Angband.oook.cz
Angband.oook.cz
AboutVariantsLadderForumCompetitionComicScreenshotsFunniesLinks

Go Back   Angband Forums > Angband > Vanilla

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old May 1, 2015, 18:35   #1
rubjo
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 5
rubjo is on a distinguished road
Question Graphics on OSX

Greetings, fellow adventurers

I have enjoyed playing Angband and other roguelikes since the days of Moria on my old Amiga. Die-hard ascii users will of course scorn at this, but I have always preferred graphic tiles.

I might be missing something really obvious and stated clearly in some documentation or in-game help here, but how can I use reasonably big tiles (I prefer Shockbolt's) together with a font size and font tracking that doesn't waste half my screen estate for character stats and other text?

I seem to remember something called tile multiplier in previous versions / other roguelikes. Do I have to compile my own Angband version from source to be able to play with this functionality?
rubjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3, 2015, 21:20   #2
ngoclong19
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Here, the forum
Posts: 8
ngoclong19 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by rubjo View Post
Greetings, fellow adventurers

I have enjoyed playing Angband and other roguelikes since the days of Moria on my old Amiga. Die-hard ascii users will of course scorn at this, but I have always preferred graphic tiles.

I might be missing something really obvious and stated clearly in some documentation or in-game help here, but how can I use reasonably big tiles (I prefer Shockbolt's) together with a font size and font tracking that doesn't waste half my screen estate for character stats and other text?

I seem to remember something called tile multiplier in previous versions / other roguelikes. Do I have to compile my own Angband version from source to be able to play with this functionality?
I think it's in Options->Graphics->Tile Multiplier on Windows, maybe the same for OSX.
ngoclong19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3, 2015, 22:41   #3
myshkin
Angband Devteam member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 334
myshkin is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by rubjo View Post
I might be missing something really obvious and stated clearly in some documentation or in-game help here, but how can I use reasonably big tiles (I prefer Shockbolt's) together with a font size and font tracking that doesn't waste half my screen estate for character stats and other text?

I seem to remember something called tile multiplier in previous versions / other roguelikes. Do I have to compile my own Angband version from source to be able to play with this functionality?
Which version are you playing, and what font face and size are you using? For me, switching between ASCII and any of the tilesets doesn't change window size or glyph size.
myshkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 4, 2015, 17:32   #4
rubjo
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 5
rubjo is on a distinguished road
Thank you both for replying. I should have tried the Windows version before asking - the menu options for graphics are different here, complete with tile multiplier and all. I guess the OS X port doesn't have this possibility (yet). I have tried both the current 3.5.1 and latest 4 beta.

No worries, I'll just use the Windows version.
rubjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 1, 2019, 15:14   #5
rubjo
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 5
rubjo is on a distinguished road
Any updates here?

After some time away from Angband, I wanted to try the latest version.

Is there still no way of setting tile size/multiplier in the Mac build of the game?
rubjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 1, 2019, 17:34   #6
bio_hazard
Knight
 
bio_hazard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 618
bio_hazard is on a distinguished road
It's not tile multiplier per se, but if you go settings>Edit Font and select a larger font, it will also make the tiles larger.
bio_hazard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 1, 2019, 22:55   #7
rubjo
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 5
rubjo is on a distinguished road
Yes, I have seen that, but (as I imagine anyone would want) I would like to keep the left-hand stats text small while increasing the tile size. Being able to lock the tile aspect ratio to square, independently from the aspect ratio of the font height/width would be good too, if possible. But I guess it is not.
rubjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 5, 2019, 21:26   #8
Nick
Vanilla maintainer
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Canberra, Australia
Age: 54
Posts: 7,842
Donated: $60
Nick will become famous soon enough
I've filed this as a bug, but I have some doubts about my ability to resolve it (most of the work on the Mac port has been done by other people). I'm also finding the Mac port generally a bit laggy and unstable; I will have a look at this some time, but I can't promise when.
__________________
One for the Dark Lord on his dark throne
In the Land of Mordor where the Shadows lie.
Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 9, 2019, 09:55   #9
backwardsEric
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 11
backwardsEric is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick View Post
I've filed this as a bug, but I have some doubts about my ability to resolve it (most of the work on the Mac port has been done by other people). I'm also finding the Mac port generally a bit laggy and unstable; I will have a look at this some time, but I can't promise when.
The "overdraw cache" used currently does have the potential to render the same grid location multiple times depending on how many times text_hook is invoked to update a row. When porting the Cocoa interface to Hengband, the "overdraw cache" didn't work so I used an approach of noting the changes requested by the text_hook, pict_hook, and wipe_hook calls but did all the actual drawing when xtra_hook was called with TERM_XTRA_FRESH. Putting those changes back into Angband makes the drawing somewhat more efficient - at least according to profiling results of a half-troll warrior blundering around 650'-1000'. Though, for me, both stock 4.2.0 and the modified version felt good enough on the hardware I have.

The changes to main-cocoa.m, from git format-patch, are attached. They do have the disadvantage of taking up more screen real estate to show the same information: the rectangle for one grid location will typically be two pixels wider and taller than in 4.2.0. The changes also don't do anything to address the request to allow the tile size to be separated from the text size.

The profiling results are below. All used an 80 x 24 main window in 13 pt Verdana Bold along with message and inventory windows, both in 10 pt Verdana Bold. The show_target and hp_changes_color display options were on; other system-independent display options were off. The hardware was an early 2015 MacBook Pro (13' Retina, Intel Iris Graphics 6100). The XCode Instruments, either Counters or Time Profiler, were run with the default options. No attempt was made to keep the rendered content the same between runs - the half-troll warrior got progressively deeper in the dungeon and acquired better light sources and telepathy along the way.

Code:
                                         % of total time in Term_fresh() and its children
Instrument        Tiles       Run#       4.2.0  Modified
Counters          None        1          19.7%  11.2%
Counters          None        2          22.0%  13.8%
Counters          Original    1          22.2%  17.8%
Time Profiler     None        1          21.2%  18.1%
Attached Files
File Type: zip updated-cocoa-rendering-patch.txt.zip (11.3 KB, 4 views)
backwardsEric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 9, 2019, 11:58   #10
Nick
Vanilla maintainer
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Canberra, Australia
Age: 54
Posts: 7,842
Donated: $60
Nick will become famous soon enough
Quote:
Originally Posted by backwardsEric View Post
The changes to main-cocoa.m, from git format-patch, are attached. They do have the disadvantage of taking up more screen real estate to show the same information: the rectangle for one grid location will typically be two pixels wider and taller than in 4.2.0. The changes also don't do anything to address the request to allow the tile size to be separated from the text size.
Thanks, I'll add those in some time.

While I have the attention of someone with current macOS programming knowledge - I don't suppose you have any idea why the lore.txt and window.prf files are filing to rewrite on Catalina, do you? I suspect it's not liking writing lore.txt.new when lore.txt already exists, but am not sure. I think I have a couple of ideas for a workaround, but any extra info would help.
__________________
One for the Dark Lord on his dark throne
In the Land of Mordor where the Shadows lie.
Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
font size, graphics, text size, tiles


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
v4 osx crash saarn v4 5 June 19, 2012 16:50
Cocoa build on OSX Derakon Development 9 December 21, 2011 23:33
getting started on OSX cinereaste Development 8 August 6, 2010 05:13
OSX Tileset help? ZorroRoaster Variants 1 March 31, 2009 01:09
Graphics glitch in OSX version willpax Vanilla 5 January 15, 2009 15:07


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:33.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.