AboutVariantsLadderForumCompetitionComicScreenshotsFunniesLinks

Go Back   Angband Forums > Angband > Vanilla

Old June 26, 2016, 23:07   #1
old_school
Rookie

old_school is on a distinguished road
First Legit Win after 23 years!!

Hi All,

First legitimate winner!!! Sorry for the long post, I hardly say a word, but can't shut up when writing...

Long time lurker, 3rd time posting here. I started playing roguelikes with Larn, then Moria in 1993. I know I was playing Angband in Dec '93 as I posted this message in rgra looking for a 570K memory version of PCAngband. I started playing on an 8086 pc and it was SLOW. A friend on an LPMud acquired a bunch of 286/16k mobo's and sent me one. I was so excited to play Angband quicker. The problem tho, was that the mobo wouldn't fit in my case. Being a poor student at the time, I would have to spread out and hookup my computer on the bed every night to play Angband. It was still worth it to get away from that 8086. I still play the old roguelike vi keys after all this time.

Throughout the years, I've always came back to Angband to play for a few months. This last time, though, I decided to attempt winning the right way. As evidenced by my name "BJA LXXVI" it took quite a few tries and I believe I tried 99 times prior to that before I discovered the auto-increment roman numeral function.

I seemed to be ever searching for resists this game and still ended up with some gaps. I couldn't afford to lose the Con bonus to cover all resists. I was basically ready for Morgoth at level 45 after killing Sauron, but I ground out a few more consumables because I was running scared with my first attempt at Morgoth. My deciding factor was finding a 2nd bunch of Holy Might shots to go with my incredible Sling of Buckland. I found 3 of them in total this game. Cubragol came late unfortunately and I hardly got to carry it.