Angband.oook.cz
Angband.oook.cz
AboutVariantsLadderForumCompetitionComicScreenshotsFunniesLinks

Go Back   Angband Forums > Angband > Development

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old May 11, 2011, 19:10   #41
takkaria
Veteran
 
takkaria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,919
Donated: $40
takkaria is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tobias View Post
Can I use your keyhook code, to somehow display my keypresses, from the normal gameplay, in the statuslog, like the borg does?

I wanted to record a tutorial video / LP for some time now. But without something like this I don't think people will understand what i am doing.
The borg won't help you out if you want a keylogger because it's the borg recording the keys it sends the same, not the game recording what it gets. But it would be possible to hook Angband a keylogger without too much effort. You'd want it util.c:inkey(), I'd think.
__________________
takkaria whispers something about options. -more-
takkaria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 11, 2011, 21:09   #42
Tobias
Adept
 
Tobias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 172
Tobias is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by takkaria View Post
The borg won't help you out if you want a keylogger because it's the borg recording the keys it sends the same, not the game recording what it gets. But it would be possible to hook Angband a keylogger without too much effort. You'd want it util.c:inkey(), I'd think.
Yea, I played around myself for a bit. It sorta works with the logger in inkey_ex. inkey only recorded the keymaps for some reason.
Still leaves me with the problem that I never got screen recording to run in linux, and never compiled angband from source in windows.

btw. I can't get the borg screensaver to run. If I use the test option on right click or the the test button from the display setting, it demands a directory called alib. It works if I renam lib to alib, but it ignores all settings for subwindows and such. If I use the configure option, it uses the normal lib directory, and uses the settings from my game. If I install it, it demands a second alib directory, and I have no idea where that should be.
Tobias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 11, 2011, 21:36   #43
takkaria
Veteran
 
takkaria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,919
Donated: $40
takkaria is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tobias View Post
Yea, I played around myself for a bit. It sorta works with the logger in inkey_ex. inkey only recorded the keymaps for some reason.
Still leaves me with the problem that I never got screen recording to run in linux, and never compiled angband from source in windows.

btw. I can't get the borg screensaver to run. If I use the test option on right click or the the test button from the display setting, it demands a directory called alib. It works if I renam lib to alib, but it ignores all settings for subwindows and such. If I use the configure option, it uses the normal lib directory, and uses the settings from my game. If I install it, it demands a second alib directory, and I have no idea where that should be.
Maybe the term package is the place to do it, then.
__________________
takkaria whispers something about options. -more-
takkaria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 11, 2011, 22:16   #44
Netbrian
Adept
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 141
Netbrian is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by APWhite View Post
Wow, that was one freaked out borg. He must have watched the Lakers game and it fried his brain.

It's fixed now. http://www.innovapain.com/borg
We're located in Los Angeles, so many of my co-workers are in a similar state.

I've attached another less severe example. This borg like to keep buying and selling the same scrolls. She'll interrupt this to go dive some, but once she's back in town, it's back to the same old habit.

Thanks!
Attached Files
File Type: zip Vale.zip (17.8 KB, 53 views)
Netbrian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 11, 2011, 23:02   #45
Tobias
Adept
 
Tobias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 172
Tobias is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by takkaria View Post
Maybe the term package is the place to do it, then.
What's term package?

I fiinally managed to pull something together after trying 3 more recorders.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g2imEraII6E
I will probably start recording, and open an extra thread for my LP, this weekend.

Turns out ffmpeg has an option to record of the screen.
Tobias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 11, 2011, 23:30   #46
Nolendil
Adept
 
Nolendil's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 171
Donated: 10 euro
Nolendil is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tobias View Post
I can't get the borg screensaver to run. If I use the test option on right click or the the test button from the display setting, it demands a directory called alib.
I usually get that error when I forget to edit the Angband.ini file with the correct path (under Windows, btw).
Could this be your problem too?
__________________
A(3.2.0) C "Angdiira II" DP L:36 DL:44(2200') A+ R+ Sp w:Whip of Westernesse(+10,+10)(+2)
A Mx H- D c-- f- PV+ s- d P++ M+
C- S-- I So B++ ac GHB- SQ+ RQ++ V+

Last edited by Nolendil; May 11, 2011 at 23:48.
Nolendil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 11, 2011, 23:47   #47
Nolendil
Adept
 
Nolendil's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 171
Donated: 10 euro
Nolendil is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by APWhite View Post
OK, "Too Shallow" is good to see. The borg has entered the dungeon via the stairs. He would prefer to recall down but was unable to do so due to an inventory short-fall of some sort. He may have only been prepared for shallower depths, for example.

He had been playing deeper (at least level 9 or even deeper). But for some reason, he was comfortable only on shallow dives until he met certain equipment requirements. Most likely, he did not have enough recall scrolls or heal-type potions to continue diving. However, in the dungeon, he realized that he was indeed prepared for deeper exploration. Rather than walking all the way down, he decided to return to town in order to recall back to his comfortable depth.

The big concern here is making sure the borg is still comfortable for deep dungeon when he is ready to leave town again. Otherwise, he will return to shallow dungeon for a short time then return to town with the 'too shallow' excuse.

If this borg continues to play too shallow, send me the savefile and I will see why it is freaking out.

One way to test this is use ^z2 when he is in the dungeon. This will give a report on the depth for which the borg is prepared. After the borg is finished shopping in town, use ^z2 to see the level and reason for preparation. Then allow him to walk to dungeon depth 1 (or where ever he wants to go) and use ^z2 again. Assuming there was no inventory/equipment changes this can tell you what the borg was lacking and what kept him from recalling back into the deeper dungeon.
Very interesting answer. I'll get back to you on that soon. Thanks
__________________
A(3.2.0) C "Angdiira II" DP L:36 DL:44(2200') A+ R+ Sp w:Whip of Westernesse(+10,+10)(+2)
A Mx H- D c-- f- PV+ s- d P++ M+
C- S-- I So B++ ac GHB- SQ+ RQ++ V+
Nolendil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 11, 2011, 23:56   #48
Tobias
Adept
 
Tobias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 172
Tobias is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nolendil View Post
I usually get that error when I forget to edit the Angband.ini file with the correct path (under Windows, btw).
Could this be your problem too?
No, I checked, and it's on my windows box. Unless the format changed since the 3.0.9. Borg. I had that one running until last week.

Does the borg even run under linux?
Tobias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 12, 2011, 00:32   #49
Chud
Adept
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 249
Chud is on a distinguished road
I haven't played with the borg before, so I apologize in advance if this is a known behavior and "well don't do that" item...

...but, the borg doesn't play well with the disconnected stairs option, does it? Mine keeps returning to where it could have sworn there were some stairs just a second ago (I just came down them after all!) and bounding back and forth between two adjacent spaces there in a neverending fruitless search for the bermuda staircase.
Chud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 12, 2011, 02:47   #50
Nick
Vanilla maintainer
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Canberra, Australia
Age: 54
Posts: 7,636
Donated: $60
Nick is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tobias View Post
Does the borg even run under linux?
Almost - see here for details.
__________________
One for the Dark Lord on his dark throne
In the Land of Mordor where the Shadows lie.
Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
(not) running into molds half Vanilla 12 May 24, 2009 09:04
Re-thinking running (away) buzzkill Development 2 March 8, 2009 08:42
3.1 running bug Faust Vanilla 0 January 11, 2009 16:16
Disturbs when running. Zero Vanilla 1 June 19, 2008 16:30
Anyone running the nightlies... takkaria Vanilla 3 July 13, 2007 16:54


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 19:30.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.