Angband.oook.cz
Angband.oook.cz
AboutVariantsLadderForumCompetitionComicScreenshotsFunniesLinks

Go Back   Angband Forums > Angband > Variants

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old February 20, 2010, 01:11   #1
Malak Darkhunter
Knight
 
Malak Darkhunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: US
Age: 43
Posts: 720
Malak Darkhunter is on a distinguished road
Oangband 1.10u

Hey Nick, tried your updated version of Oangband, however the walls do not show up in vista under the no tiles option, so no go. I would change this as I have seen a similar problem in Daj, but I can't seem to get into the win-pref file. Can you fix this please? O is one of my more favorite variants but I haven't been able to play it since I have started using vista.
__________________
let me try this workaround...oh crap computer just went black
Malak Darkhunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20, 2010, 02:25   #2
Nick
Vanilla maintainer
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Canberra, Australia
Age: 55
Posts: 8,474
Donated: $60
Nick will become famous soon enough
I believe that changing to a font other than 8x13 will fix the problem - let me know if it doesn't. IIRC it is not possible to use 8x13 in vista and have block walls.
__________________
One for the Dark Lord on his dark throne
In the Land of Mordor where the Shadows lie.
Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20, 2010, 03:12   #3
Malak Darkhunter
Knight
 
Malak Darkhunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: US
Age: 43
Posts: 720
Malak Darkhunter is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick View Post
I believe that changing to a font other than 8x13 will fix the problem - let me know if it doesn't. IIRC it is not possible to use 8x13 in vista and have block walls.
Believe it or not, none of the fonts worked I tried them all, and surprisingly there wasn't an 8x13 font in there it had 8x12 and 8x12xb though. Even stranger the 16x16 font showed just a black screen.Everything looks fine but no walls.

Another thing of note,( I don't use graphics) but tried that anyway. The old tiles work, but the 16x16 tiles don't work, despite their presence in my lib/xtra/graph/ folder. Any Ideas?
__________________
let me try this workaround...oh crap computer just went black
Malak Darkhunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20, 2010, 07:00   #4
Nick
Vanilla maintainer
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Canberra, Australia
Age: 55
Posts: 8,474
Donated: $60
Nick will become famous soon enough
OK, I'll have to check this out properly. I have a bugfixed version almost ready to go out anyway; I'll try to do that in the next few days.
__________________
One for the Dark Lord on his dark throne
In the Land of Mordor where the Shadows lie.
Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 23, 2010, 06:23   #5
Pete Mack
Prophet
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 5,788
Donated: $40
Pete Mack is on a distinguished road
No walls is a pref file problem, not a font problem, usually.
Pete Mack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 23, 2010, 11:51   #6
Nick
Vanilla maintainer
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Canberra, Australia
Age: 55
Posts: 8,474
Donated: $60
Nick will become famous soon enough
OK, I've uploaded an updated version (windows only so far). Works fine for me on Win 7.

Chief changes: Money in inventory bug is fixed, pref-win.prf updated (ha!), a number of menus have changed to all alphabetic indices (quiver, for example), a few other minor bugs fixed.

At some point I'll adopt to the V build system, and fully update all the versions. Comments, complaints, etc. welcome.
__________________
One for the Dark Lord on his dark throne
In the Land of Mordor where the Shadows lie.
Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 25, 2010, 18:33   #7
jsv
Scout
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Russia
Posts: 27
jsv is on a distinguished road
Hello Nick,

Are O sources with the latest fixes available somewhere?

I've finished my S game and decided to play O next. And it looks like I'm running into some of those "minor bugs" that are already fixed, at least in FA. (Say, in O 1.1.0u file_character crashes if you tell it you do not want to replace existing file. In FA that function's code looks much more sane... and it doesn't crash )
__________________
S(1.0.0 final lf3+) W "Dagrin" L:100 DL:4500' A++ *R* Sp+ w:Mace of Disruption (adamant)
O+/S+/Cr L H++ D/+ c f- PV+ s/- d@ P- M+
C-- !S I- So+ B? ac GHB- SQ RQ+ V/- F:haggling!
jsv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 25, 2010, 20:42   #8
Nick
Vanilla maintainer
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Canberra, Australia
Age: 55
Posts: 8,474
Donated: $60
Nick will become famous soon enough
Quote:
Originally Posted by jsv View Post
Are O sources with the latest fixes available somewhere?
OK, the source .tar.gz file has been updated now too. If you could let me know any fixes you make, that would be wonderful.
__________________
One for the Dark Lord on his dark throne
In the Land of Mordor where the Shadows lie.
Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 26, 2010, 06:28   #9
jsv
Scout
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Russia
Posts: 27
jsv is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick View Post
OK, the source .tar.gz file has been updated now too.
Many thanks.

Quote:
If you could let me know any fixes you make, that would be wonderful.
I've sent you a PM.
__________________
S(1.0.0 final lf3+) W "Dagrin" L:100 DL:4500' A++ *R* Sp+ w:Mace of Disruption (adamant)
O+/S+/Cr L H++ D/+ c f- PV+ s/- d@ P- M+
C-- !S I- So+ B? ac GHB- SQ RQ+ V/- F:haggling!
jsv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 28, 2010, 00:27   #10
Malak Darkhunter
Knight
 
Malak Darkhunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: US
Age: 43
Posts: 720
Malak Darkhunter is on a distinguished road
Is there a link to the newer version? I downloaded the one from here on ook. I still have the same problem with no walls.
What I did to fix that, deleted the windows pref-folder in O and copied the windows pref folder from Angband to O. Now I have Walls.
I do get a error message on startup though....Something like(Error line 1 parsing message of 131). But Everything seems to work okay.



edit that's error 1 in line 119 of file message.prf. parsing m:29
__________________
let me try this workaround...oh crap computer just went black

Last edited by Malak Darkhunter; February 28, 2010 at 00:34.
Malak Darkhunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unofficial Oangband release Nick Variants 101 September 4, 2009 15:47
Black Breath in Oangband jbissell Variants 1 January 21, 2009 06:37
Having fun with Oangband CJNyfalt AAR 13 October 2, 2008 18:18
Oangband screen dumps? tigen Oook! 1 September 16, 2007 10:53
Sangband and Oangband for Mac? Corydon Variants 3 July 27, 2007 22:27


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 17:38.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.