Angband.oook.cz
Angband.oook.cz
AboutVariantsLadderForumCompetitionComicScreenshotsFunniesLinks

Go Back   Angband Forums > Angband > Vanilla

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old November 15, 2020, 18:15   #1
sffp
Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: DC Area
Posts: 110
sffp is on a distinguished road
4.2.1 - Necromancer artifacts that have +1 light

So as a necromancer I found an artifact light source that I discarded because I don't want to get hit with a ritual penalty.

But then I found this pretty ring after reading an acquirement scroll:

the Ring 'Telengor' <+5, +3, +1>
Conjured forth by magic at 1600 feet (level 32)

+5 strength.
+3 speed.
+1 light.
It causes your melee attacks to slay animals.
Provides resistance to Acid, Lightning, Light, Dark, Shards,
Nexus, Nether.
Cannot be harmed by Lightning.
Grants the ability to see invisible things.

When activated, it allows you to breathe light or darkness for 200
damage.
Takes 344 to 504 turns to recharge at your current speed.
Your chance of success is 95.1%

I brought this up to the surface to try no and see what kind of hit my rituals would take.

So imagine my surprise when I try it on and the light doesn't affect me. Wearing it my Light still shows +0. My rituals all show the same percentages.

Is this true for all artifacts for necros? Is it because I resist light? Or because I'm not wearing a light source?
sffp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 15, 2020, 21:11   #2
Nick
Vanilla maintainer
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Canberra, Australia
Age: 55
Posts: 8,552
Donated: $60
Nick will become famous soon enough
This was a change in 4.2.1 - necromancers suppress 1 level of magical light on worn items.
__________________
One for the Dark Lord on his dark throne
In the Land of Mordor where the Shadows lie.
Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 16, 2020, 03:27   #3
sffp
Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: DC Area
Posts: 110
sffp is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick View Post
This was a change in 4.2.1 - necromancers suppress 1 level of magical light on worn items.
Oh...
That is good to know.
So most light sources are +3 so can probably be discarded.
But if I have multiple +1 light side gear, I would have to choose.
sffp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 16, 2020, 04:08   #4
Nick
Vanilla maintainer
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Canberra, Australia
Age: 55
Posts: 8,552
Donated: $60
Nick will become famous soon enough
Not quite. If a worn item has a magical bonus to light (so any non-lights, artifact lights or torches/lanterns of brightness), then its contribution to light radius is reduced by 1 for necromancers. So a necromancer could use 5 pieces of gear with +1 light and still have 0 light, where other classes would have light radius 4 (plus player grid) even without a regular light source.
__________________
One for the Dark Lord on his dark throne
In the Land of Mordor where the Shadows lie.
Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 16, 2020, 17:59   #5
sffp
Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: DC Area
Posts: 110
sffp is on a distinguished road
Well - that's great to know. Thanks
sffp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 16, 2020, 18:28   #6
sffp
Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: DC Area
Posts: 110
sffp is on a distinguished road
Hmm... I'm disappointed

I had hoped that a lantern of shadows would be a light item I could wear without penalty.

But that is clearly not the case, now that i've found one.
Vampire Strike goes from 4% to 27% fail.
Ick
sffp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 16, 2020, 19:08   #7
fph
Knight
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Pisa / DL0
Posts: 924
fph is on a distinguished road
Not while they are full. But you can empty them.
__________________
Dive fast, die young, leave a high-CHA corpse.
--
You read a scroll labeled 'lol gtfo' of Teleport Level.
fph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 16, 2020, 19:30   #8
sffp
Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: DC Area
Posts: 110
sffp is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by fph View Post
Not while they are full. But you can empty them.
DOH! That's right, the artifacts don't require fuel, but shadows do - and hence can run out. And that would give that inventory spot some use.

Now i just have to find a regular lantern that I can "Fill" with my lantern of shadows. Unless there's an "E" command with which I can empty my existing lantern
sffp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 16, 2020, 21:57   #9
DavidMedley
Knight
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 828
DavidMedley is on a distinguished road
Last I checked you can fuel am item with itself to empty it.
DavidMedley is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Necromancer Tips Monkey Face Vanilla 15 November 3, 2019 11:55
Necromancer late game MWGE Vanilla 4 October 8, 2019 02:29
Quick necromancer question Sphara Vanilla 18 May 25, 2019 00:54
[PWMAngband] A necromancer in Middle Earth PowerWyrm AAR 68 December 5, 2017 16:14
PosChengband] Necromancer class mechanics TheQuest Variants 12 March 31, 2017 13:45


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:46.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.