Angband.oook.cz
Angband.oook.cz
AboutVariantsLadderForumCompetitionComicScreenshotsFunniesLinks

Go Back   Angband Forums > Angband > Vanilla

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old December 1, 2009, 15:57   #1
paboperfecto
Scout
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 27
paboperfecto is on a distinguished road
3.1.1 Home Drop Bug

Hello, I've been a casual Angband player for a few years now and am really enjoying the changes to 3.1.1. I have a game I am currently playing where trying to drop items in my home makes the game unplayable. I am playing the windows graphical version, the latest available from the download page. This just started from my last trip up from the dungeon.
Symptoms:

1.) I press 'd' to drop an item in my home, I am queried for which item to drop and how many if appropriate.
2.) Once that selection is made the item is dropped and my home inventory is updated,
3.) The prompt remains at the top to select an item to drop, the escape key will no longer work to exit out of the menu or my home.
4.) I can select items to drop, my inventory is adjusted but my home inventory no longer changes.
5.) After some number of drops my inventory will no longer decrease (I'm assuming my home is full even though the shown inventory hasn't changed from the first drop).
6.) With the prompt at the top and no way to exit my home I have to kill the process manually.

I have a save game if that would help. I searched and didn't see anything quite like this reported...if it has been reported is there a known cause or do I have to avoid my home for the remainder of this game? I can retrieve items from my home as long as I don't try to put things in it.
paboperfecto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 1, 2009, 16:36   #2
paboperfecto
Scout
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 27
paboperfecto is on a distinguished road
Interesting....I can drop items using the 's' button with no problems. The problem is with the 'd' key in my home.
paboperfecto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 1, 2009, 16:42   #3
paboperfecto
Scout
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 27
paboperfecto is on a distinguished road
Nevermind...I figured it out. When I was creating some macros I had accidentaly created one that was mapped to 'd'. I had removed the macro but it was still floating around causing problems. I edited the .prf file to remove it and everything is great again. Doh!
paboperfecto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 1, 2009, 16:44   #4
Marble Dice
Swordsman
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Columbia, MO. USA
Posts: 405
Marble Dice is on a distinguished road
Aha. What macro did you have on 'd'? I usually use Z and x, and I think the F1...F12 keys are free as well.
Marble Dice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 10, 2009, 18:02   #5
cerberus
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 4
cerberus is on a distinguished road
I found this bug a long time ago :P

http://angband.oook.cz/forum/showthread.php?t=1026
cerberus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 11, 2009, 16:07   #6
paboperfecto
Scout
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 27
paboperfecto is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marble Dice View Post
Aha. What macro did you have on 'd'? I usually use Z and x, and I think the F1...F12 keys are free as well.
I was in macro creation and I brushed d as I was reaching for the F keys, I believe it mapped it to itself which is probably what was causing the looped drop behavior.
paboperfecto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 11, 2009, 16:11   #7
paboperfecto
Scout
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 27
paboperfecto is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by cerberus View Post
I found this bug a long time ago :P

http://angband.oook.cz/forum/showthread.php?t=1026
I had read your thread a while ago and forgotten about it. I didn't think of the macro right away because I immediately removed it after I had put it in and then put it out of my mind. Guess I'll remember to query the macros now to make sure they're gone or just shut down and edit the prf file.
paboperfecto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 11, 2009, 17:07   #8
Derakon
Prophet
 
Derakon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 8,421
Derakon is on a distinguished road
What situations would you rather have a macro than a keymap? It seems like macros are just asking for trouble.
Derakon is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
great drop nobody Vanilla 4 August 5, 2009 15:55
feature request: add home inventory stat modifiers/flags/etc bebo Vanilla 2 July 17, 2009 00:36
r1451: can't drop items! zen0 Vanilla 2 June 23, 2009 20:03
What should I drop (Ironman Paladin) Pete Mack Vanilla 2 June 15, 2009 03:10
Trouble Getting Home orbs AAR 3 March 24, 2008 05:01


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 20:49.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.