Angband.oook.cz
Angband.oook.cz
AboutVariantsLadderForumCompetitionComicScreenshotsFunniesLinks

Go Back   Angband Forums > Angband > Vanilla

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old May 13, 2013, 02:34   #21
ninmonkey
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 6
ninmonkey is on a distinguished road
Options -> graphics -> tile multiplier will also change the size of the tiles. Pretty sure mine started at least 2x or more.
ninmonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 19, 2013, 19:00   #22
Cronk
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 1
Cronk is on a distinguished road
More Mac OS X windowing annoyances

Quote:
Originally Posted by Derakon View Post
Unfortunately the initial Cocoa port was simply written so that resizing the window changed the font size instead of the number of visible rows/columns. The person who wrote the Cocoa port is incommunicado, and none of the other devs are Cocoa experts. Myshkin is working on the problem, but it's a bit slow going. Rest assured that while this is the intended behavior (i.e. it's not technically a bug), you're not alone in considering it to be undesired behavior.
Well, that's disappointing. I am running into the same troubles: running on Mac OS X and annoyed by the window sizing and font relationships. I would like to use a graphical tile set, but to make those large enough to see reasonably well, the font then gets really large. I used to play this regularly on XP without any problems - the terminal would show additional columns instead of resizing the existing columns. (I guess, then, that the graphics tiles wouldn't increase in size, like I am desiring on the Mac in order to make them more visible.)

If you could remove the font elements from the window (specifically the character stats on the left), then you could just show those in a separate window (each term window can be individually sized/font-sized). But it doesn't look like you can. In the windowing options the main term window doesn't have ANY options turned on that you can then turn off.

-- J

Last edited by Cronk; May 20, 2013 at 17:04. Reason: misspelling
Cronk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 25, 2013, 06:58   #23
DaviddesJ
Swordsman
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Burlingame CA
Age: 56
Posts: 254
DaviddesJ is on a distinguished road
So, there's no way at all in the Mac version to change the number of rows and columns in any of the windows? In addition to seeing a larger area in the main window, one of the things I really miss (compared to the Windows version I used to play) is being able to have other windows that take up only enough space for the information I need to see in them.

Any timetable for when this might be fixed? If modifying the behavior when I resize the window is too hard, what about pref file options that would let us specify the number of rows and columns in each window?
DaviddesJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 25, 2013, 07:05   #24
Derakon
Prophet
 
Derakon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 9,023
Derakon is on a distinguished road
The timetable is "as soon as someone who has a clue how the Cocoa frontend works can get in there and figure out how to fix it." Unfortunately nobody on the regular dev team (i.e. the kind of people who could commit to any kind of regular time frame) is qualified for the job, nor are any of them willing to put in the kind of time and effort needed to become qualified. Frontend work is not very popular at the best of times.

Molybdenum showed up out of nowhere to offer to work on the problem; that was six days ago, so it's a bit early to start asking if anything's come of it. So don't give up hope.
Derakon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 2013, 00:17   #25
Derakon
Prophet
 
Derakon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 9,023
Derakon is on a distinguished road
Double-posting so people will see this; I put a copy of a nightly build up using the Carbon build (so, the version where resizing the window adds more rows/columns). This is current as of May 19th; it may be buggy but in my play I haven't noticed many issues. Better than people running 3.3.2, anyway. There will be some changes compared to 3.4; I don't have a change summary handy.
Derakon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 2013, 01:15   #26
Nick
Vanilla maintainer
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Canberra, Australia
Age: 54
Posts: 8,261
Donated: $60
Nick will become famous soon enough
...and there's a Carbon build for actual 3.4.1 here.
__________________
One for the Dark Lord on his dark throne
In the Land of Mordor where the Shadows lie.
Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 2013, 01:42   #27
Pete Mack
Prophet
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 5,698
Donated: $40
Pete Mack is on a distinguished road
I used to think Apple was more friendly to devs than MSoft, but no longer. Apple now requires that you learn a really strange dialect to write any program for their OS.

MS is bad, but not (yet) as bad as that. (Except for Metro and RT. Those are seriously screwed up for casual developers.)
Pete Mack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 2013, 10:18   #28
scud
Swordsman
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Sarf Laaaahdon
Posts: 323
scud is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Derakon View Post
Double-posting so people will see this; I put a copy of a nightly build up using the Carbon build (so, the version where resizing the window adds more rows/columns).
Excellent, thank you, etc.

*starts new game as priest*

Re bugs, are you interested in problems with Carbon or should us OSXers hold fire until Cocoa?

Last edited by scud; May 26, 2013 at 10:28. Reason: Edited for stupidity
scud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 2013, 10:54   #29
Nick
Vanilla maintainer
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Canberra, Australia
Age: 54
Posts: 8,261
Donated: $60
Nick will become famous soon enough
Quote:
Originally Posted by scud View Post
Re bugs, are you interested in problems with Carbon or should us OSXers hold fire until Cocoa?
Hey, if you find any, you may as well report them. Doesn't do any harm, makes you feel like you're contributing, etc. Someone may even fix them.
__________________
One for the Dark Lord on his dark throne
In the Land of Mordor where the Shadows lie.
Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 2013, 03:26   #30
scud
Swordsman
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Sarf Laaaahdon
Posts: 323
scud is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick View Post
...and there's a Carbon build for actual 3.4.1 here.
Wow. This seems significantly tougher than 3.3.2. Dwarf Priest Stumbo #1 managed to get killed by a mercenary walking to the shops. Stumbo #7 (or so) has made it to CL27/DL30 and has just found a ring of damage that takes him up to 30 points per round. Beorn is going to have to wait a while!

The *big* difference for me is the detoothing of the Ring of the Dog; previously I'd regularly wear two of them for the damage boost.

Compared to 3.3.2 there seem to be far fewer ego items around the place, and it appears that heavy armour is much more detrimental to SP than before. Potions of +/– are very thin on the ground, too.

You bastards.

One thing which does strike me a slightly 'buggy': as soon as I'd acquired a lantern all the flasks of oil seemed to disappear. I've actually had to return to base *twice* to fill up, having been through the full 15k of fuel. Not a problem now because I'm finding other lanterns fairly regularly, but I can't remember the last time I found a flask of oil in the wild.
scud is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to use large screen size? kicker Vanilla 13 May 23, 2012 02:22
Bug in ladder-show.php Pete Mack Oook! 1 May 12, 2010 08:50
blank screen r1796 Faust Vanilla 5 November 30, 2009 16:01
[Iron] Show flavors for known objects ekolis Variants 5 February 27, 2008 08:54
[FA] overview doesn't show anything when using graphics petebull Variants 1 May 2, 2007 20:51


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:16.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.