Angband.oook.cz
Angband.oook.cz
AboutVariantsLadderForumCompetitionComicScreenshotsFunniesLinks

Go Back   Angband Forums > Angband > Vanilla

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old August 2, 2007, 07:40   #1
Skeeblix
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 11
Skeeblix is on a distinguished road
Is it just me?

Have I just stayed awake a bit too long, or are dungeon levels smaller compared to previous versions. I'm not sure if it's just me, but things feel a bit smaller than they used to. Also, I haven't really had much of a chance to look at the changelog so I have no idea.
Skeeblix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 2, 2007, 13:23   #2
takkaria
Veteran
 
takkaria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,947
Donated: $40
takkaria is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skeeblix View Post
Have I just stayed awake a bit too long, or are dungeon levels smaller compared to previous versions. I'm not sure if it's just me, but things feel a bit smaller than they used to. Also, I haven't really had much of a chance to look at the changelog so I have no idea.
No difference. (Assuming you're playing 3.0.9.)
takkaria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 2, 2007, 18:27   #3
Bill Peterson
Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Flyover country
Posts: 139
Bill Peterson is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to Bill Peterson
At first glance, comparing generate.c for 3.0.9 and 3.0.6, it appears thqat you've eliminated the "align dungeon rooms" code. That could certainly produce levels with fewer rooms.

Is this one of the options that was eliminated in the great sweep of changes?
Bill Peterson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 2, 2007, 18:48   #4
takkaria
Veteran
 
takkaria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,947
Donated: $40
takkaria is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Peterson View Post
At first glance, comparing generate.c for 3.0.9 and 3.0.6, it appears thqat you've eliminated the "align dungeon rooms" code. That could certainly produce levels with fewer rooms.

Is this one of the options that was eliminated in the great sweep of changes?
Yup. Hadn't thought of that.
takkaria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 3, 2007, 08:35   #5
Skeeblix
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 11
Skeeblix is on a distinguished road
Okay, it makes much more sense now. I was wondering why I was seeing fewer rooms. Looking back over things, it is in fact still all the same size, but I guess the elimination of the old code and the fewer rooms often produced by this, it makes levels feel a little less open.
Skeeblix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 6, 2007, 16:43   #6
Magnate
Angband Devteam member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 5,060
Magnate is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to Magnate Send a message via Yahoo to Magnate
Quote:
Originally Posted by takkaria View Post
Yup. Hadn't thought of that.
Am I just being dim or is that counterintuitive? Surely having to align rooms would produce fewer rooms, because they wouldn't be placed if they didn't align. Surely turning off align_rooms should lead to more rooms, not fewer?

I don't understand.

CC
Magnate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 6, 2007, 18:04   #7
Nameless
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 24
Nameless is on a distinguished road
It's counterintuitive, but it also seems to be true in my experience. I haven't researched the code to say why.
Nameless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 6, 2007, 18:39   #8
Bill Peterson
Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Flyover country
Posts: 139
Bill Peterson is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to Bill Peterson
Quote:
Originally Posted by Magnate View Post
Am I just being dim or is that counterintuitive? Surely having to align rooms would produce fewer rooms, because they wouldn't be placed if they didn't align. Surely turning off align_rooms should lead to more rooms, not fewer?

I don't understand.

CC
No, I believe I was being hasty in ascribing the reported problem to the observed difference in generate.c between 3.0.6 and 3.0.9. Further invstigation has succeded in muddying the waters once again.

I built a test character and generated a bunch of levels, using debug mode to cast clairvoyance. With the align rooms code activated or not the levels generated by 3.0.9 looked about the same. But going back to 3.0.6, the dungeon levels appear to be much more closely packed than 3.0.9. There's definitely been a change in the level generation behavior between the two versions, but just comparing the one file, generate.c, doesn't account for the change. Curious, as I thought that code was pretty much self contained.

Bill
Bill Peterson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 6, 2007, 18:48   #9
takkaria
Veteran
 
takkaria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,947
Donated: $40
takkaria is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by takkaria View Post
Yup. Hadn't thought of that.
FWIW, that comment was just noting that I'd forgotten there had been any level generation changes. Not that it was necessarily responsible for any odd behaviour -- the game being random as it is, it's hard to work out what might cause such behaviour, or even that such behaviour isn't just fluke.
takkaria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 7, 2007, 01:47   #10
Daven_26d1
Adept
 
Daven_26d1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: North of England.
Posts: 211
Daven_26d1 is on a distinguished road
Its been said in the past that non-aligned rooms can result in fewer greater vaults, because the innefficient use of space means that its less likely agenerated room of a given size will have a viable space to go into.

If this is correct, than presumably this effect would be found with smaller rooms also; as long as the room was larger than the potential variance from the grid line which would presumably be half the distance between two of them. How much you would really notice something like this is difficult to gauge.

I have to say, however that I started playing in V again only in recent months, and it seems small to me too. I play without alignment anyway, was there a recent(ish) version where default map sizes were altered?
__________________
You sold a Broken Sword (1d2) (-2,-4) {average} (j) for 1 gold.
The shopkeeper howls in agony!
You say "Dude, the clue is in the name...".
Daven_26d1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.