Angband.oook.cz
Angband.oook.cz
AboutVariantsLadderForumCompetitionComicScreenshotsFunniesLinks

Go Back   Angband Forums > Angband > Variants

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old August 3, 2020, 02:15   #51
CyclopsSlayer
Swordsman
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 365
CyclopsSlayer is on a distinguished road
I always play with auto-center map ON, otherwise deeper there are things that can all too easily one-shot you from off map.
Using run down a long corridor has led to a ton of near-death encounters and many deadly ones.
CyclopsSlayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 5, 2020, 19:13   #52
CyclopsSlayer
Swordsman
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 365
CyclopsSlayer is on a distinguished road
An odd and very specific Bug,

I recently started an Archer under salmiak and and went to manage my quiver, only to find I cannot.
On other characters 'i' 'e' 't' give the options Inventory|Equipment|Quiver (except for t).
On the Archer, only Inventory|Equipment show.
I can swap the quiver with another quiver, add arrows to it, fire arrows from it, but cannot take the quiver off, remove or sell arrows from it.

edit: Also, the arrows in the quiver cannot be enchanted by scroll or shop.
CyclopsSlayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 5, 2020, 21:06   #53
Sideways
Knight
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 666
Sideways is on a distinguished road
I can't reproduce your problem with Archer quivers. There is a known bug with 'floor' sometimes not showing as an option in the object prompt when it ought to, but this sounds unrelated to that. This behavior is what I'd expect from a character with no quiver or no ammo in their quiver, but if you're switching quivers and firing ammo from them I presume that's not the case here. The only other thing I can think of is that either your quiver or the ammo in it have somehow had their locations corrupted so the game thinks they aren't actually equipped, though I have no idea how that could happen (or even if it would produce symptoms like this, rather than, say, a plain crash).

Did the problem only appear some time into the game, or immediately the first time you put ammo in your quiver? Can you drop or unequip the quiver if you shoot away all the ammo in it?
__________________
The Complainer worries about the lack of activity here these days.
Sideways is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 6, 2020, 00:49   #54
CyclopsSlayer
Swordsman
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 365
CyclopsSlayer is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sideways View Post
Did the problem only appear some time into the game, or immediately the first time you put ammo in your quiver? Can you drop or unequip the quiver if you shoot away all the ammo in it?
I honestly didn't check until I had the ability to Craft arrows and had reached Clvl12. I made 40some Sheaf arrows and wanted to add them to my then full quiver. Arrows (0, 0) Quiver was a 60 space. When I noticed the issue I tried to change quiver, the only one for sale was size 70. The 70 vanished and the old 60 appeared in my inv. The issue persisted.

edit: Just made a new Archer (Female, Demigod-Artemis, Lucky) This one started with a size 80 Quiver that does not appear, bought a new size 60 quiver and can swap them back and forth. While never showing on the listings.

My base game must be corrupted, I'll DL a fresh copy do a fresh install later today.

edit2: I DL'd the frogcomposband-7.1.salmiak-win.zip package and the problem persists. Try installing an instance of that and see it that shows the issue to you as well?

edit3: I DL'd the Exe and Source code separately. Combined them and the issues still persists. Reinstalled 'chocolate' and the quiver showed. So the compiles seem to have an issue?

Last edited by CyclopsSlayer; August 6, 2020 at 01:06.
CyclopsSlayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 6, 2020, 02:52   #55
HugoTheGreat2011
Veteran
 
HugoTheGreat2011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: East Coast, U.S.
Age: 37
Posts: 1,092
HugoTheGreat2011 is on a distinguished road
Windows 10, right? I am wondering if any other Microsoft Windows users are affected? Be it Windows 10? Windows 8.1? etc.
__________________
My best try at PosChengband 7.0.0's nightmare-mode on Angband.live:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rwAR0WOphUA

Last edited by HugoTheGreat2011; August 6, 2020 at 03:07.
HugoTheGreat2011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 6, 2020, 12:22   #56
Sideways
Knight
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 666
Sideways is on a distinguished road
I cannot reproduce the bug, even in a freshly installed copy of salmiak-win on a lucky female Artemis demigod.
__________________
The Complainer worries about the lack of activity here these days.
Sideways is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 6, 2020, 14:41   #57
CyclopsSlayer
Swordsman
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 365
CyclopsSlayer is on a distinguished road
@HugoTheGreat2011 - Yes, Win10.

@Sideways - Okay, thanks for trying. Might be Win10, but so odd that previous versions worked fine. Ah, well, no Archer for me.
CyclopsSlayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 7, 2020, 03:36   #58
ShadowTechnology
Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 61
ShadowTechnology is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sideways View Post
I cannot reproduce the bug, even in a freshly installed copy of salmiak-win on a lucky female Artemis demigod.
I created a Win 10 Salmiak Lucky Female Demigod Artermis Archer and played up to CL 25 (at Instant Coffee speed) last night. No problems loading/unloading or changing quivers. Having fun so I think I'll keep going.
ShadowTechnology is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 7, 2020, 03:56   #59
CyclopsSlayer
Swordsman
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 365
CyclopsSlayer is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShadowTechnology View Post
I created a Win 10 Salmiak Lucky Female Demigod Artermis Archer and played up to CL 25 (at Instant Coffee speed) last night. No problems loading/unloading or changing quivers. Having fun so I think I'll keep going.
Damn, so what could possibly be wrong on my end... mutter, mutter, curse, mutter...
CyclopsSlayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 13, 2020, 10:08   #60
Saeldanya
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 4
Saeldanya is on a distinguished road
Edit: moved to a new thread, as it was in the wrong place.

Last edited by Saeldanya; August 13, 2020 at 15:13.
Saeldanya is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
frogcomposband


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[Announce] FrogComposband 7.1.liquorice released Sideways Variants 115 July 21, 2020 15:07
[Announce] FrogComposband 7.1.chocolate released Sideways Variants 86 February 23, 2020 01:04
[Announce] FrogComposband 7.1.toffee released Sideways Variants 129 July 18, 2019 14:22
[Announce] FrogComposband 7.0.nougat released Sideways Variants 152 November 6, 2018 12:16
[Announce] FrogComposband 7.0.mango released Sideways Variants 133 August 3, 2018 10:53


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:50.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.