Angband.oook.cz
AboutVariantsLadderForumCompetitionComicScreenshotsFunniesLinks

Go Back   Angband Forums > Angband > Vanilla

Old December 21, 2010, 02:54   #1
dos350
Knight

dos350 is on a distinguished road
extreme stair scumming

hi ~ im new to angband, ive been playing for a few months - i havnt won yet.. anyway, on my last char i started a new strategy hoo~ scum stairs til another down stair spawns or til i land in room with treasure or i detect good treasure..

i didnt have esp or any monster dtect in that run, and i was slain by ~ bjorn the shapechanger (EEK) i land in room full of ork, i start wiping them out, to west is bjorn.. i have no escapes and couldnt make it back to stairs, and wasnt strong to fight him...

anyway im gonna start again , using this strat of scumming?

is it wrong?

or is it the pro leet thing to do?
dos350 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 21, 2010, 03:18   #2
buzzkill
Prophet

Donated: $8
buzzkill is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Is it wrong?
Let me answer that question with another question?
Do you think that it's wrong?

The sad fact is, Angband is very exploitable (and IMO there's no real motivitation on the part of any maintainer to patch these exploits). Some people shy away from these exploits, some people embrace them in whole or in part. What I would call cheating some players have no problem with. Unless you playing a competition character, you can do pretty much anything you want. That said, stair scumming is one of the most obvious, easy, cheesy exploits. So what it really comes down to is... Do you think that it is wrong? Because really, the RNG doesn't care, and you are the only other party involved.
Old December 21, 2010, 03:41   #3
bulian
Adept

bulian is on a distinguished road