Angband.oook.cz
Angband.oook.cz
AboutVariantsLadderForumCompetitionComicScreenshotsFunniesLinks

Go Back   Angband Forums > Angband > Vanilla

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old September 11, 2010, 09:37   #1
Pete Mack
Prophet
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 5,420
Donated: $40
Pete Mack is on a distinguished road
Unexpected gameplay changes

I just started up a Kobold Rogue--first game in quite a while.
Question: since when is CHEAT_STORE turned on permanently? And why? The player really shouldn't be able to store-scum this way. (Maybe there's muzak playing on the downstairs, advertizing the latest specials?)
Pete Mack is online now   Reply With Quote
Old September 11, 2010, 11:48   #2
Magnate
Angband Devteam member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 5,057
Magnate is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to Magnate Send a message via Yahoo to Magnate
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete Mack View Post
I just started up a Kobold Rogue--first game in quite a while.
Question: since when is CHEAT_STORE turned on permanently? And why? The player really shouldn't be able to store-scum this way. (Maybe there's muzak playing on the downstairs, advertizing the latest specials?)
I suspect this is a side effect of my r2030 bug when removing the start-with-no-kit option. Are any other option defaults now the wrong way round?
Magnate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 11, 2010, 17:43   #3
Pete Mack
Prophet
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 5,420
Donated: $40
Pete Mack is on a distinguished road
I haven't noticed anything. (Just to be clear, it shows up as extra entries on the knowledge menu.)
Pete Mack is online now   Reply With Quote
Old September 11, 2010, 18:30   #4
Magnate
Angband Devteam member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 5,057
Magnate is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to Magnate Send a message via Yahoo to Magnate
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete Mack View Post
I haven't noticed anything. (Just to be clear, it shows up as extra entries on the knowledge menu.)
Hmmm. I thought Takk had fixed these in r2036. Clearly needs further investigation.
Magnate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 11, 2010, 20:56   #5
PowerDiver
Prophet
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,712
PowerDiver is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete Mack View Post
I haven't noticed anything. (Just to be clear, it shows up as extra entries on the knowledge menu.)
Anything that you know exists, even from previous games, should show up on the knowledge menu. That will be necessary in the far future when the squelch menus disappear and everything is done through the knowledge interface.

I suppose it might be useful to have a checkmark or something for whether a flavor is aware.
PowerDiver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 11, 2010, 21:02   #6
Magnate
Angband Devteam member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 5,057
Magnate is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to Magnate Send a message via Yahoo to Magnate
Quote:
Originally Posted by PowerDiver View Post
Anything that you know exists, even from previous games, should show up on the knowledge menu. That will be necessary in the far future when the squelch menus disappear and everything is done through the knowledge interface.

I suppose it might be useful to have a checkmark or something for whether a flavor is aware.
Ah wait a minute. Pete - might you be talking about http://trac.rephial.org/ticket/979? What exactly do you mean by cheat_store?
Magnate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 12, 2010, 01:45   #7
Pete Mack
Prophet
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 5,420
Donated: $40
Pete Mack is on a distinguished road
On the knowledge menu, entries f-l show the current contents of all the stores. This only used to be a wizard-mode feature.
Pete Mack is online now   Reply With Quote
Old September 12, 2010, 02:25   #8
Magnate
Angband Devteam member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 5,057
Magnate is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to Magnate Send a message via Yahoo to Magnate
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete Mack View Post
On the knowledge menu, entries f-l show the current contents of all the stores. This only used to be a wizard-mode feature.
Ah, I understand now.

Actually, they don't show the current contents. They show the contents as they were when you left the town. You'll notice that when you're in the dungeon, the contents don't change, but when you come back to town, they do (if you were away long enough for any changes to happen).

This is an Eddie-inspired change to remove note-taking: somebody asked for a feature to take screenshots in stores, and this is a better solution.

Enjoy.
Magnate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 12, 2010, 04:33   #9
Pete Mack
Prophet
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 5,420
Donated: $40
Pete Mack is on a distinguished road
Thanks. I will have to start using it to reduce in-town game turns. Up to now, I was assuming it was inadvertent.
Pete Mack is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Misc editing/changing Angband gameplay AirBreather Variants 7 August 19, 2008 07:53


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 18:36.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.