Angband.oook.cz
Angband.oook.cz
AboutVariantsLadderForumCompetitionComicScreenshotsFunniesLinks

Go Back   Angband Forums > Angband > Vanilla

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old August 23, 2020, 05:38   #1
Egavactip
Swordsman
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 361
Egavactip is on a distinguished road
"Doesn't affect granite" bug?

So I'm playing a Dunadan Blackguard right now, with a Trident of Westernesse, and when I view this item, it says it doesn't affect granite.

However, I seem to be able to tunnel through granite very easily. So far as I know, I have no other items that would give my weapon tunneling (though the weapon display should reflect it if I did).

So is there a bug that doesn't show a tunneling bonus on some items, or is there a bug that gives an undeserved tunnel bonus or is there some other bug or am I going crazy?
Egavactip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 23, 2020, 05:41   #2
wobbly
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 2,375
wobbly is on a distinguished road
Are you carrying a weapon in the inventory that can dig through granite? You can dig from a pack item these days, it just uses your best digger.
wobbly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 23, 2020, 06:20   #3
Egavactip
Swordsman
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 361
Egavactip is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by wobbly View Post
Are you carrying a weapon in the inventory that can dig through granite? You can dig from a pack item these days, it just uses your best digger.
Yes, I have a shovel. Why does Angband let you dig with an item you are not wielding? That doesn't make any sense!
Egavactip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 23, 2020, 06:40   #4
Nick
Vanilla maintainer
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Canberra, Australia
Age: 55
Posts: 8,463
Donated: $60
Nick will become famous soon enough
Quote:
Originally Posted by Egavactip View Post
Yes, I have a shovel. Why does Angband let you dig with an item you are not wielding? That doesn't make any sense!
It just automates the swapping process - no real gameplay change.
__________________
One for the Dark Lord on his dark throne
In the Land of Mordor where the Shadows lie.
Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 23, 2020, 06:40   #5
wobbly
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 2,375
wobbly is on a distinguished road
Why can you shoot while holding sword & shield? I remember the days of swapping. It was just yesterday, as I played Crawl. Why can you use a staff from the pack? Or drink a potion, read a scroll. How much extra UI hassle do you want and why?
wobbly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 23, 2020, 17:06   #6
invisibletroll
Scout
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Posts: 25
invisibletroll is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by wobbly View Post
Why can you shoot while holding sword & shield? I remember the days of swapping. It was just yesterday, as I played Crawl. Why can you use a staff from the pack? Or drink a potion, read a scroll. How much extra UI hassle do you want and why?
IMHO Crawl has much less swapping and even less grinding. Automatic weapon swapping should be an option that can be turned off. Don't make assumptions what players want to do...
invisibletroll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 23, 2020, 17:36   #7
mrfy
Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 240
mrfy is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by invisibletroll View Post
IMHO Crawl has much less swapping and even less grinding. Automatic weapon swapping should be an option that can be turned off. Don't make assumptions what players want to do...
I can't imagine ever wanting automatic weapon swapping turned off.
mrfy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old August 23, 2020, 17:42   #8
archolewa
Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Midwest
Age: 32
Posts: 185
archolewa is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrfy View Post
I can't imagine ever wanting automatic weapon swapping turned off.

Having put a few hours into Crawl myself, I cam say its pretty terrible. The only ranges weapons Ive ever used in that game are tomahawks and javelins, because you use those with a melee weapon equipped.

Swapping is just. That. Tedious.

Dont agree about less swapping though. I only ever shuffle my gear in Angband when I find something new, so I experiment with different loadouts the new gear may unlock. In Crawl Im swapping out gear based on what branch Im about to visit. Not quite as tedious as swapping weapons, but pretty ckose.
archolewa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 23, 2020, 17:46   #9
invisibletroll
Scout
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Posts: 25
invisibletroll is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrfy View Post
I can't imagine ever wanting automatic weapon swapping turned off.
I can. It takes time to change the weapon while some monster might lurk on you.
invisibletroll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 23, 2020, 18:00   #10
invisibletroll
Scout
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Posts: 25
invisibletroll is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by archolewa View Post
Having put a few hours into Crawl myself, I cam say its pretty terrible. The only ranges weapons Ive ever used in that game are tomahawks and javelins, because you use those with a melee weapon equipped.

Swapping is just. That. Tedious.

Dont agree about less swapping though. I only ever shuffle my gear in Angband when I find something new, so I experiment with different loadouts the new gear may unlock. In Crawl Im swapping out gear based on what branch Im about to visit. Not quite as tedious as swapping weapons, but pretty ckose.
Well, blowguns were removed in 0.25 and needles replaced with throwing darts.
Sounds borg to me if everything would be autoswapped.
Angband keys are simply archaic.
invisibletroll is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bug: "n" not counted as a non-"ESC" key chikinn Vanilla 3 November 8, 2014 22:34
Sil 1.2.1 bug - viewport shakes when moving with "center map continuously" option tungtn Sil 0 January 21, 2014 08:41
Bug with "Turn" in the "Player History" dump bron Vanilla 3 January 17, 2014 16:35
Bug: "Find Traps, Doors & Stairs" doesn't work on chests Raggy Vanilla 26 June 29, 2011 13:28
"Great" drops replaced by "good" drops in vaults: bug or feature? PowerWyrm Vanilla 14 February 27, 2010 15:54


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 17:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.