AboutVariantsLadderForumCompetitionComicScreenshotsFunniesLinks

Go Back   Angband Forums > Angband > Vanilla

Old August 31, 2020, 05:09   #1
Angdrim
Rookie

Angdrim is on a distinguished road
Returning to the dungeon

Hello All,

I'm new here, but not new to Angband. I started playing in the mid/late 90s. The version I was playing was probably something around 2.7, although I don't actually remember the number. After playing on-and-off for about ten years, in 2005 or so I finally had a winning character (still playing the old version from the 90s). After that I stopped playing Angband.

Fifteen years later the coronavirus hit, and I was bored at home, and Angband used to be my favorite computer game, so I downloaded the new version. I've been playing 4.2.0 for several months, and already have a pair of winning characters, including an ironman win. (Human paladin and elf rogue, respectively.)

It's still basically the same game that I remember, but there have been some pretty shocking changes. My first reaction is that it feels like Angband on amphetamines. Everything comes at you more quickly. You can dive faster and get better stuff earlier and more frequently. No more spending the first day or so of a new @ throwing iron spikes at white worm masses.

The net effect of the differences between 2.?.? and 4.2.0 is to make the game MUCH easier.

I'm curious to see how accurate my recollections of the old game are, so I tried to download 2.7.4, but it won't run on my computer. Probably because it was written for Windows 95 (or whatever). Does anybody know how to get a copy of an old version that will run on Windows 10?

Thanks in advance. I'm glad to be back.
Angdrim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 31, 2020, 06:56   #2
Selkie
Rookie

Selkie is on a distinguished road
I'd forgotten about iron spikes. I seem to remember jamming doors shut with them for some reason.
Selkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 31, 2020, 08:30   #3
fph
Knight