Angband.oook.cz
Angband.oook.cz
AboutVariantsLadderForumCompetitionComicScreenshotsFunniesLinks

Go Back   Angband Forums > Angband > Vanilla

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old July 24, 2011, 08:53   #1
relic
Apprentice
 
relic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 76
relic is on a distinguished road
Angband, MacBook and numeric keypad

I am not sure if this thread should be in the Development section but I think it fits better here.


I am having slight (but annoying) problems when playing Angband.

The problem is this:
I bought a MacBook (my first ever laptop,) last autumn and one of the first programs I downloaded was Angband 3.1.2v2. I noticed immediately that it was a real pain playing without a numeric keypad. So I bought a Logitech wireless numeric keypad N305, apparently the only one available, and tried it.

The only thing that worked at first was single step in a keypad direction, but not running, nor commands that wants a direction.

After some thinking I came up with a macro

A:.
P:,

that fixed the running problem, making the game almost playable.

But with every command that requires a direction, (Open, Close, Fire, Disarm etc), I have to use the numeric keys on top of the regular keyboard. If there was a way to make those command recognize the numeric keypad it would be perfect (like some other macro or keymap, that would fix it).

Thanks in advance for any tips or suggestions that can help.
relic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 24, 2011, 16:53   #2
d_m
Angband Devteam member
 
d_m's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Philadelphia, PA, USA
Age: 39
Posts: 1,516
d_m is on a distinguished road
Hi relic,

I want to try out a new feature to see if it helps diagnose this problem.

Basically, I'd like you to start a new character (or make a backup of your savefile) then do the following sequence of keys:

CTRL-a L

This should give you a list of keys you pressed. Without using your macro, I'd like you to try running (or whatever) then use that command to see what the game thought you were doing. The reason you should use a new character is that once you use debug commands you are marked as a cheater.

The problem may be happening at a lower level, but it might be possible to diagnose it this way. Let me know how it goes.
__________________
linux->xterm->screen->pmacs
d_m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 24, 2011, 17:50   #3
relic
Apprentice
 
relic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 76
relic is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by d_m View Post
Hi relic,

I want to try out a new feature to see if it helps diagnose this problem.

Basically, I'd like you to start a new character (or make a backup of your savefile) then do the following sequence of keys:

CTRL-a L

This should give you a list of keys you pressed. Without using your macro, I'd like you to try running (or whatever) then use that command to see what the game thought you were doing. The reason you should use a new character is that once you use debug commands you are marked as a cheater.

The problem may be happening at a lower level, but it might be possible to diagnose it this way. Let me know how it goes.
Well, I created a new character and tried your suggestion. When I try CTRL-a L (uppercase L) the game responds that it is not a valid debug command. I tried with both version 3.1.2v2 and 3.2.0. Maybe I should get an even later version if that debug command is a recent addition. Are there OSX ports of later "nightlies"?
relic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 24, 2011, 18:22   #4
Derakon
Prophet
 
Derakon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 9,023
Derakon is on a distinguished road
This isn't a fix for your problem, just a workaround, but have you tried the roguelike keyset? It's designed to keep your hands on the main island at all times.
Derakon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 24, 2011, 19:09   #5
relic
Apprentice
 
relic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 76
relic is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Derakon View Post
This isn't a fix for your problem, just a workaround, but have you tried the roguelike keyset? It's designed to keep your hands on the main island at all times.
No, actually not. I think that I am a little bit too old to learn a new set keys for commands. I have played with the standard key-set since the late 80:s, (that would be Moria). Also, a number of other games (and even other applications) have used the numeric keypad for directions so it is really ingrained in my brain.

As a last resort I might try it. But what I wonder is how other MacBook users are playing. Are they using the rouge-like key-set, or the standard with the numeric keys on top of the keyboard, or some other solution.
relic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 24, 2011, 19:22   #6
qwerty
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 21
qwerty is on a distinguished road
I use . + arrow keys for the cardinal directions and 1379 for the diagonals, don't find it a problem at all but that's just the way I learnt to run, it may not feel comfortable for you.
qwerty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 24, 2011, 19:26   #7
d_m
Angband Devteam member
 
d_m's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Philadelphia, PA, USA
Age: 39
Posts: 1,516
d_m is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by relic View Post
Well, I created a new character and tried your suggestion. When I try CTRL-a L (uppercase L) the game responds that it is not a valid debug command. I tried with both version 3.1.2v2 and 3.2.0. Maybe I should get an even later version if that debug command is a recent addition. Are there OSX ports of later "nightlies"?
Sorry, yes you'll need to use the nightlies.

http://rephial.org/nightlies/

EDIT: I also run with the period, but I understand that people who are used to running a different way want it to work
__________________
linux->xterm->screen->pmacs
d_m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 24, 2011, 20:17   #8
relic
Apprentice
 
relic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 76
relic is on a distinguished road
Exclamation

Interesting. When trying the latest nightly my numeric keypad works in all ways!! Somewhere along the line some change has made this possible.

Thanks.

If this is because of some change to pref-files, it should be possible to get the same functionality in 3.1.2 and 3.2.0. Otherwise not. Anybody have any guess or knowledge about this?

Why would I care about these "old" versions you may ask? Well, I have started characters for these versions and I would like to continue and see how far I can come with them.

Once again thanks.
relic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 24, 2011, 20:51   #9
d_m
Angband Devteam member
 
d_m's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Philadelphia, PA, USA
Age: 39
Posts: 1,516
d_m is on a distinguished road
There were a lot of changes to key input handling, so sadly I doubt you can fix this issue by backporting the pref files.

Sorry about that, good luck with your older characters, and hopefully you'll enjoy 3.3.0 when it's released!
__________________
linux->xterm->screen->pmacs
d_m is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Reviving Iso-Angband, an isometric view addon for Angband Hajo Development 111 August 3, 2014 19:44
How does one enable the roguelike keyset on a macbook? Svladd Cjelik Vanilla 1 June 25, 2011 02:06
Need solid walls, but ASCII play, macbook Arphod Vanilla 3 January 21, 2011 00:06


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:36.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.