Angband.oook.cz
Angband.oook.cz
AboutVariantsLadderForumCompetitionComicScreenshotsFunniesLinks

Go Back   Angband Forums > Angband > Variants

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old November 17, 2008, 04:55   #1
buzzkill
Prophet
 
buzzkill's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Indiana, USA
Posts: 2,939
Donated: $8
buzzkill is on a distinguished road
Shopping crash FA, O maybe others

While in town, enter a store. I don't think it matters which one. Press i to view your inventory. Then, rather than pressing / or esc e, to view your equipment, 'accidentally' press e.

This brings up the 'old' options menu, consisting of...
Code:
Choose a command, or ESC:

d) Drop
k) Destroy
I) Inspect
{) Inscribe
v) Throw
r) Read
Pressing d, to drop will get you out of it, nothing dropped, no harm done. Pressing esc or almost any other key will cause the game to crash. All too often I press that esc key without even thinking about it.

IIRC this old menu isn't used for anything anymore. Why is it still hanging around.

Using Windows Vista, OA 110u, FAA 35a.
buzzkill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 17, 2008, 06:20   #2
Nick
Vanilla maintainer
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Canberra, Australia
Age: 55
Posts: 8,665
Donated: $60
Nick will become famous soon enough
Quote:
Originally Posted by buzzkill View Post
While in town, enter a store. I don't think it matters which one. Press i to view your inventory. Then, rather than pressing / or esc e, to view your equipment, 'accidentally' press e.
This chooses item e in your inventory.

Quote:
This brings up the 'old' options menu, consisting of...
This is not an old menu - it is an alternative way of handling items. I guess the command menus do mostly the same job now, but this one still has some advantages. Behaviour is normal up to now (unless you don't have an item).

Quote:
Pressing d, to drop will get you out of it, nothing dropped, no harm done. Pressing esc or almost any other key will cause the game to crash.
This is weird - it works fine for me...

Quote:
Using Windows Vista, OA 110u, FAA 35a.
...of course, I've only tested in linux. I'll try it in Vista too, and see what happens.
__________________
One for the Dark Lord on his dark throne
In the Land of Mordor where the Shadows lie.
Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 17, 2008, 06:45   #3
buzzkill
Prophet
 
buzzkill's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Indiana, USA
Posts: 2,939
Donated: $8
buzzkill is on a distinguished road
I just checked it out my WinXP desktop with FAA 3.0.

I could not duplicate the crash on my WinXP machine. Everything seemed to work fine.

It has happened to me numerous times on my Vista laptop where I do most of my playing. It just took me a while to isolate exactly what keystroke combination was causing it.

I am able to duplicate the crash in O using Harry, the starting competition character. Just walk into the nearest shop and press i e esc. The same thing happens in FA.

Last edited by buzzkill; November 17, 2008 at 06:50.
buzzkill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 17, 2008, 08:04   #4
Nick
Vanilla maintainer
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Canberra, Australia
Age: 55
Posts: 8,665
Donated: $60
Nick will become famous soon enough
Quote:
Originally Posted by buzzkill View Post
I am able to duplicate the crash in O using Harry, the starting competition character. Just walk into the nearest shop and press i e esc. The same thing happens in FA.
I have just tested this in Vista, and can't duplicate it in either O or FA0.3.5a. The menu should normally have the item name on the line above the commands - does it for you, or is it blank as you have written it in your original post? If it's blank, then that's a problem already (which I still don't get).

As far as your character dump name issue goes (from your dump comments), it does look like you may have tried to change name to something too long. I'll make it so that it fails not quite so dramatically.
__________________
One for the Dark Lord on his dark throne
In the Land of Mordor where the Shadows lie.
Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 17, 2008, 15:38   #5
buzzkill
Prophet
 
buzzkill's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Indiana, USA
Posts: 2,939
Donated: $8
buzzkill is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick View Post
I have just tested this in Vista, and can't duplicate it in either O or FA0.3.5a. The menu should normally have the item name on the line above the commands - does it for you, or is it blank as you have written it in your original post? If it's blank, then that's a problem already (which I still don't get).
It does state a something colored potion of cure something wounds just above the command choices.

After a fresh reboot, on what is a relatively clean Vista laptop, I can still crash it every time. Using the competition save file, 61, and O 110u, I just walk into the potion or book store and press i e d, or i e k.

Even choosing d) drop which usually gets me out of there safely crashed it this time.

Can any one else out there try to duplicate this on a Vista PC, and post results here. I'm just wondering if it's just me and my PC (just another reason to revert back to XP).
buzzkill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 18, 2008, 00:45   #6
Zikke
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,068
Zikke is on a distinguished road
Excellent use of the color yellow in this thread, by the way. Just wanted to say that.
Zikke is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Crash - angband: Too many macros! Kav Vanilla 16 June 15, 2007 15:38


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:20.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.