience, ive actually stabilised fairly well in the mid levels.

http://angband.oook.cz/ladder-show.php?id=24176

The last few thousand turns ive been bouncing back and forth between dlvl 35-45 gathering consumables and stats.

However, im unsure as to how to proceed from here. I feel like i have no damage vs anybody who has elemental resists (ie, many nasties at this level). If you were this character right now, what would be your top priorities for gear.

Is there something you would absolutely want before you dive?
Am i overgeared for where i am?
Should i have found another spell book by now?
Is there any "oh my, how on earth are you even alive with this at this depth???" glaring holes in my gear?

Any advice is welcome
VeritasAequitas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 4, 2021, 19:36   #2
Adam
Adept

Adam is on a distinguished road
You have Theoden in your home. Telepathy is huge, I would use that weapon (you lose regen and 2 stealth). With ESP you can plan your moves and pick targets much easier.
I also like to carry at least one healing poition. At DL ~40 CCW is not always enough. Yes, it means it can be destroyed if I'm hit. But if it's at home it can't help me. It's too early to save them for the final fights.
Adam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 4, 2021, 22:03   #3
VeritasAequitas
Scout

thanks, will bear it in mind next run.

Makar the warrior just came through the wall and literally one shot killed me on dlvl45...