Angband.oook.cz
AboutVariantsLadderForumCompetitionComicScreenshotsFunniesLinks

Go Back   Angband Forums > Angband > Vanilla

Old July 31, 2009, 23:20   #1
AceRimmer
Rookie

AceRimmer is on a distinguished road
Slay Orc / Troll and Westernesse

General question: should Half-Orcs and Half-Trolls be allowed to wield weapons of Slay Orc/Troll and Westernesse? I know they *can* wield them... I just wonder whether it makes sense. I guess I feel silly running around with my Half-Orc Warrior wielding his War Hammer of Westernesse. It somehow seems wrong (but it's also the best weapon). I just figure: if priests can get a penalty for edged weapons, how difficult would it be to invoke race-based penalties (I'm not a coder, can you tell?)
AceRimmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 31, 2009, 23:54   #2
saarn
Adept

saarn is on a distinguished road
Given that most of the good egos are tied to the elves, I think with the current objects it'd just make it even less common for people to play anything other than high-elves :-/. I suspect that the gameplay adjustments (new ego types, figuring out which races to penalize for using what weapons) would ultimately be more work than the coding.

That said, it's a cool idea-- possibly for a variant? I think V's been moving away from this sort of special casing (high-elves used to not be recommended for thief on the grounds that they were morally above such things, and then that was scratched, I think there's also discussion of getting rid of the edged weapon penalty for priests).
saarn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 1, 2009, 00:04   #3
Whelk
Adept

Whelk is on a distinguished road
I think adding more limitations based on races would be more of a detriment to people choosing them. A neat idea, and it makes sense, but this game is barely (if at all) focused on lore and accurate roleplaying.