Angband.oook.cz
Angband.oook.cz
AboutVariantsLadderForumCompetitionComicScreenshotsFunniesLinks

Go Back   Angband Forums > Angband > Vanilla

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old July 13, 2010, 19:24   #1
fyonn
Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 217
fyonn is on a distinguished road
Minor bug in 'n' command

Hiya,

Just wondering if I've found a minor bug in 3.1.2v2. I've got a ranger who's been hit by confusion breath and is thus confused. I had a go at trying to zap the bronze dragonfly with some spare wands of sleep monster I had. obviously the 'bolt' of sleep went in the wrong direction, but I pressed 'n' to keep trying and every bolt then went in the same direction as the first. if I just 'a'imed the wand it would go in a different direction each time.

I tried it with some rods of light too, and the same happened. each time I used 'n' to repeat the last command, it repeated the same random direction. same with firing arrows too. I even exploited it by firing arrows at random until one went in the right direction and then just repeated that killing the fly and a number of air hounds.

can anyone else replicate it?

dave
fyonn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 13, 2010, 19:51   #2
konijn_
Hellband maintainer
 
konijn_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York, the Big Apple
Age: 42
Posts: 367
Donated: $120
konijn_ is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by fyonn View Post
Hiya,

Just wondering if I've found a minor bug in 3.1.2v2. I've got a ranger who's been hit by confusion breath and is thus confused. I had a go at trying to zap the bronze dragonfly with some spare wands of sleep monster I had. obviously the 'bolt' of sleep went in the wrong direction, but I pressed 'n' to keep trying and every bolt then went in the same direction as the first. if I just 'a'imed the wand it would go in a different direction each time.

I tried it with some rods of light too, and the same happened. each time I used 'n' to repeat the last command, it repeated the same random direction. same with firing arrows too. I even exploited it by firing arrows at random until one went in the right direction and then just repeated that killing the fly and a number of air hounds.

can anyone else replicate it?

dave
Yes, I've never considered abusing it though, excellent thinking !

T.
__________________
* Are you ready for something else ? Hellband 0.8.8 is out! *
konijn_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 13, 2010, 19:53   #3
fyonn
Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 217
fyonn is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by konijn_ View Post
Yes, I've never considered abusing it though, excellent thinking !

T.
I'm a computer security architect. when I see a bug, my first thought is wondering how it can be exploited

dave
fyonn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 13, 2010, 20:13   #4
fyonn
Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 217
fyonn is on a distinguished road
Incidentally, if we're looking at the 'n' command, one thing I might like to see changed is how it works with ranged attacks and targetting. One thing I sometimes do is target monsters with either magic or a bow and just target the closest monster using the apostrophe key "'". pressing 'n' fires another attack at it until it's dead. pressing 'n' again then puts me at the targeting prompt, rather than just targeting the next closest monster.

I'd prefer this latter behaviour, anyone else?

dave
fyonn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 13, 2010, 20:42   #5
PowerDiver
Prophet
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,712
PowerDiver is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by fyonn View Post
Incidentally, if we're looking at the 'n' command, one thing I might like to see changed is how it works with ranged attacks and targetting. One thing I sometimes do is target monsters with either magic or a bow and just target the closest monster using the apostrophe key "'". pressing 'n' fires another attack at it until it's dead. pressing 'n' again then puts me at the targeting prompt, rather than just targeting the next closest monster.

I'd prefer this latter behaviour, anyone else?

dave
If I am in "target closest monster" mode, I would prefer to switch targets when the close one runs and another steps closer even before killing the first.

I definitely think that 'n' after 'h' should give this behavior. To me, that is clearly repeating the 'h' command rather than repeating firing at a particular target.
PowerDiver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 13, 2010, 21:37   #6
fyonn
Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 217
fyonn is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by PowerDiver View Post
If I am in "target closest monster" mode, I would prefer to switch targets when the close one runs and another steps closer even before killing the first.

I definitely think that 'n' after 'h' should give this behavior. To me, that is clearly repeating the 'h' command rather than repeating firing at a particular target.
yes, I agree. repeating (ranged attack at) closest monster, whether by missile weapon, spell, wand or rod should always be aimed at the closest one, regardless of who moves where. both with the 'h' command and the ' targeting command.

dave
fyonn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 13, 2010, 23:05   #7
Nick
Vanilla maintainer
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Canberra, Australia
Age: 54
Posts: 7,773
Donated: $60
Nick is on a distinguished road
I can see arguments both ways - I often want to finish off the orc I've damaged rather than switch to a new one.

As regards the original bug - fixed in FA. Of course
__________________
One for the Dark Lord on his dark throne
In the Land of Mordor where the Shadows lie.
Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 14, 2010, 09:59   #8
Timo Pietilš
Prophet
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Climbing up from hole I just dug.
Posts: 4,096
Timo Pietilš is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick View Post
I can see arguments both ways - I often want to finish off the orc I've damaged rather than switch to a new one.

As regards the original bug - fixed in FA. Of course
I think it is fixed also in vanilla nighties. At least that is a old bug and I have a vague memory about it being fixed.
Timo Pietilš is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Minor bug with messages and color. [V3.1.2 r1973] Twilight Vanilla 1 June 21, 2010 23:16
3.1 char dump bug (minor) Zikke Vanilla 0 January 13, 2009 14:16
3.1.0 Very minor bug perost Vanilla 0 January 9, 2009 21:48
3.1.0 beta - minor bug? - green lit floor tiles in prelit rooms vorondil Vanilla 2 January 8, 2009 18:12
bug with n (repeat last command) and engraving DaviddesJ Vanilla 0 March 31, 2008 08:20


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 21:51.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.