Angband.oook.cz
Angband.oook.cz
AboutVariantsLadderForumCompetitionComicScreenshotsFunniesLinks

Go Back   Angband Forums > Angband > Variants

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old May 1, 2008, 02:34   #11
camlost
Sangband 1.x Maintainer
 
camlost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 522
camlost is on a distinguished road
Also, I posted the config.txt file I use on the site as well. It's for 1280x1024, but you may be able to get it to work. If it doesn't work out of the box, try replacing 1280 with 1900 and 1024 with 1200, and see if that works.
__________________
a chunk of Bronze {These look tastier than they are. !E}
3 blank Parchments (Vellum) {No french novels please.}
camlost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 6, 2008, 09:09   #12
Prismatic
Scout
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 32
Prismatic is on a distinguished road
Thanks for your time!

Unfortunately none of them (including resizing my resolution) work. It does still run on the old computer, though. No matter what I do on this computer I get an unresponsive (full-screen) black screen that I can alt-tab out of, but not back into.

I think, thus, I may have not installed something. Does it require something that I may have forgotten? I don't think it's Java-based, although I updated that, but is there anything else I should try downloading? This is Windows XP Professional, should be up to date, using a Intel Duo CPU.

I did put all the dlls in the proper directory. (I had them there originally, but I downloaded new versions of all of them).

-Prism
Prismatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 8, 2008, 18:31   #13
Rizwan
Swordsman
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 292
Rizwan is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Prismatic View Post
Thanks for your time!

Unfortunately none of them (including resizing my resolution) work. It does still run on the old computer, though. No matter what I do on this computer I get an unresponsive (full-screen) black screen that I can alt-tab out of, but not back into.

I think, thus, I may have not installed something. Does it require something that I may have forgotten? I don't think it's Java-based, although I updated that, but is there anything else I should try downloading? This is Windows XP Professional, should be up to date, using a Intel Duo CPU.
I am running a screen resolution of 1208x1024 using XP professional and intel core2 duo
I downloaded sangband
Version 1.0.0 (with music) from http://runegold.org/sangband/downloads.htm unzipped it and it ran right out of the box. This is what I get. It seems to be running fine. I did not have to download anything else. I just thought to try it as we seem to have pretty similar systems. So if there is any other way I can help please ask.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Sangband.jpg
Views:	152
Size:	10.5 KB
ID:	94  
Attached Files
File Type: zip Sangband.zip (13.2 KB, 112 views)
Rizwan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 8, 2008, 19:40   #14
Prismatic
Scout
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 32
Prismatic is on a distinguished road
It used to work on the old computer, that's the confusing part.

I think it may be something related to the full-screen display. What is the option that needs to be toggled in the config file to get it back to the 'old' Angband visuals - the multiple detached windows rather than fullscreen? I can run Angband and EyAngband and Hengband (the ones I also play) all like that, so I'm pretty sure it should work that way.
Prismatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 8, 2008, 21:49   #15
Fuma
Adept
 
Fuma's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 114
Fuma is on a distinguished road
AFAIK there is no way to turn it back to the detached windows mode without changing the source and recompiling.
I think this may as well be a font-related problem. Have you tried clicking the window and pressing keys in order to maybe get to the town view?
Or maybe right-clicking and selecting compatibility options?
__________________
www.snowleopard.org - International Snow Leopard Trust
Fuma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 9, 2008, 01:03   #16
Prismatic
Scout
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 32
Prismatic is on a distinguished road
Pushing buttons to get to town doesn't work; it freezes as soon as I open the program (comes up as unresponsive in task manager, can't be tabbed back into)

Compatibility doesn't seem to be working either. I've pretty much given up at this point; I can't think of anything else to try.

-Prismatic
Prismatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 9, 2008, 14:49   #17
Fede
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Italy
Age: 35
Posts: 12
Fede is on a distinguished road
Do you have this problem with all variants or only with Sangband?
Fede is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 9, 2008, 22:24   #18
Prismatic
Scout
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 32
Prismatic is on a distinguished road
Only with Sangband of the ones I play (vanilla although that was an older version, EyAngband, Hengband). That's why I think it's the fullscreen code.

-Prism
Prismatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 10, 2008, 14:34   #19
Fuma
Adept
 
Fuma's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 114
Fuma is on a distinguished road
Sometime ago on the r.g.r.a. someone posted a SDL-disabled version. I can't remember if it's one of these:
http://middendorfproject.googlepages.com/sangband
Or it's just a specific version with a link only findable through the newsgroups.

If anyone remembers something about this, please explain. In the mean time you could just try out the versions posted on the linked page.
__________________
www.snowleopard.org - International Snow Leopard Trust
Fuma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 11, 2008, 20:11   #20
Prismatic
Scout
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 32
Prismatic is on a distinguished road
I do think it's an SDL thing. I'm currently looking for a way to install SDL onto my computer as not having it might be what the issue is. Will be back later.

In the meantime, none of the versions linked there worked, but I did find the non-SDL port of a slightly earlier version and that /did/.
Prismatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[Norseband] Help needed to untangle p_info error! ISNorden Variants 5 April 21, 2008 09:08


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:24.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.