Angband.oook.cz
Angband.oook.cz
AboutVariantsLadderForumCompetitionComicScreenshotsFunniesLinks

Go Back   Angband Forums > Angband > Vanilla

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old July 11, 2014, 17:49   #1
youtoo
Scout
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 31
youtoo is on a distinguished road
macro to swap out weapon

Playing poschengband. Put here since its a macro question. I googled around on macros, but I don't quite get it. All I want to do is be able to swap weapons. I want to equip my pick so I can Tunnel with 1 click, then another to switch back.

also I want to be able to Tunnel until I get through or something moves. I don't want to have to do it over and over again.
youtoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 11, 2014, 23:04   #2
MattB
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Berkshire, UK
Posts: 1,164
MattB is on a distinguished road
Try inscribing both your weapon and tunneller with '@w0' then making a key into the keymap 'w0'. That should work (I think).
MattB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 12, 2014, 19:28   #3
Raxmei
Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 94
Raxmei is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by MattB View Post
Try inscribing both your weapon and tunneller with '@w0' then making a key into the keymap 'w0'. That should work (I think).
w0 is such a commonly used macro that Angband comes with X already bound to it.
Raxmei is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 13, 2014, 00:38   #4
youtoo
Scout
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 31
youtoo is on a distinguished road
how do you make a keymap? I looked in docs and did not see it.

is that what people normally use inscribe for? for macros? I dont know what other macros people use.
youtoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 13, 2014, 00:52   #5
OOD Town drunk
Adept
 
OOD Town drunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Washington state
Age: 36
Posts: 171
OOD Town drunk is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by youtoo View Post
how do you make a keymap? I looked in docs and did not see it.

is that what people normally use inscribe for? for macros? I dont know what other macros people use.
Use the interact with keymaps menu in the options, = key.
Select create a keymap.
Press whatever key you want to hotkey.
Then type out macro.
There is a keystroke to end it. It should tell you. I forget what key it is.

Keymaps are incredibly useful for spellcasters. I like to map my mages primary attack spell to the spacebar, blink to tab, teleport to shift/tab, detection spells to shift/1 shift/2 shift/3, various spells/items to the F1-F12 keys. It will make everything much less tedious. You should also get acquainted with the squelch feature. Streamline everything.
OOD Town drunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 13, 2014, 16:12   #6
Raajaton
Swordsman
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 296
Raajaton is on a distinguished road
Inscriptions can be used for lots of things. Macros are definitely 1 application, but has some others too. As far as macros go, spellcasters can inscribe their spellbooks so that their keybinds will always stay the same. For example inscribing the second mage book with @m2. That book might be b) in your inventory at the moment, but if your first spellbook gets destroyed or stolen and you have a macro to cast teleport using mbf it's not going to work. Using inscript you can set a macro to m2f, and now regardless of what slot that spellbook takes in your inventory, the spell will work every time.

Most other uses are for ease of utilizing resources in your inventory. Maybe you have a rod of detection that you're using all the time. The inventory letter might be changing all the time, and every time you hit z you need to check your inventory to see what slot you need to use. If you inscribe it with @z1, hitting z and then 1 will use that rod regardless of where it sits in the inventory. You can do the same sort of stuff for 'q'uaffing potions, 'u'sing staffs, 'a'iming wands, 'r'eading scrolls and anything else you can think of using from your inventory by inscribing them with an @ and whatever command is used for that particular item.

You can also create message prompts if you want the game to warn you before using an item. Say you want to inscribe a Scroll of Teleportation with @r3, but you're concerned that you might hit it 3 accidentally when attempting to hit 2 to use a Scroll of Satisfy Hunger. You can inscribe that teleportation scroll with @r3!*. Now whenever you hit r3 it will ask you if you're sure you want to use that scroll, and you need to hit y/n.

There are lots of other applications of insriptions, but these are some of the basic uses. By inscribing all the tools you frequently use in your inventory, you can greatly increase your speed of play by removing the need to constantly stare at your inventory.
Raajaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 13, 2014, 16:29   #7
jford_2505@hotmail.com
Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 55
jford_2505@hotmail.com is on a distinguished road
Does anyone know what the inscription is that will warn you each turn whenever you have a particular item equipped?
jford_2505@hotmail.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 13, 2014, 16:53   #8
MattB
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Berkshire, UK
Posts: 1,164
MattB is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raxmei View Post
w0 is such a commonly used macro that Angband comes with X already bound to it.
Actually 'X' is bound to 'w0ss', which makes you switch weapons and then, bizarrely, search twice. I've asked on these forums before, but nobody seems to know why. Presumably there must be a reason...anyone?
MattB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 13, 2014, 22:59   #9
Twilight
Apprentice
 
Twilight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Sweden
Posts: 58
Twilight is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by MattB View Post
Actually 'X' is bound to 'w0ss', which makes you switch weapons and then, bizarrely, search twice. I've asked on these forums before, but nobody seems to know why. Presumably there must be a reason...anyone?
Without checking the pref-files. Are you sure it's not 'w0\s\s' wich adds two spaces after switching to clear more's? That is what it should be otherwise I guess.
__________________
It's better to burn out than to fade away!
Twilight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 14, 2014, 00:03   #10
MattB
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Berkshire, UK
Posts: 1,164
MattB is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Twilight View Post
Without checking the pref-files. Are you sure it's not 'w0\s\s' wich adds two spaces after switching to clear more's? That is what it should be otherwise I guess.
Nope, just 'w0ss' for me, but thanks for answering the question - now I know!
MattB is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
nexus stat swap is abuser dos350 Vanilla 0 July 9, 2014 07:20
inscribing @0 and using 'x' to swap causes me to search intently Vanilla 2 May 30, 2014 23:48
swap weapon and digger dionysian Vanilla 4 March 4, 2012 00:50
Swap stat potions hate me Derakon AAR 2 August 8, 2010 19:11
Swap macros / keymaps / inscriptions PaulBlay Vanilla 3 February 24, 2009 15:16


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 13:24.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.