Angband.oook.cz
AboutVariantsLadderForumCompetitionComicScreenshotsFunniesLinks

Go Back   Angband Forums > Angband > Vanilla

Old April 6, 2015, 01:27   #1
strato
Rookie

strato is on a distinguished road
Question Help understanding item descriptions

Hi, I'm really new to Angband (started playing within last week) and don't quite understand the way that weapon damage works. I know this is probably a dumb question, but I've done google searches & searched through help content; haven't found much useful.

If I have a sword (in this case the Long Sword of 'Elvagil'), what does the following mean? (2d5) (+12, +12) <+2>

Armor is slightly less confusing, but I'd appreciate an explanation for that too.

Thanks in advance for any replies.

Last edited by strato; April 6, 2015 at 04:07.
strato is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 6, 2015, 02:20   #2
Nomad
Knight

Nomad is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by strato View Post
If I have a sword (in this case the Long Sword of 'Elvagil'), what does the following mean? (2d5) (+12, +12) (+2)
The first number refers to the dice that are rolled to calculate the basic damage. So if you have 2d5 damage, that means two 5-sided dice are rolled, and the result will be a random number between 2 and 10.

Whenever you see two numbers in brackets with plusses like (+12, +12) on an item, they represent bonuses to hit and to damage (in that order). To-Hit bonuses are not very important to worry about because the calculations are quite complicated and it's hard to really tell how much difference they make. The second number, the damage bonus, is much more important because that's added to the roll of the dice and increases the amount of damage you do with every hit.