Angband.oook.cz
Angband.oook.cz
AboutVariantsLadderForumCompetitionComicScreenshotsFunniesLinks

Go Back   Angband Forums > Angband > Variants

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old March 29, 2009, 12:53   #11
RogerN
Swordsman
 
RogerN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 308
RogerN is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by darke View Post
An other alternative is to grab one of the dozen "font to bitmaps" programs floating around the 'net and use that to write a bmp/png in the same format as the tiles.
My inclination is to ditch the .FON files entirely and switch to .BMP. They're just easier to work with, and users can then modify the fonts (if desired) using any standard paint program. Is there any reason why this is a bad idea?
RogerN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 29, 2009, 14:48   #12
Fuma
Adept
 
Fuma's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 114
Fuma is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by RogerN View Post
Is there any reason why this is a bad idea?
Legacy terminal/curses support? But since Sangband switched to using SDL, I don't think it is really meant to be played on anything without a window manager.
__________________
www.snowleopard.org - International Snow Leopard Trust

Last edited by Fuma; March 29, 2009 at 20:02.
Fuma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 29, 2009, 18:45   #13
Magnate
Angband Devteam member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 5,057
Magnate is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to Magnate Send a message via Yahoo to Magnate
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuma View Post
Legacy terminal/curses support. But since Sangband switched to using SDK, I don't think it is really meant to be played on anything without a window manager.
It can still be played with curses though, and it would be a shame to lose that.
Magnate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 29, 2009, 18:52   #14
RogerN
Swordsman
 
RogerN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 308
RogerN is on a distinguished road
Correct me if I'm wrong, but legacy terminals already don't use the .FON files. The only platform affected by this change would be the Win32 stuff which is already using GDI to display the terminal, and GDI has full support for these bitmap operations going all the way back to Windows 95.
RogerN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 29, 2009, 19:57   #15
takkaria
Veteran
 
takkaria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,946
Donated: $40
takkaria is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by RogerN View Post
Correct me if I'm wrong, but legacy terminals already don't use the .FON files. The only platform affected by this change would be the Win32 stuff which is already using GDI to display the terminal, and GDI has full support for these bitmap operations going all the way back to Windows 95.
Actually, the SDL port will also be affected. I think it would be best to use PNG (more efficient) or BDF (for portability), but I'm probably not doing the work, so...
__________________
takkaria whispers something about options. -more-
takkaria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 29, 2009, 20:01   #16
Fuma
Adept
 
Fuma's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 114
Fuma is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by takkaria View Post
SDL
I knew I got that acronym wrong.

EDIT:
I'm more than willing to do the FON -> PNG conversion. At least for a few font sizes.
As for coding, I don't really have the will to study source code and learn what does what. Nor do I know any programming language.
__________________
www.snowleopard.org - International Snow Leopard Trust
Fuma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 29, 2009, 21:00   #17
Nick
Vanilla maintainer
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Canberra, Australia
Age: 54
Posts: 8,069
Donated: $60
Nick will become famous soon enough
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuma View Post
I
I'm more than willing to do the FON -> PNG conversion. At least for a few font sizes.
I think (and others may correct me...) that if you want somewhere to start, this page is it.

Amusingly, the WinCE port already uses ascii pictures, because of font handling difficulties.
__________________
One for the Dark Lord on his dark throne
In the Land of Mordor where the Shadows lie.
Nick is online now   Reply With Quote
Old March 29, 2009, 21:23   #18
Fuma
Adept
 
Fuma's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 114
Fuma is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick View Post
I think (and others may correct me...) that if you want somewhere to start, this page is it.
I already have the FON files from Sangband, what I'd like to know is how should I go about with it. Just create a PNG for each character? Arrange them in neat rows, like the tilesets? Do the rows have to be arranged in specific order?
That sort of things.

Of course, first I have to get my hands on some nifty little conversion tool, but that shouldn't pose a huge problem, I believe?
__________________
www.snowleopard.org - International Snow Leopard Trust
Fuma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 29, 2009, 21:28   #19
RogerN
Swordsman
 
RogerN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 308
RogerN is on a distinguished road
I've already converted all the Sangband .FON files into bitmaps. I can upload them if anyone else is interested. The only reason I used BMP instead of PNG is so that the *band source code does not need to be linked to any external libraries.
RogerN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 29, 2009, 21:31   #20
Fuma
Adept
 
Fuma's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 114
Fuma is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by RogerN View Post
I've already converted all the Sangband .FON files into bitmaps.
So now I'm totally useless :P
Though I'd love to help with something...
__________________
www.snowleopard.org - International Snow Leopard Trust
Fuma is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Emergency fix for stat potion scarcity? Donald Jonker Vanilla 15 January 16, 2009 04:38
Help With Walls In Vista z118 Vanilla 2 December 8, 2008 15:44
wall building? Slick Vanilla 8 November 1, 2007 01:29
Vanilla freezes in Vista after a few seconds pamperedpeterson Vanilla 4 September 19, 2007 01:25
Any way to fix the Esc problem for Linux? TJA Vanilla 6 August 17, 2007 14:42


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 22:56.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.