Angband.oook.cz
Angband.oook.cz
AboutVariantsLadderForumCompetitionComicScreenshotsFunniesLinks

Go Back   Angband Forums > Angband > Vanilla

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old June 18, 2021, 21:52   #1
Kooltone
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2021
Posts: 13
Kooltone is on a distinguished road
How to swap out reload quiver?

I bought a second quiver with 40 arrows for my ranger. But when I run out of arrows from the original quiver, it says I'm out of ammo even though there are tons of arrows in my inventory.

I can't figure out how to get my other arrows, and I died once coming back to town because I "couldn't" shoot.
Kooltone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 18, 2021, 23:45   #2
Nick
Vanilla maintainer
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Canberra, Australia
Age: 56
Posts: 9,169
Donated: $60
Nick will become famous soon enoughNick will become famous soon enough
What do you mean "bought a second quiver"?
__________________
One for the Dark Lord on his dark throne
In the Land of Mordor where the Shadows lie.
Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 19, 2021, 01:27   #3
Kooltone
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2021
Posts: 13
Kooltone is on a distinguished road
I bought extra arrows and they showed up in separate inventory slots. I had something like 20 arrows in one slot and 40 in the other. My quiver is empty at the moment. If I click h or f to fire my bow, it says my quiver is empty. However, if I click i, I get "in quiver: 20 missiles" as the final slot in my inventory.
Kooltone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 19, 2021, 01:56   #4
Nick
Vanilla maintainer
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Canberra, Australia
Age: 56
Posts: 9,169
Donated: $60
Nick will become famous soon enoughNick will become famous soon enough
What sort of bow and arrows do you have?

EDIT:Wow, timing
__________________
One for the Dark Lord on his dark throne
In the Land of Mordor where the Shadows lie.
Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 19, 2021, 01:56   #5
backwardsEric
Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 218
backwardsEric is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kooltone View Post
I bought extra arrows and they showed up in separate inventory slots. I had something like 20 arrows in one slot and 40 in the other. My quiver is empty at the moment. If I click h or f to fire my bow, it says my quiver is empty. However, if I click i, I get "in quiver: 20 missiles" as the final slot in my inventory.
What does pressing 'i' and then '|' (vertical bar; that'll show the items in the quiver) display? If you picked up or bought crossbow bolts or sling shots/pebbles, those would also go into the quiver but can not be fired with your bow.
backwardsEric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 19, 2021, 01:56   #6
Pete Mack
Prophet
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 6,592
Donated: $40
Pete Mack is on a distinguished road
What version are you playing? Way back, the quiver worked differently--and might have had bugs.
Pete Mack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 19, 2021, 02:15   #7
Kooltone
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2021
Posts: 13
Kooltone is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by backwardsEric View Post
What does pressing 'i' and then '|' (vertical bar; that'll show the items in the quiver) display? If you picked up or bought crossbow bolts or sling shots/pebbles, those would also go into the quiver but can not be fired with your bow.
Ah! That's it! Thank you. I have pebbles in my quiver and I'm completely out of arrows. Dropping the pebbles showed me I had no arrows. I assumed the 17 missiles in my quiver were arrows.
Kooltone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 19, 2021, 09:54   #8
Sky
Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: London-ish
Age: 49
Posts: 2,064
Sky is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kooltone View Post
Ah! That's it! Thank you. I have pebbles in my quiver and I'm completely out of arrows. Dropping the pebbles showed me I had no arrows. I assumed the 17 missiles in my quiver were arrows.
knew it
__________________
"i can take this dracolich"
Sky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 21, 2021, 18:16   #9
sffp
Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: DC Area
Posts: 241
sffp is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kooltone View Post
I bought a second quiver with 40 arrows for my ranger. But when I run out of arrows from the original quiver, it says I'm out of ammo even though there are tons of arrows in my inventory.

I can't figure out how to get my other arrows, and I died once coming back to town because I "couldn't" shoot.
Three missile types - three shooter types:

Slings - shoot pebbles/shots
Bows - shoot arrows
Crossbows - shoot bolts

| (no need to hit i first) takes you to your quiver where the ammo of all types are stored - but rearranged so that your shooter's type are on top. (in general worst first)

You can change that by inscribing the arrows command { with @f0 ,- with the number being the slot number you want the ammo to be located

h will shoot the top missile in your quiver
f3 will shoot a missile from slot 3

happy hunting
sffp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 19, 2021, 01:48   #10
Evilpotatoe
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: France
Posts: 22
Evilpotatoe is on a distinguished road
Speaking of ammo & items inscriptions,

In Hengband, I always inscribed my most used rod with @zz, my default ammo with @ff, staff with @uu, etc.

Using numbers doesn't look ergonomic at all to me, and I probably even have to use shift to type them (Fr Keyboard doesn't give direct access to numbers.)


Is there a way to use anything else than numbers ?
Evilpotatoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The rod of probing does not show resistances until save/reload AndreyB Vanilla 5 May 13, 2017 20:54
Stat Swap potions for Paladins icefyre Vanilla 13 January 14, 2017 23:57
macro to swap out weapon youtoo Vanilla 12 July 15, 2014 09:18
inscribing @0 and using 'x' to swap causes me to search intently Vanilla 2 May 31, 2014 00:48
swap weapon and digger dionysian Vanilla 4 March 4, 2012 01:50


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:30.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.