Angband.oook.cz
Angband.oook.cz
AboutVariantsLadderForumCompetitionComicScreenshotsFunniesLinks

Go Back   Angband Forums > Angband > Variants

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old January 20, 2016, 17:02   #11
nppangband
NPPAngband Maintainer
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Stat Gain, Angband
Posts: 926
nppangband is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by bio_hazard View Post
Thanks- works now that I put the executable back in the folder with /lib
I should probably put a README file in the OS version so people know to do that.

Now I just have to get used to the differences between this and V! I played a little bit of Quickband a few years ago (which I think was based on NPP?), but it's been a while.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bio_hazard View Post
Biggest adjustment has been movement. @ seems to run sometimes when I want it to take single steps.
Shift + direction is a run command. Usually it is either the shift-lock is down, or using the number pad without numlock turned on.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bio_hazard View Post
Crash when closing the map window.
I will try to duplicate this and fix. Thanks.
__________________
NPPAngband current home page: http://nppangband.bitshepherd.net/
Source code repository:
https://github.com/nppangband/NPPAngband_QT
Downloads:
https://app.box.com/s/1x7k65ghsmc31usmj329pb8415n1ux57
nppangband is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 21, 2016, 00:24   #12
takkaria
Veteran
 
takkaria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,817
Donated: $40
takkaria is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by nppangband View Post
I should probably put a README file in the OS version so people know to do that.
It's more conventional on OS X to include the resources within the application folder. Do you think this might be possible?

Quote:
Shift + direction is a run command. Usually it is either the shift-lock is down, or using the number pad without numlock turned on.
I can reproduce this on OS X as well, just using the arrow keys and with no modifier keys turned on.
__________________
"Physician, heal thyself."
takkaria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 21, 2016, 03:09   #13
nppangband
NPPAngband Maintainer
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Stat Gain, Angband
Posts: 926
nppangband is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by takkaria View Post
It's more conventional on OS X to include the resources within the application folder. Do you think this might be possible?
Please don't laugh at my dumb question, but what files are classified as resources?

Qt has a command that examines a binary and copies all of the necessary dynamic link libraries in the same folder as the program. You can see about 25 of them are included in the windows port. When I did the same command with OSX, the only thing in the .dmg file was the binary. So I zipped the whole folder up and uploaded it. I am open to suggestions on how it should be different.

Right now the only restriction on the folder location is the /lib folder and subfolders have to be in the same directory as the binary. The NPP folder can be located anywhere. But I have a feeling that does not answer your question. I am not as computer saavy as the deevteam and other developers.



Quote:
Originally Posted by takkaria View Post
I can reproduce this on OS X as well, just using the arrow keys and with no modifier keys turned on.
The code to check if the numpad is one or off is complicated, as well as checking if any of the modifier keys are pressed while the numpad is being used. It is one of the few things Qt can't handle without platform dependent code. Right now it is optimized for windows, but it can be changed for OSX. I will work on it.
__________________
NPPAngband current home page: http://nppangband.bitshepherd.net/
Source code repository:
https://github.com/nppangband/NPPAngband_QT
Downloads:
https://app.box.com/s/1x7k65ghsmc31usmj329pb8415n1ux57
nppangband is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 21, 2016, 17:05   #14
takkaria
Veteran
 
takkaria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,817
Donated: $40
takkaria is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by nppangband View Post
Please don't laugh at my dumb question, but what files are classified as resources?

Qt has a command that examines a binary and copies all of the necessary dynamic link libraries in the same folder as the program. You can see about 25 of them are included in the windows port. When I did the same command with OSX, the only thing in the .dmg file was the binary. So I zipped the whole folder up and uploaded it. I am open to suggestions on how it should be different.

Right now the only restriction on the folder location is the /lib folder and subfolders have to be in the same directory as the binary. The NPP folder can be located anywhere. But I have a feeling that does not answer your question. I am not as computer saavy as the deevteam and other developers.
Ah OK, sorry, I should have been clearer! I meant that ideally on OS X the lib folder would be within the NPP .app folder (which is called a bundle). The model of application installation on OS X is that you just copy the bundle of the program you want into your Applications folder, and that includes all the resources that the program needs and it's all kept together.

For example in V the folder listing looks like this:

Angband.app
Angband.app/Contents
Angband.app/Contents/MacOS
Angband.app/Contents/MacOS/angband (executable)
Angband.app/Contents/Resources
Angband.app/Contents/Resources/lib (lib folder)

Looking at the code in V that works out where the lib folder is, it's written in Objective-C so it won't be portable to C++ but there is a bit about getting the path of the bundle in the online Qt docs for OS X.

Does that make sense?
__________________
"Physician, heal thyself."
takkaria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 22, 2016, 02:39   #15
nppangband
NPPAngband Maintainer
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Stat Gain, Angband
Posts: 926
nppangband is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by takkaria View Post
Ah OK, sorry, I should have been clearer!


I meant that ideally on OS X the lib folder would be within the NPP .app folder (which is called a bundle). The model of application installation on OS X is that you just copy the bundle of the program you want into your Applications folder, and that includes all the resources that the program needs and it's all kept together.

For example in V the folder listing looks like this:

Angband.app
Angband.app/Contents
Angband.app/Contents/MacOS
Angband.app/Contents/MacOS/angband (executable)
Angband.app/Contents/Resources
Angband.app/Contents/Resources/lib (lib folder)

Looking at the code in V that works out where the lib folder is, it's written in Objective-C so it won't be portable to C++ but there is a bit about getting the path of the bundle in the online Qt docs for OS X.

Does that make sense?
Yes. Many thanks. The funny thing (to me) is that the "broken" Qt code that locates the path to the binary I mentioned above would actually work if the directory structure was arranged like that.

So if I understand it correctly, it is just a slightly different directory structure? Is there anything more to it than that? Does it still have to be put into a .dmg file for others to use, or can it just get zipped up at that point?
__________________
NPPAngband current home page: http://nppangband.bitshepherd.net/
Source code repository:
https://github.com/nppangband/NPPAngband_QT
Downloads:
https://app.box.com/s/1x7k65ghsmc31usmj329pb8415n1ux57
nppangband is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 22, 2016, 03:52   #16
jevansau
Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Age: 58
Posts: 117
jevansau is on a distinguished road
Is there a way to change the quiver ordering?
The default seems to be most valuable first, which is the opposite of what I want for the F command.
jevansau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 22, 2016, 18:03   #17
nppangband
NPPAngband Maintainer
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Stat Gain, Angband
Posts: 926
nppangband is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by jevansau View Post
Is there a way to change the quiver ordering?
The default seems to be most valuable first, which is the opposite of what I want for the F command.
Yes. Inscribe the arrows with "@#", with # being the slot you want to arrows to be in. It can be either a letter or a number.
__________________
NPPAngband current home page: http://nppangband.bitshepherd.net/
Source code repository:
https://github.com/nppangband/NPPAngband_QT
Downloads:
https://app.box.com/s/1x7k65ghsmc31usmj329pb8415n1ux57
nppangband is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 23, 2016, 00:24   #18
nppangband
NPPAngband Maintainer
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Stat Gain, Angband
Posts: 926
nppangband is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by bio_hazard View Post

Crash when closing the map window.
This is fixed. Both the map window and the overhead window had the same issue.
__________________
NPPAngband current home page: http://nppangband.bitshepherd.net/
Source code repository:
https://github.com/nppangband/NPPAngband_QT
Downloads:
https://app.box.com/s/1x7k65ghsmc31usmj329pb8415n1ux57
nppangband is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 23, 2016, 17:41   #19
takkaria
Veteran
 
takkaria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,817
Donated: $40
takkaria is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by nppangband View Post
Yes. Many thanks. The funny thing (to me) is that the "broken" Qt code that locates the path to the binary I mentioned above would actually work if the directory structure was arranged like that.

So if I understand it correctly, it is just a slightly different directory structure? Is there anything more to it than that? Does it still have to be put into a .dmg file for others to use, or can it just get zipped up at that point?
There isn't anything more to it than that, I think, but I'm not an expert either!

DMG files are just what Macs tend to use instead of zips to distribute software. There's no point in putting an executable into a zip and then into a dmg - it just means you have to extract the app from two different containers instead of one.
__________________
"Physician, heal thyself."
takkaria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 24, 2016, 05:38   #20
jevansau
Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Age: 58
Posts: 117
jevansau is on a distinguished road
Hi,

I encountered a level - I think a pristine wilderness with a player ghost zombie challenge, where it would repeatedly crash. i didn't quite manage to figure out the cause, and unfortunately I forgot to take a copy before I found a way off the level. I did see some 'nothing' terrain types nearby, but it seemed that entering combat caused an immediate crash.
Probably a separate issue, but I get crashes when Windows is low on memory.

Enjoying the playstyle, but finding the new interface takes some time to get used to.

I also just had a crash when inscribing some ammunition with @0. I did have 2 stacks of the same ammunition in my quiver.

Last edited by jevansau; January 24, 2016 at 08:35.
jevansau is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NPPAngband/NPPMoria QT port nppangband Variants 109 November 14, 2015 02:18
NPPAngband/Moria QT Port (Windows) Beta-2 released nppangband Variants 0 April 1, 2015 20:49
Final NPPMoria and NPPAngband 7.1.0 released nppangband Variants 8 January 30, 2014 10:55
Final NPPMoria and NPPAngband 7.0.0 released! nppangband Variants 34 September 6, 2013 22:21
NPPAngband and NPPMoria 7.0.0 beta-1 released! nppangband Variants 15 May 9, 2013 21:26


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 15:33.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.