Angband.oook.cz
Angband.oook.cz
AboutVariantsLadderForumCompetitionComicScreenshotsFunniesLinks

Go Back   Angband Forums > Angband > Vanilla

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old November 13, 2009, 20:22   #1
Modeco
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 6
Modeco is on a distinguished road
Can't load savefile on linux.

Hello

I have a weird problem playing (or rather trying to play) v3.0.9b (and also 3.1.1.1626) on Ubuntu 9.04. The game always starts with new character creation, no matter what I do.
As far as I know, the game should load ~/.angband/Angband/save/<uid>.<username> by default. It doesn't. I can save the game and the savefile exists in correct location, but loading simply doesn't work.

At first I thought that it's a bug in beta, so I compiled stable version. Still didn't work, so I thought that probably just my compilation sucks, I removed everything and installed angband package, the one which comes in Ubuntu repository. This one doesn't work either.
Perhaps I'm doing something wrong, I haven't play on Linux for a while, but I clearly remember that older version loaded savefile without doing anything special

I'd appreciate any help or suggestions on what I may be doing wrong.
Modeco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 13, 2009, 20:25   #2
Magnate
Angband Devteam member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 5,060
Magnate is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to Magnate Send a message via Yahoo to Magnate
Have you tried explicitly loading the savefile with the -u option?
Magnate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 13, 2009, 20:28   #3
Modeco
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 6
Modeco is on a distinguished road
Yep, I did. Of course it doesn't work, but the option itself works - if I use it, the savefile is created with the name specified.
Modeco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 13, 2009, 20:38   #4
Magnate
Angband Devteam member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 5,060
Magnate is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to Magnate Send a message via Yahoo to Magnate
Quote:
Originally Posted by Modeco View Post
Yep, I did. Of course it doesn't work, but the option itself works - if I use it, the savefile is created with the name specified.
Is it just a duff saveile? Or if you create a savefile with that method, it's not read back in??
Magnate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 13, 2009, 20:41   #5
Modeco
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 6
Modeco is on a distinguished road
Well, I have no idea if it's read or not. It just doesn't work if I restart the game with -u<name> again.
Modeco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 13, 2009, 21:18   #6
Nick
Vanilla maintainer
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Canberra, Australia
Age: 55
Posts: 8,763
Donated: $60
Nick will become famous soon enough
That's odd, and annoying. I have played successfully on Ubuntu 9.04 for some time (although I've gone to 9.10 now). From you description, I can't see what is going wrong. The fact that multiple versions fail makes it sound like something to do with your system setup. A few random thoughts:
  • Did you compile with './configure', 'make'. 'sudo make install' ?
  • Does 'which angband' tell you /usr/local/bin/angband ?
  • Are your permissions set up unusually?
  • If all else fails, does faangband work?
__________________
One for the Dark Lord on his dark throne
In the Land of Mordor where the Shadows lie.
Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 13, 2009, 21:30   #7
Modeco
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 6
Modeco is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick View Post
  • Did you compile with './configure', 'make'. 'sudo make install' ?
  • Does 'which angband' tell you /usr/local/bin/angband ?
  • Are your permissions set up unusually?
  • If all else fails, does faangband work?
I compiled with ./configure --enable-gtk, make, sudo make install.
Executable location is correct, nothing unusual with permissions.
And I've just compiled Faangband the same way - it works. Now I also noticed that Angband is missing the startup screen, everytime I run it, it jumps directly to character creation.
Modeco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 13, 2009, 21:33   #8
d_m
Angband Devteam member
 
d_m's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Philadelphia, PA, USA
Age: 40
Posts: 1,516
d_m is on a distinguished road
And you are sure that the mtime of the new angband install is consistent with it being installed correctly? You might want to try a custom install prefix (e.g. ./configure --prefix ~/angtest) and then run ~/angtest/bin/angband explicitly.

Is your system 32-bit? 64-bit? I assume it's x86 or compatible?

It's good news that faangband works at least.
__________________
linux->xterm->screen->pmacs
d_m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 13, 2009, 21:57   #9
Modeco
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 6
Modeco is on a distinguished road
Ups, i forgot to add that I use amd64 version of Ubuntu.
I did some additional tests, it looks like gtk build is breaking all loading options. I tried building the ncurses and x11 versions, both worked just fine. As soon as I add --enable-gtk, it breaks the executable, it won't load saves anymore, even if I run it as x11 from the commandline.
I'm upgrading Ubuntu to the latest version right now, to see if that will help. At least now I can play while waiting
Modeco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 13, 2009, 23:01   #10
PowerDiver
Prophet
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,712
PowerDiver is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Modeco View Post
Ups, i forgot to add that I use amd64 version of Ubuntu.
I did some additional tests, it looks like gtk build is breaking all loading options. I tried building the ncurses and x11 versions, both worked just fine. As soon as I add --enable-gtk, it breaks the executable, it won't load saves anymore, even if I run it as x11 from the commandline.
I'm upgrading Ubuntu to the latest version right now, to see if that will help. At least now I can play while waiting
Is there any setuid or setgid going on? ISTR one of the packages, perhaps gtk but I am not sure, not allowing setuid processes to work properly.
PowerDiver is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Savefile Migration EvilMarshmallow Vanilla 9 May 20, 2009 16:39
Save/load bugs in r1156 CunningGabe Vanilla 11 February 12, 2009 14:35
SLOW load on Vista64 Orillian Vanilla 2 February 8, 2009 00:37
[3.1.0] Savefile bug? CunningGabe Vanilla 2 January 16, 2009 02:37
Savefile breakage happening soon takkaria Vanilla 11 May 17, 2008 18:04


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:40.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.