Angband.oook.cz
Angband.oook.cz
AboutVariantsLadderForumCompetitionComicScreenshotsFunniesLinks

Go Back   Angband Forums > Angband > Vanilla

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old December 26, 2012, 02:49   #1
tynan
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 19
tynan is on a distinguished road
Questions (I play 3.0.4)

Greetings all. I have been messing around with the Edit files (like p_class, p_race, artifact) and the only ones that I can make the changes actually work in-game are the p_class and p_race.
The artifact.txt file is frustrating to say the least. I'm trying to start my character off with artifacts and the best result I can get in-game are items that are not identified (and can't be identified), with no powers at all. They are generic items of their class.
For example, in the p_class section of Ranger starting equipment I replaced the torches with the Arkenstone of Thrain from objects.txt and artifacts.txt (I'm only using artifacts with the INSTA_ART flag). When I started a new game, all it said was "an Arkenstone" and it had zero abilities/powers/etc. When I tried to Identify it it wouldn't let me (can't remember why atm). The color was right (yellow) and it displayed the proper character, but that was it, no stats.
Any help with this is much appreciated. Thanks.
tynan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 26, 2012, 03:51   #2
Derakon
Prophet
 
Derakon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 9,022
Derakon is on a distinguished road
Unfortunately, the items that the player starts with are just bog-standard examples of the base item type. There are special base item types for the lightsources (the Phial, Star, and Arkenstone), that are normally never generated without being turned into artifacts -- but character creation works around that.

For the same reason, you never get magical or ego-item equipment in your starting gear.

If you want to be able to map and light every level, then you could use the debug/wizard-mode commands. I believe the correct invocation is ^al. That is, shift-6, a, l. You'll be asked for confirmation the first time you do ^a, but not thereafter. Unfortunately doing this prevents your score from being recorded, since you are, after all, cheating.

Mental note: when Pyrel gets around to a scores list, record cheaters on a different scoresheet instead of not recording them at all.
Derakon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 26, 2012, 10:37   #3
LostTemplar
Knight
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 670
LostTemplar is on a distinguished road
Does Vanilla have ^aC command, which creates any artifact ?
LostTemplar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 26, 2012, 14:41   #4
tynan
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 19
tynan is on a distinguished road
Yes, there are actually 2 modes of "debug". The normal debug mode is reached by pressing "Shift-6" and then "a". Wizard mode is reached by pressing "Ctrl-w" and then "y" for accepting the *Cheater* flag and forfeiting your score. Debug mode also carries the Cheater flag, but gives no warning.
It seems both modes are identical as far as what you can do. Here is a list of Debug commands in debug mode (keep in mind this is 3.0.4):
^a - Debug mode
c - (C)reate basic item
d - (D)etect all
e - modify character att, (E)xp, etc
f - (F)ully *Identify*
g - Create {(G)ood} equipment
h - Show Life Rating
i - (I)dentify
j - (J)ump to Level (0-127)
k - Self (K)nowledge
m - Magic (M)apping
o - Modify (O)bject
p - (P)hase Door
s - (S)ummon Monster
t - (T)eleport Self
u - Detect Monsters
v - Create {exceptional} and {special} equipment
w - Reveal (W)hole Level Map
x - Gain E(X)P

If anyone has any tips on what to modify in the source code to remove the annoying Cheater flag, that would be much appreciated. Thanks.

Last edited by tynan; December 26, 2012 at 14:49.
tynan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 26, 2012, 16:57   #5
Derakon
Prophet
 
Derakon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 9,022
Derakon is on a distinguished road
You want to modify score.c so it doesn't care if you've used wizard mode and/or debug mode (and, if you want, so it doesn't care if you've set cheater options). Remove either or both of these two blocks of code, depending on what you want to achieve:
Code:
    /* Cheaters are not scored */
    for (j = OPT_SCORE; j < OPT_SCORE + N_OPTS_CHEAT; ++j)
    {
        if (!op_ptr->opt[j]) continue;

        msg("Score not registered for cheaters.");
        message_flush();
        return;
    }

    /* Wizard-mode pre-empts scoring */
    if (p_ptr->noscore & (NOSCORE_WIZARD | NOSCORE_DEBUG))
    {
        msg("Score not registered for wizards.");
        message_flush();
    }
Derakon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 27, 2012, 03:11   #6
tynan
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 19
tynan is on a distinguished road
I downloaded the source for it (from here) and there isn't a file called "score.c" anywhere in the src folder or elsewhere. I looked through "files.c" and found many references to the player score/highscore, but no luck with "debug" or "wizard". I'll keep searching the files from top to bottom though. Unless of course I find out here first. Thanks.
tynan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 27, 2012, 04:06   #7
Derakon
Prophet
 
Derakon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 9,022
Derakon is on a distinguished road
I was looking at the 3.4 source, so I guess that's one thing that was changed.

I bet that OPT_SCORE and N_OPTS_CHEAT still exist, so you could try searching for those. Alternately, make a cheater, kill it, and then note the message that gets printed (which in 3.4 is "Score not registered for cheaters."). Search for that and the code that prevents wizards from scoring will probably be nearby.
Derakon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 7, 2013, 14:14   #8
Timo Pietilä
Prophet
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Climbing up from hole I just dug.
Posts: 4,096
Timo Pietilä is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by tynan View Post
Here is a list of Debug commands in debug mode (keep in mind this is 3.0.4):
^a - Debug mode
c - (C)reate basic item
Capital "c" (C) gives you artifact if you just enter artifact number as count before actually activating the command:

Phial: 01^aC

Arkenstone would be 03^aC
Timo Pietilä is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do you play? Djabanete Variants 14 January 9, 2011 21:07
Win on first play Antoine Vanilla 13 May 8, 2010 17:03
Music to play to Faust Idle chatter 38 July 27, 2008 10:04
Anyone out there still play Ey? Slonk Variants 5 September 7, 2007 06:53
{UN} play by play impressions & a couple questions. will_asher Variants 15 September 1, 2007 15:35


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 14:23.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.