Angband.oook.cz
Angband.oook.cz
AboutVariantsLadderForumCompetitionComicScreenshotsFunniesLinks

Go Back   Angband Forums > Angband > Vanilla

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old October 26, 2020, 19:09   #121
tg122
Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 52
tg122 is on a distinguished road
That's great! The extra screen real estate will go a long way in portrait mode.
tg122 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 26, 2020, 22:20   #122
Pete Mack
Prophet
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 5,872
Donated: $40
Pete Mack is on a distinguished road
What he said. I had thought the subwindow for lists were executed as OS menus. In that case you could put them anywhere. Had not realized it was still a regular Term pane.

Quote:
Originally Posted by tg122 View Post
That's great! The extra screen real estate will go a long way in portrait mode.
Pete Mack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 1, 2020, 22:12   #123
Cuboideb
Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: Argentina
Posts: 65
Cuboideb is on a distinguished road
Version 1.26

- From now on, subwindows do not overlap the dungeon, this is useful for
text mode.
- New quick settings option: Reset layout (Portrait or Landscape). It gives you a tool to restore recommended parameters after experimenting with the settings.
- The sidebar of Angband can be displayed in vertical fashion, becoming the topbar. It is shown in a different subwindow so it has its own font multiplier (check out Preferences). IMPORTANT: the term #4 in the in-game option screen is by default set to "Display player (topbar)" to make this work.
- The port now tries to adjust the layout after modifiyng certain preferences (subwindows, topbar). You can use the "Fit Width", "Fit Height" and the volume keys to finetune the layout.
- The mouse icon at the top can be hidden.
- Advanced keyboard is the default keyboard for portrait mode. If you want, set the classic keyboard in Preferences.
Cuboideb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 1, 2020, 22:22   #124
Cuboideb
Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: Argentina
Posts: 65
Cuboideb is on a distinguished road
Nick, the code for the topbar is mostly in place. I need to decide where to put a tri-state trigger for the sidebar mode (left, top, none).

I can't decide if I should modify the windows section of the in-game option screen or if I should change the windows port to add a new system menu like "Term 0 font size" and others.

The android port uses the second approach, but the first one is better to make the change extensive to the other ports, without altering the savefile format.

What do you think? Thank you!
Cuboideb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 2, 2020, 00:10   #125
Nick
Vanilla maintainer
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Canberra, Australia
Age: 55
Posts: 8,557
Donated: $60
Nick will become famous soon enough
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cuboideb View Post
Nick, the code for the topbar is mostly in place. I need to decide where to put a tri-state trigger for the sidebar mode (left, top, none).

I can't decide if I should modify the windows section of the in-game option screen or if I should change the windows port to add a new system menu like "Term 0 font size" and others.

The android port uses the second approach, but the first one is better to make the change extensive to the other ports, without altering the savefile format.

What do you think? Thank you!
Maybe the cleanest would be to add it at the top level of the in-game options, alongside things like movement delay, etc. - I'm not sure of the savefile implications of that off the top of my head, though.
__________________
One for the Dark Lord on his dark throne
In the Land of Mordor where the Shadows lie.
Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 2, 2020, 01:07   #126
Cuboideb
Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: Argentina
Posts: 65
Cuboideb is on a distinguished road
Thanks! I'll check how the savefiles handle those options.

Edit: It can be made in two ways without breaking savefiles:

1. lazymove_delay has a maximum of 1000 and it's stored into a tmp16u variable. We could encode the value there.

2. Save the value as a special option. One that behaves in a different way.

Both solution are a bit hacky.

Last edited by Cuboideb; November 2, 2020 at 01:15.
Cuboideb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 2, 2020, 02:42   #127
Nick
Vanilla maintainer
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Canberra, Australia
Age: 55
Posts: 8,557
Donated: $60
Nick will become famous soon enough
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cuboideb View Post
1. lazymove_delay has a maximum of 1000 and it's stored into a tmp16u variable. We could encode the value there.
This looks like a win to me - change lazymove_delay to a byte, and slot another byte in before it to hold the side/top bar position.
__________________
One for the Dark Lord on his dark throne
In the Land of Mordor where the Shadows lie.
Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 2, 2020, 14:21   #128
Pete Mack
Prophet
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 5,872
Donated: $40
Pete Mack is on a distinguished road
Playing on phone in portrait mode. The monster list is making me motion sick. It jumps around at random
Pete Mack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 2, 2020, 14:47   #129
Cuboideb
Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: Argentina
Posts: 65
Cuboideb is on a distinguished road
Have you tried the "Reset Layout (Portrait)" command? When the player uses the + volume key to enlarge the font it brokes panel updates.
Cuboideb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 2, 2020, 14:57   #130
Pete Mack
Prophet
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 5,872
Donated: $40
Pete Mack is on a distinguished road
Thanks! This is great! So much more useful real estate. I see only one possibility to get more: Hide the command bar at the bottom of the screen.
I have replaced the equipment list with the items list. I am wondering if there's a way to hide the list titles. Visible/invisible can be shown with a *, and in any case is useless for the item list.

Last edited by Pete Mack; November 2, 2020 at 15:05.
Pete Mack is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Angband on android Pete Mack Vanilla 50 May 22, 2020 23:52
No keyboard on Android (Angband 3.4.1) Sarpedon Vanilla 5 August 2, 2019 00:53
Android help needed Pete Mack Vanilla 7 July 2, 2018 02:45
Angband for android - with graphics? maboleth Idle chatter 0 May 16, 2015 10:45
Angband on Android david3x3x3 Vanilla 56 March 22, 2013 14:31


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 22:07.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.