Angband.oook.cz
Angband.oook.cz
AboutVariantsLadderForumCompetitionComicScreenshotsFunniesLinks

Go Back   Angband Forums > Angband > Development

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old May 22, 2014, 22:13   #1
Henadin
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 5
Henadin is on a distinguished road
Trouble installing on linux

Hello, I'm using Elementary OS (based on ubuntu) to try and play the game. I haven't figured out a way to install it that works. I've tried the compiling.txt tutorial along with a few others online. Here's what happens

"./autogen.sh
no such file or directory"

Then I try ./configure--Seems to be working
then I go to make--no problem
make install seems to work (After using sudo command)

Perhaps I've lost the program (It doesn't show up in list) in another folder. Where might it be located?

Let me know if more info is needed. Thanks.
Henadin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22, 2014, 22:26   #2
Nick
Vanilla maintainer
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Canberra, Australia
Age: 53
Posts: 7,173
Donated: $60
Nick is on a distinguished road
It should just run from the command line now. And the executable should be in /usr/local/games, with other stuff in /usr/local/share/angband and /usr/local/etc/angband.
__________________
One for the Dark Lord on his dark throne
In the Land of Mordor where the Shadows lie.
Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 23, 2014, 00:45   #3
Henadin
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 5
Henadin is on a distinguished road
Thanks! Now I have another problem. After clicking it it tells me: "Savefile block can't be read."
Henadin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 23, 2014, 01:07   #4
bron
Swordsman
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Saratoga, California (in the midst of Silicon Valley)
Posts: 448
bron is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Henadin
"Savefile block can't be read."
This means that the game read the header-block of your savefile, but didn't like the name and/or version number that it found there, and so doesn't know how to properly read in the rest of the file. Are you trying to import a savefile from an older version of the game?
bron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 23, 2014, 02:37   #5
Henadin
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 5
Henadin is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by bron View Post
This means that the game read the header-block of your savefile, but didn't like the name and/or version number that it found there, and so doesn't know how to properly read in the rest of the file. Are you trying to import a savefile from an older version of the game?
I am not. Just trying to start a new save.
Henadin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 23, 2014, 03:12   #6
Malak Darkhunter
Knight
 
Malak Darkhunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: US
Age: 41
Posts: 720
Malak Darkhunter is on a distinguished road
I just dealt with this problem, naviagate to your Home folder, press cntrl-H, that will reveal your hidden folders, look for .angband, your save file will be in that folder, remove any saves that are in that folder and then the game should start normaly. ( I don't even have to run 3.5 from a command line, I can click on the angband icon that is located in the source directory after install, and you can start the game that way.)
__________________
let me try this workaround...oh crap computer just went black
Malak Darkhunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 23, 2014, 03:52   #7
Henadin
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 5
Henadin is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Malak Darkhunter View Post
I just dealt with this problem, naviagate to your Home folder, press cntrl-H, that will reveal your hidden folders, look for .angband, your save file will be in that folder, remove any saves that are in that folder and then the game should start normaly. ( I don't even have to run 3.5 from a command line, I can click on the angband icon that is located in the source directory after install, and you can start the game that way.)
It works! Thanks a bunch! One more thing, how can I enable graphics? Or is that not possible on linux?
Henadin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2014, 02:41   #8
Malak Darkhunter
Knight
 
Malak Darkhunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: US
Age: 41
Posts: 720
Malak Darkhunter is on a distinguished road
I don't use graphics( I'm old school type) but it appears as if you have to compile the sdl version of angband to have graphics, x11 or curses don't have graphics. Compiling the SDL version looks just like the windows port of the game.
__________________
let me try this workaround...oh crap computer just went black
Malak Darkhunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2014, 03:43   #9
AnonymousHero
Veteran
 
AnonymousHero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,365
AnonymousHero is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick View Post
It should just run from the command line now. And the executable should be in /usr/local/games, with other stuff in /usr/local/share/angband and /usr/local/etc/angband.
Just curious: Why does it store the binary into /usr/local/games rather than /usr/local/bin? (I see that the Linux FHS seems to imply to that the "games" directory should be there, but it seems really arbitrary and the FHS is basically obsolete on several issues and probably this one too.). I know that e.g. Arch Linux does not have /usr/local/games in the $PATH by default and so this could lead to some confusion. It also seems like a pretty arbitrary distinction to separate out game binaries from the rest of everything.
AnonymousHero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2014, 04:09   #10
Nick
Vanilla maintainer
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Canberra, Australia
Age: 53
Posts: 7,173
Donated: $60
Nick is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by AnonymousHero View Post
Just curious: Why does it store the binary into /usr/local/games rather than /usr/local/bin? (I see that the Linux FHS seems to imply to that the "games" directory should be there, but it seems really arbitrary and the FHS is basically obsolete on several issues and probably this one too.). I know that e.g. Arch Linux does not have /usr/local/games in the $PATH by default and so this could lead to some confusion. It also seems like a pretty arbitrary distinction to separate out game binaries from the rest of everything.
There was a discussion about this several years ago where people like takkaria and Magnate had opinions, and I guess the current setup is a result of that. IIRC my contribution to the discussion was along the lines of "Whatever". I suppose I should start trying to care now.
__________________
One for the Dark Lord on his dark throne
In the Land of Mordor where the Shadows lie.
Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
install, linux


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing UnAngband And possibly other variants) into given location SaThaRiel Variants 10 December 3, 2009 11:11
Furyband trouble... Tonypantz Variants 6 May 11, 2009 06:20
Installing with Linux PaulBlay Vanilla 5 May 3, 2009 19:38
Trouble Getting Home orbs AAR 3 March 24, 2008 05:01
Trouble compiling angband 3.0.9 on linux RastaRuedi Vanilla 2 August 1, 2007 17:28


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:11.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.