Angband.oook.cz
AboutVariantsLadderForumCompetitionComicScreenshotsFunniesLinks

Go Back   Angband Forums > Angband > AAR

Old November 23, 2011, 17:35   #1
starstealer
Scout

starstealer is on a distinguished road
Getting Ready for Endgame

I've been playing this character off and on for a few months and I feel he's really getting to the point I might be looking at End-game type of equipment.

I just found a helm of telepathy, but I'm torn since my current helm is my only source that I'm using for RConf - though otherwise I would like to replace it. I do have other items that provide RConf - but then I lose out on other things.

So - in terms of an optimization perspective - should I use the RConf helm as a swap item (like I do with Firestar for Fire immunity), drop the current helm completely or something else?

Also - out of the items in my home - which should I really get rid of at this point? I tend to just hold on to things - but since I'm over-full - I need to start getting the expendables that I'll need (how did I get this far without a single !Healing?)

http://angband.oook.cz/ladder-show.php?id=10809

Thanks for the help.
starstealer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 23, 2011, 17:51   #2
Derakon
Prophet

Derakon is on a distinguished road
rConf is not essential to the game, though it is handy. Telepathy, though, I would say is essential. Carry Thengel as a swap in case you run into a monster with frequent confusion attacks (e.g. Nightmares), but otherwise you should just chug a Cure Critical Wounds potion.

Things you should be on the lookout for:
* More CON. Ideally, you should get this up to 18/200. CON = hitpoints = survival.
* Resist poison. You have the resistance spell, so if you're religious about detecting monsters you can put this off, but having a permanent source is a good safety net.