Angband.oook.cz
Angband.oook.cz
AboutVariantsLadderForumCompetitionComicScreenshotsFunniesLinks

Go Back   Angband Forums > Angband > Sil

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old May 14, 2014, 02:20   #1
bron
Swordsman
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Saratoga, California (in the midst of Silicon Valley)
Posts: 473
bron is on a distinguished road
Bug with "no artefacts"

My current character is running with no-artefacts turned on, but I just had an artefact get generated anyway:
Code:
   Turn     Depth   Note
      1     50 ft   Challenge: No artefacts
      1     50 ft   (Power)
      1     50 ft   (Versatility)
      1     50 ft   (Flaming Arrows)
      1     50 ft   (Dexterity)
      1     50 ft   (Lore-Keeper)
      1     50 ft   (Lore-Master)
      1     50 ft   (Hardiness) 
      1     50 ft   (Poison Resistance)
      1     50 ft   (Weaponsmith)
      1     50 ft   (Jeweller)
      1     50 ft   (Enchantment)
      1     50 ft   (Artifice)
      1     50 ft   (Song of Slaying)
      1     50 ft   (Song of Aule)
      1     50 ft   (Song of Sharpness)
    711    100 ft   Made a Lesser Jewel of Grace <+1>  0.1 lb
    865    100 ft   Made a Longsword of Doriath (+0,2d5) [+1]  3.0 lb
  1,090    100 ft   Made a Longbow of Nargothrond (+0,2d5)  3.0 lb
  1,186    150 ft   Found The Filthy Rag of Dungalef
There are a number of unusual features of this; I don't know which (if any) are significant:

This is a "45k experience" challenge character, which means I entered "wizard mode" to boost the starting exp. on turn zero.

I set the "no artefacts" flag on turn zero, rather than during character creation.

The artefact came from a chest, rather than being found on the ground.

I got to this point in the game in a continuous run. I had not quit/saved/restarted the character since I set the option.

Checking the "challenge options" menu claims that "no artefacts" is (still) in effect.

I have run a number of no-artefact characters in the past, and have not seen this. I am reasonably certain that all the other times I've played no-artefacts, I set the option during character creation rather than on turn zero, so I'm guessing that's the issue. I have no proof of this however.
bron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2014, 03:21   #2
debo
Veteran
 
debo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 2,359
debo is on a distinguished road
Yeah I'm pretty sure noarts is a birth option.
__________________
Glaurung, Father of the Dragons says, 'You cannot avoid the ballyhack.'
debo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2014, 04:10   #3
bron
Swordsman
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Saratoga, California (in the midst of Silicon Valley)
Posts: 473
bron is on a distinguished road
That would be fine, except that the "Challenge Options" menu specifically says "Challenge Options can only be altered during character creation or on the very first turn", and the game allows you to change the options on the first turn, and refuses to let you alter these options after the first turn. If the solution is to require that the option has to be set during character creation, I'm fine with that. But then the wording on the menu needs to change, and the game should not allow you to change the options on the first turn.
bron is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sil 1.2.1 bug - viewport shakes when moving with "center map continuously" option tungtn Sil 0 January 21, 2014 08:41
Bug with "Turn" in the "Player History" dump bron Vanilla 3 January 17, 2014 16:35
Bug: "Find Traps, Doors & Stairs" doesn't work on chests Raggy Vanilla 26 June 29, 2011 13:28
"Great" drops replaced by "good" drops in vaults: bug or feature? PowerWyrm Vanilla 14 February 27, 2010 15:54
"repeat" Command just little bit "smarter" ClaytonAguiar Vanilla 8 June 17, 2009 15:01


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:24.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.