Angband.oook.cz
Angband.oook.cz
AboutVariantsLadderForumCompetitionComicScreenshotsFunniesLinks

Go Back   Angband Forums > The real world > Idle chatter

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old November 8, 2009, 04:28   #1
Dark
Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: The ivory tower
Age: 37
Posts: 79
Dark is on a distinguished road
Other roguelikes withe tyles etc?

Hi.

I'm not sure if I could've got away with asking this in the varients section, ---- but anyway I'll ask it here.

To be perfectly honest, I never expected to be able to play Angband at all, ---- and only really tried it on a whim.

I'd tried both Adom and Nethack before, and found neither very playable, due to the tiny textual graphics which were difficult to see.

Of course, fully graphical rpg games like diablo are out entirely, sinse my screen reader can only read text with a generally ascii base, ---- not pure images, ---- so while i have lots of fun with 2D platformers and the like (I'm a pretty major Mega man, turrican and Metroid fanatic), anything with uba amounts of text is generally out.

I've also played many text adventure/gamebook style things, ---- as well as literally hundreds of brouser based rpgs, ---- though most of them boil down to grinding and pvp and become uninteresting fairly quickly.

Angband however, is the first game I've ever found which allows me to make full use of my sight, ---- which admittedly isn't much, ---- and actually read text as well, ---- which is fantastic!

Call me greedy though, ---- but I now wonder what else is out there which is similar?

Admitedly, I don't expect another game to have some of Angband's fairly great access features, ---- like the ability to list on screen objects or have the curser (that highly visible big yellow box), move through on screen monsters and items at the press of one button, ---- but stil, it'd be nice to know if there was anything else going.

Is there for instance, an ability to use tyles in Adom (who's background and quests certainly sounded interesting), which I haven't heard of?

How about Nethack?

Does this dungeon crawl game I've heard people mention feature tyles?

Any suggestions or links would be distinctly appreciated.
Dark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 8, 2009, 06:26   #2
Nick
Vanilla maintainer
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Canberra, Australia
Age: 54
Posts: 7,860
Donated: $60
Nick will become famous soon enough
There are certainly tile sets for Nethack. That is the extent of my knowledge.
__________________
One for the Dark Lord on his dark throne
In the Land of Mordor where the Shadows lie.
Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 8, 2009, 11:46   #3
Magnate
Angband Devteam member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 5,057
Magnate is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to Magnate Send a message via Yahoo to Magnate
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick View Post
There are certainly tile sets for Nethack. That is the extent of my knowledge.
Crawl supports tiles as well. I hear they are quite good, though I'm an ASCII man myself.
Magnate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 8, 2009, 15:26   #4
Dark
Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: The ivory tower
Age: 37
Posts: 79
Dark is on a distinguished road
Nethack I'll have to check. Certainly when I tried it in 2007 there didn't seem to be a tyles option at all, hence the trouble with Ascii.

Adom I've tried more recently, ---- because the gameplay write ups I've seen seem incredibly interesting, ----- but I'm having difficulty there, sinse the creator hasn't answered any of the E-mails I've sent him, ----- and I cannot logue in to the forum to ask directly sinse it has one of those bloody image capture things.

I had a look at the dungeon Crawl stonesoop sourceforge page last night, but I couldn't find the windows tyled version anywhere, ---- all that seemed to be up on the page I tried was a new dos build (and I wasn't sure whether it had tyles or not).

If you've got a link, that would be appreciated.
To save my stupidity
Dark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 11, 2009, 02:39   #5
Karzack
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 17
Karzack is on a distinguished road
Below is the direct link to the Dungeon Crawl Stone Soup with tiles. There are two executables in this. One is for the tiles version and one is for the ascii version.

http://sourceforge.net/projects/craw...2.zip/download
Karzack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 23, 2009, 15:12   #6
Dark
Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: The ivory tower
Age: 37
Posts: 79
Dark is on a distinguished road
Thanks Karzack, ---- and appologies for not checking this for a while.

I've now got the crawl with tyles.

there's one slightly crazy thing happening though.

where as Angband starts in a window which then needs maximizing, crawl takes over the hole desktop. For some odd reason, Hal cannot read or interact with this window, and reads the desktop constantly instead.

I have encountered this problem before, in a console window application which was a windows port of an old apple II text rpg called Eamon delux.

There, i modified the .bas so that the game started off running in the console window, --- and was readable.

I've tested Hal with the consol window of crawl, ---- and it works without a problem, ----- sadly, the tiles do not.

Is there any way of having the crawl tiles version start in a similar window to Angband?

I tried "full screen = false" and "window hight = 0" and "window width = 0" in the tiles options file in the settings directory, ----- but it didn't seem to have an effect.

Any other suggestions?
Dark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 23, 2009, 16:14   #7
ekolis
Knight
 
ekolis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Cincinnati, OH, USA
Age: 36
Posts: 911
ekolis is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to ekolis Send a message via MSN to ekolis Send a message via Yahoo to ekolis
Odd - for me, Crawl appears in a window by default, and I have to edit the config files to make it take over the screen... let me go find the settings you want to edit to undo that... oh, you found them and they didn't work? Weird...

Ah, here are the settings - perhaps you forgot the tile_ prefix?

tile_full_screen = true or false
tile_window_width = whatever
tile_window_height = whatever

What is Hal, by the way? Is that a screenreader? Why would you want tiles if you are using a screenreader?
__________________
You read the scroll labeled NOBIMUS UPSCOTI...
You are surrounded by a stasis field!
The tengu tries to teleport, but fails!
ekolis is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Recently Updated Roguelikes (Roguebasin) PaulBlay Idle chatter 12 April 5, 2009 16:44
LUA in roguelikes - yes or no? PaulBlay Development 20 February 24, 2009 09:54


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:51.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.