Angband.oook.cz
Angband.oook.cz
AboutVariantsLadderForumCompetitionComicScreenshotsFunniesLinks

Go Back   Angband Forums > Angband > Vanilla

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old January 20, 2020, 09:46   #1
Kazmahu
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 4
Kazmahu is on a distinguished road
Monster Memory Cheat?

Hi all! I've been experimenting with Angband a bit, and the person who got me onto it suggested I enable the cheat that give you full monster memory from the start of the game, but I can't seem to find any such option. Is this buried in the game files somewhere? Or do I actually not need it that much?

Thanks in advance!
Kazmahu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 20, 2020, 12:14   #2
Nick
Vanilla maintainer
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Canberra, Australia
Age: 54
Posts: 7,982
Donated: $60
Nick will become famous soon enough
You can achieve this by copying monster.txt from lib/gamedata to your user directory (lib/user on Windows, ~/Documents/Angband on macOS, ~/.angband/Angband on Linux).

EDIT: Oops, and renaming it to lore.txt
__________________
One for the Dark Lord on his dark throne
In the Land of Mordor where the Shadows lie.

Last edited by Nick; January 20, 2020 at 20:53. Reason: Stupid
Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 20, 2020, 14:47   #3
Thraalbee
Knight
 
Thraalbee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 560
Thraalbee is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick View Post
You can achieve this by copying monster.txt from lib/gamedata to your user directory (lib/user on Windows, ~/Documents/Angband on macOS, ~/.angband/Angband on Linux).

No need to rename it lore.txt?
Thraalbee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 20, 2020, 16:40   #4
Kazmahu
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 4
Kazmahu is on a distinguished road
Awesome! Had to rename it, but got it to work just fine.

While I'm here, instead of making another thread, is there any way to "zoom out" the main window just a bit? I feel like I can't see enough to get my bearings, especially when I get teleported or something.
Kazmahu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 20, 2020, 16:57   #5
Thraalbee
Knight
 
Thraalbee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 560
Thraalbee is on a distinguished road
"M" shows the overview map. Quite useful. You can scroll that sideways with "W" iirc. You can also use "?" to list all available commands.
Thraalbee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 20, 2020, 20:49   #6
Derakon
Prophet
 
Derakon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 9,005
Derakon is on a distinguished road
There's also the 'L'ook command, which lets you pan the map around, and you can of course make the main window bigger (or reduce the font size) as well to see more of the dungeon at one time. I highly recommend playing with a big enough viewable area that your vertical sight lines don't go off the edge of the screen.
Derakon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 22, 2020, 12:29   #7
Kazmahu
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 4
Kazmahu is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Derakon View Post
There's also the 'L'ook command, which lets you pan the map around, and you can of course make the main window bigger (or reduce the font size) as well to see more of the dungeon at one time. I highly recommend playing with a big enough viewable area that your vertical sight lines don't go off the edge of the screen.
I'm trying to adjust the main window like this, but I can't for the life of me figure out how. Playing with no tile set, every change I make seems to either crunch everything down to illegibility, scale the whole window without actually increasing play area, or flat-out breaks the layout. I know this has to be user error but is there a step-by-step guide to this?
Kazmahu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 22, 2020, 15:53   #8
Derakon
Prophet
 
Derakon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 9,005
Derakon is on a distinguished road
This isn't something I'm an expert on, I'm afraid. I think it depends on what specific build you're playing (i.e. which variant, and on which system, and if on Linux exactly how did you invoke it?). In Vanilla the combination of window size and font size should determine viewable play area.
Derakon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 22, 2020, 16:07   #9
Kazmahu
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 4
Kazmahu is on a distinguished road
I'm playing on windows, with the 4.2.0 build downloaded from the main page. And I finally got it to work. For posterity if anyone searches this in the future:

-Window>Font>Term 0 Window> select a font size
-Window>Term 0 font size>font
-Drag out term 0 window to desired size

Thanks for the help everyone, think I'm finally done faffing and have everything working how I need! Hopefully future posts will be gameplay-related.
Kazmahu is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
4.0.5 monster memory Tibarius Development 1 April 14, 2017 16:25
monster memory quarague Vanilla 7 September 19, 2016 13:24
Monster memory from 3.5.0 Gobbopathe Vanilla 3 September 19, 2015 10:34
The Monster Memory Oramin Vanilla 152 August 18, 2013 12:09
Monster memory TJS Vanilla 13 August 8, 2009 20:40


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:50.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.