Angband.oook.cz
Angband.oook.cz
AboutVariantsLadderForumCompetitionComicScreenshotsFunniesLinks

Go Back   Angband Forums > Angband > Vanilla

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old June 17, 2009, 04:28   #1
ClaytonAguiar
Scout
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 40
ClaytonAguiar is on a distinguished road
[3.1.0] ID and Stacks (bug? - status?)

Hi,

Playing 3.1.0 (yeah, I know most here call it "old" - but it's the "official release", right?). If you're carrying any id'ed staff (for example, "Staff of Teleport (10 charges)") and find another one, both are merged automatically, and the charges are added (as stacks should work).

Is it a bug? Or a "strange" feature? I tried to search for "stack" in this forum, but the 200+ messages discouraged me.

It's very easy to reproduce.

EDIT: Before 3.1.0, they stacked just after ID'ing both staves.

Last edited by ClaytonAguiar; June 17, 2009 at 04:58.
ClaytonAguiar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 17, 2009, 06:11   #2
PaulBlay
Knight
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 657
PaulBlay is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by ClaytonAguiar View Post
Hi,

Playing 3.1.0 (yeah, I know most here call it "old" - but it's the "official release", right?). If you're carrying any id'ed staff (for example, "Staff of Teleport (10 charges)") and find another one, both are merged automatically, and the charges are added (as stacks should work).

Is it a bug? Or a "strange" feature? I tried to search for "stack" in this forum, but the 200+ messages discouraged me. .
It's as designed. I don't like it much, but I can see the logic (if I squint).
__________________
Currently turning (Angband) Japanese.
PaulBlay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 17, 2009, 08:17   #3
Magnate
Angband Devteam member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 5,060
Magnate is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to Magnate Send a message via Yahoo to Magnate
Quote:
Originally Posted by PaulBlay View Post
It's as designed. I don't like it much, but I can see the logic (if I squint).
It is very painful for using up charges though. You end up carrying huge numbers of devices, when you actually want to drop most of them and keep only one or two with a decent number of charges on. I end up going to great lengths inscribing things so that they won't stack, so that I can empty one and keep a fuller one.

This could be made a lot easier with a "drop empty device" command: if a stack with one fewer would average out at less than the max (or other number of) charges per device, drop an empty one. If not, print an error message saying how many more charges must be used. That way you can keep dropping empties and still have a decent number of charges in the last one.
Magnate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 17, 2009, 09:22   #4
PaulBlay
Knight
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 657
PaulBlay is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Magnate View Post
This could be made a lot easier with a "drop empty device" command: if a stack with one fewer would average out at less than the max (or other number of) charges per device, drop an empty one. If not, print an error message saying how many more charges must be used. That way you can keep dropping empties and still have a decent number of charges in the last one.
I don't want to introduce another command though. How about this:

Wands / staves have a "maximum charge" value. (e.g. a staff of *Destruction* has 1+d3 charges so the maximum charge is 4). If you have more than one staff of *Destruction* and the average number of charges per staff is less than half the maximum charge then assume one of the staves is empty. Automatically split off the empty staves into a separate slot (if no slots are free, drop them).

When shopkeepers buy empty staves the number of staves on sale is not increased (assume they can sell the empty staves back to the original manufacturer for a small deposit).

This way you can't exploit the system (by ending up with one staff of *Destruction* with 30 charges) but you never have to worry about ending up with 30 staves with one charge each. Best of all no additional key pressing is required.

[EDIT] Oh, for the sake of realism it should only be checked when you use a staff / wand, not when you drop or pick up a staff. Otherwise you could get the silly situation where you pick up a staff with one charge and it automatically drops down with zero charges.
__________________
Currently turning (Angband) Japanese.

Last edited by PaulBlay; June 17, 2009 at 10:53.
PaulBlay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 17, 2009, 12:46   #5
ClaytonAguiar
Scout
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 40
ClaytonAguiar is on a distinguished road
Discover number of charges without id?

Hi again.

I know the staves stack and add their charges, like wands. But previous releases of vanilla stacked them just when both staves were id'ed (in other words, when I could see the number of charges of both staves).

The current implementation lets you know the number of charges without id'ing. For me, it's a "half-cheat". Sorry if anybody disagree. It's just my opinion.
ClaytonAguiar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 17, 2009, 14:40   #6
buzzkill
Prophet
 
buzzkill's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Indiana, USA
Posts: 2,939
Donated: $8
buzzkill is on a distinguished road
I'd be careful throwing out words like "half-cheat" around here, without the obligatory smiley face .

Them's fightin' words!
__________________
www.mediafire.com/buzzkill - Get your 32x32 tiles here. UT32 now compatible Ironband and Quickband 9/6/2012.
My banding life on Buzzkill's ladder.
buzzkill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 17, 2009, 17:37   #7
ClaytonAguiar
Scout
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 40
ClaytonAguiar is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by buzzkill View Post
I'd be careful throwing out words like "half-cheat" around here, without the obligatory smiley face .

Them's fightin' words!
Sorry.

I was trying to say that, with this behaviour, I feel almost like cheating, because I get an ID "for free", if comparing to previous releases. But I like it.
ClaytonAguiar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
vanilla bug (kindof a bug anyway) will_asher Development 2 May 9, 2009 08:24
Stacks of Potions/Scrolls Whelk Vanilla 16 April 20, 2009 00:54
The status of Sangband sygoomei Variants 5 February 16, 2009 17:17
Purpose of social status in Vanilla 3.1 Phoenix21692 Vanilla 1 January 13, 2009 17:10
Status of the GPL effort? CJNyfalt Vanilla 28 July 7, 2007 21:56


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:43.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.