Angband.oook.cz
Angband.oook.cz
AboutVariantsLadderForumCompetitionComicScreenshotsFunniesLinks

Go Back   Angband Forums > Angband > Vanilla

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old March 15, 2015, 12:43   #11
Nomad
Knight
 
Nomad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: England
Posts: 958
Nomad is on a distinguished road
Looking good so far from the little bit I've played! A few minor issues:

* Quiver contents are not showing up on either the 'e' screen or 'i' screen. (This is on Windows.) It's not possible to Inspect or drop them, either. They do still exist somewhere though, because I can select them to throw with 'v'.

* Also, I note that the new on-screen level feelings indicator from 3.5.1 isn't included, so maybe that could be copied over? That was a nice little feature I was just getting used to. (And more importantly, maybe somebody should check if any of the 3.5.1 bugfixes need to be copied too, if this is based off a prior version.)
Nomad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 15, 2015, 13:00   #12
Nick
Vanilla maintainer
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Canberra, Australia
Age: 54
Posts: 8,071
Donated: $60
Nick will become famous soon enough
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nomad View Post
* Quiver contents are not showing up on either the 'e' screen or 'i' screen. (This is on Windows.) It's not possible to Inspect or drop them, either. They do still exist somewhere though, because I can select them to throw with 'v'.
Yes, I should have explained the quiver. You can view it, by either 'e' or 'i' and then '.' - this is not very intuitive, but I was reluctant to give it a whole new command. If you try to inspect or drop, there should be a header at the top of the list of items which gives options to go to equipment (/) or quiver (.). This works for me in Windows; if it's not working for you, that's a bug.

There's then the separate question of how people like the new behaviour, which is open for comment

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nomad View Post
* Also, I note that the new on-screen level feelings indicator from 3.5.1 isn't included, so maybe that could be copied over? That was a nice little feature I was just getting used to. (And more importantly, maybe somebody should check if any of the 3.5.1 bugfixes need to be copied too, if this is based off a prior version.)
This is a very good point, and thank you for reminding me. Some of the bugfixes have been included, but I'm pretty sure some have not. And yes, the feelings indicator will come back.
__________________
One for the Dark Lord on his dark throne
In the Land of Mordor where the Shadows lie.
Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 15, 2015, 13:27   #13
Nomad
Knight
 
Nomad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: England
Posts: 958
Nomad is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick View Post
Yes, I should have explained the quiver. You can view it, by either 'e' or 'i' and then '.' - this is not very intuitive, but I was reluctant to give it a whole new command. If you try to inspect or drop, there should be a header at the top of the list of items which gives options to go to equipment (/) or quiver (.). This works for me in Windows; if it's not working for you, that's a bug.
Yes, I was just going to ETA to say I'd found it! My mistake. Couple of issues after playing around with it, though:

* I think you need to restore the "in Quiver: 40 missiles" display on the inventory screen that shows how many slots the quiver is taking up. Otherwise it's unclear when your inventory's actually full.

* Nothing happens if you press '.' when the quiver is empty, which is a tad confusing, especially for a newbie investigating the controls. I think it needs to go to the quiver display and just show "(nothing)" like empty equipment screen slots do.

* The "(Inven a-w, / for equip, . for Quiver, ESC)" line you've added at the top of the 'i' display has pushed slot 'w' off the bottom of the screen if you're playing with the screen resized to the minimum 24 rows. (I don't know if many other people actually do, but I still habitually resize the display as small as it'll go so I can switch programs easily. And I'm guessing it might be more of a problem for ports to devices with small screens.)
Nomad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 15, 2015, 13:58   #14
MattB
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Berkshire, UK
Posts: 1,153
MattB is on a distinguished road
Loving it - thanks Nick!

Ref quiver, I don't seem to be able to store any ammo at home? (maybe I'm being stoopid...)

Also, I've just been paralysed while wearing boots of FA (and two other sources of FA to... er... boot).
MattB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 15, 2015, 14:00   #15
MattB
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Berkshire, UK
Posts: 1,153
MattB is on a distinguished road
Oh, and I'm constantly having to hit <i><escape> to redraw the map due to missing tiles (because I'm too lazy to look up the 'redraw' command). Shockbolt tiles, if it makes any difference.
MattB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 15, 2015, 15:12   #16
mrrstark
Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 101
mrrstark is on a distinguished road
Thanks for fixing the Windows display bug. I have another to report

It feels like there is a lot of flicker when the turn is draw when "Center Player Continuously" is enabled. Much more than previous versions. Is that something that can be fixed?
mrrstark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 15, 2015, 16:05   #17
Nomad
Knight
 
Nomad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: England
Posts: 958
Nomad is on a distinguished road
Does the new passable rubble in town exist in the dungeon as well, or is it town-only at the moment? Just wondering because it's currently impossible to distinguish from regular rubble in tile mode (I had no idea until I accidentally walked over it), which could lead to some nasty surprises if monsters can pass over it.

(Somebody please remind me to update my tile set before 4.0 gets an official release. I really need to fix the Ainur graphics as well now they've been changed from Angels.)

Also, does passable rubble have any chance of items, or am I just wasting my time digging through the stuff in town?
Nomad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 15, 2015, 16:48   #18
Runaway1956
Apprentice
 
Runaway1956's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 71
Runaway1956 is on a distinguished road
Maybe I'm getting the hang of this:

Code:
git clone git://github.com/angband/angband.git

cd angband

sh autogen.sh

./configure --with-no-install --enable-sdl

make -j4

cd src

./angband -g -- -n4
I have a windows which proclaims itself to be Angband v4.0beta-4-g0a915bd and I have the subwindows floating on my second screen.

Time to see what I can do with it . . .
__________________
It's a 1982 Honda GL 500 Silver Wing Interstate, my daily commuter. http://linuxcounter.net/cert/522398.png
Runaway1956 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 15, 2015, 16:54   #19
Nomad
Knight
 
Nomad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: England
Posts: 958
Nomad is on a distinguished road
A few more minor things I've come across:

* You can't sell ammo, as it doesn't seem to be possible to select the quiver when you use 'd' inside a shop. (Or the home, as MattB notes.)

* Using 'k' to squelch appears to default to whichever of inventory/equipment/quiver you had open last rather than to the main inventory. I don't know if that's desired behaviour, but it seems a bit strange. (Edit: same behaviour from the 'I'nspect command.)

* The "You reshuffle some items in your inventory" message doesn't seem to show up any more. (The result being that when you ID something, you get a message like "You have 3 Scrolls of Identify (k)", and then those scrolls silently migrate to a different letter slot but you don't get any notification that they've moved.)

ETA:

* Pseudo ID inscriptions aren't going away properly when you ID equipment by use. I've identified my Main Gauche as (+2,+6), but it still has the {magical} tag and comes up with "You do not know the full extent of this item's powers."

Last edited by Nomad; March 15, 2015 at 17:20.
Nomad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 15, 2015, 18:17   #20
Runaway1956
Apprentice
 
Runaway1956's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 71
Runaway1956 is on a distinguished road
If the game just crashes, where does one look for a logfile? The save file is generated when I enter a new level, so that won't do you any good.

I was still diddling around on level one, firing arrows at a mold. The game just closed on me - no warning, nothing.



Ooops, there must be log file somewhere - I got this in the console from which I started Angband:

Code:
guy@sparky:~/angband/src$ ./angband -g -- -n4
./angband: software bug


Well now, the game seems to have restarted in just about the same place - instead of a mold, I found a centipede? Odd . . . I could have sworn I was shooting at a little yellow "m".
__________________
It's a 1982 Honda GL 500 Silver Wing Interstate, my daily commuter. http://linuxcounter.net/cert/522398.png

Last edited by Runaway1956; March 15, 2015 at 18:27.
Runaway1956 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FuryBand 5.1 Beta Release The GP Fury Variants 31 February 23, 2013 06:27
Angband release Shockbolt Vanilla 4 February 29, 2012 19:52
NPP 0.5.1 Beta-6 "Release Candidate" is available nppangband Variants 4 January 23, 2011 12:36
[Un]angband 0.6.2 beta Arralen Variants 9 February 20, 2008 21:09
FuryBand Gold Beta Release The GP Fury Variants 15 November 26, 2007 22:31


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 15:34.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.