Angband.oook.cz
Angband.oook.cz
AboutVariantsLadderForumCompetitionComicScreenshotsFunniesLinks

Go Back   Angband Forums > Angband > Vanilla

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old June 14, 2007, 03:56   #1
katkt
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3
katkt is on a distinguished road
Cannot initialize graphics

I have an intel mac running OS 10.4.9 and I've recently upgraded from Angband 3.0.1 to 3.0.7s3. I like the changes, except the graphics and sound no longer work for me.

If I turn the sound on, nothing happens.

If I try to select any appearance other than "ascii graphics", I get an error, "Cannot initialize graphics!"

I tried downloading 3.0.6, and graphics and sound work fine for me in that version. I see on the downloads page that there are extra sound and graphics files for the mac, but they're supposed to be installed in "lib/xtra/graf", and with version 3.0.6 and 3.0.7, I see no lib directory.

I tried creating lib/xtra/graf in various places, but none of them worked. I tried adding lib/xtra/graf in the same directory as the angband app (the 3.0.1 location), in /Preferences/Angband (which is where the /save directory is), and then I tried just putting xtra/graf in the /Preferences/Angband directory (since that seems to correspond to the old lib directory). In all those cases, I put the extra files in the directory, but Angband still made no sound and gave me a Cannot initialize graphics! error when I tried to specify any graphics.

Help! Any idea what I need to do to get the graphics and sound working in 3.0.7? I miss them.
katkt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 14, 2007, 08:48   #2
Nick
Vanilla maintainer
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Canberra, Australia
Age: 52
Posts: 6,581
Donated: $60
Nick is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by katkt View Post
I tried creating lib/xtra/graf in various places, but none of them worked. I tried adding lib/xtra/graf in the same directory as the angband app (the 3.0.1 location), in /Preferences/Angband (which is where the /save directory is), and then I tried just putting xtra/graf in the /Preferences/Angband directory (since that seems to correspond to the old lib directory). In all those cases, I put the extra files in the directory, but Angband still made no sound and gave me a Cannot initialize graphics! error when I tried to specify any graphics.
Try inside the application's bundle/folder, Contents/Resources/lib/.
__________________
One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them,
One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them.
Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 14, 2007, 23:05   #3
katkt
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3
katkt is on a distinguished road
Hmmm. I tried putting Contents/Resources/lib/xtra/graf (and just Contents/Resources/lib) in a couple places and that didn't work either. I think you had in mind that I would have to actually include them as part of the application bundle - but to do that I would have to download the source and compile. I was hoping to avoid that, since I'm not familiar with it (particularly the whole "including things as part of the application bundle" part). I may give it a try if I get a chance over the weekend.
katkt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FA] overview doesn't show anything when using graphics petebull Variants 1 May 2, 2007 20:51


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:30.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.