Angband.oook.cz
Angband.oook.cz
AboutVariantsLadderForumCompetitionComicScreenshotsFunniesLinks

Go Back   Angband Forums > Angband > Development

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old July 20, 2021, 08:40   #141
will_asher
DaJAngband Maintainer
 
will_asher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 1,124
Donated: $10
will_asher is on a distinguished road
So I just finished merging a bunch of commits from newer V into my Rubberband branch on github. And now I can't sync with my code in Virtual Studio.

In order to use github desktop to cherry-pick commits, I had to change the name of my folder on github. (I changed it from "Rubberband" to "Rubberband-master") I figured changing my "source" in Visual Studio likewise would let it be able to sync the code, but it doesn't.
EDIT: Here's the message it gives me when trying to sync:
"Remote: Repository not found.
Git failed with a fatal error.
repository 'https://github.com/will2asher/RubberBand-master/' not found"

Can anyone help with this?

I posted my question on the github community forum as well:

https://github.community/t/syncing-w...desktop/191124

EDIT: Maybe I'll just have to re-clone the source from git.
__________________
Will_Asher
aka LibraryAdventurer

My old variant DaJAngband:
http://sites.google.com/site/dajangbandwebsite/home (defunct and so old it's forked from Angband 3.1.0 -I think- but it's probably playable...)

Last edited by will_asher; July 21, 2021 at 06:29.
will_asher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 22, 2021, 05:43   #142
will_asher
DaJAngband Maintainer
 
will_asher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 1,124
Donated: $10
will_asher is on a distinguished road
Can I bump my previous post? Nobody on the github forum is helping, and it seems like any progress on my RubberBand variant is completely halted until I can get a solution for this.

When I try to sync with Visual Studio using the origin "https://github.com/will2asher/RubberBand", it gives me this:
"Opening repositories:
C:\Users\Dajustiss\Documents\My Games\RubberBand\Angband\angband
Warning: Pulling without specifying how to reconcile divergent branches is
discouraged. You can squelch this message by running one of the following
commands sometime before your next pull:
git config pull.rebase false # merge (the default strategy)
git config pull.rebase true # rebase
git config pull.ff only # fast-forward only
You can replace “git config” with “git config --global” to set a default
preference for all repositories. You can also pass --rebase, --no-rebase,
or --ff-only on the command line to override the configured default per
invocation.
Everything up-to-date"
...But everything isn't up to date. Why is it saying "Pulling without specifying how to reconcile divergent branches is discouraged"? I shouldn't have divergent branches. I already chose which changes to keep or not keep on Github desktop and pushed it all back to github.

Quote:
EDIT: Maybe I'll just have to re-clone the source from git.
I'm not even sure if re-cloning will work, since it seems to have created a separate branch for all these changes which is not what I wanted it to do.
__________________
Will_Asher
aka LibraryAdventurer

My old variant DaJAngband:
http://sites.google.com/site/dajangbandwebsite/home (defunct and so old it's forked from Angband 3.1.0 -I think- but it's probably playable...)
will_asher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 22, 2021, 06:33   #143
Nick
Vanilla maintainer
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Canberra, Australia
Age: 56
Posts: 9,172
Donated: $60
Nick will become famous soon enoughNick will become famous soon enough
I don't use Github desktop, but here are a few thoughts:
  • From the state of your repo on Github, it looks like you have worked on two branches, master and Rubberband-master; I'm guessing the first is just an earlier version of the second.
  • I suspect the "Pulling without specifying how to reconcile divergent branches is discouraged" message is because you have a mismatch between the branch on Github that you are pulling from, and the local branch it is trying to merge into.
  • I usually don't use git pull; I use git fetch, and then git merge. This should end up with the same result, but I feel like I have more control that way. In particular, in your situation, you should be able to do a git fetch (which will get all the branches from Github), and then, while on the branch you want to merge into, do a git merge <branch you want to merge in>.
  • It is easy to make branches. Before doing anything experimental, make a new branch and try it out there to see if it works.
__________________
One for the Dark Lord on his dark throne
In the Land of Mordor where the Shadows lie.
Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 22, 2021, 06:54   #144
will_asher
DaJAngband Maintainer
 
will_asher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 1,124
Donated: $10
will_asher is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick View Post
I don't use Github desktop, but here are a few thoughts:[*]From the state of your repo on Github, it looks like you have worked on two branches, master and Rubberband-master; I'm guessing the first is just an earlier version of the second.[*]I suspect the "Pulling without specifying how to reconcile divergent branches is discouraged" message is because you have a mismatch between the branch on Github that you are pulling from, and the local branch it is trying to merge into.
I tried to rename the main folder on github so github destop wouldn't give me an error saying there was a duplicate folder name. Instead it apparently made a new branch with the new name. ugh.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick View Post
[*]I usually don't use git pull; I use git fetch, and then git merge. This should end up with the same result, but I feel like I have more control that way. In particular, in your situation, you should be able to do a git fetch (which will get all the branches from Github), and then, while on the branch you want to merge into, do a git merge <branch you want to merge in>.
That sounds promising. I'll try that. Probably later though, because the frustration so far has made me not want to bother with it anymore tonight.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick View Post
[*]It is easy to make branches. Before doing anything experimental, make a new branch and try it out there to see if it works.
This sounds like it would be confusing and hard to keep track of everything. It'd bad enough with three copies of my code (the 'origin' on github, the main one I do my coding on in Visual Studio, and the one used by github desktop) that I want to keep synced. It seems safest to me to keep all the changes in one place (or as few places as possible at least). If something doesn't work, I can always undo the last commit or something.
__________________
Will_Asher
aka LibraryAdventurer

My old variant DaJAngband:
http://sites.google.com/site/dajangbandwebsite/home (defunct and so old it's forked from Angband 3.1.0 -I think- but it's probably playable...)
will_asher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 22, 2021, 08:35   #145
fph
Knight
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Pisa / DL0
Posts: 991
fph is on a distinguished road
I think every git user has gone through a few moments when they did not understand what was going on, and they had to back up their local work, delete everything and re-clone. So no shame in that. There's even an xkcd about that. https://xkcd.com/1597/ .
__________________
Dive fast, die young, leave a high-CHA corpse.
--
You read a scroll labeled 'lol gtfo' of Teleport Level.
fph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 27, 2021, 02:44   #146
will_asher
DaJAngband Maintainer
 
will_asher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 1,124
Donated: $10
will_asher is on a distinguished road
Still trying to recover my code after merging with (some but not all) recent V changes created a whole bunch of error messages and bugs. I'm never doing it that way again. If I want to get changes from V, I will look at a diff and do it manually.

I'm down to a few linker errors.
I'm getting "unresolved external symbol _textui_get_effect_from_list" in ui.input.c. I did a search and "textui_get_effect_from_list" does not appear anywhere else in my code. I tried to search the RubberBand code on git and it says "forked repositories are not currently searchable" which really sucks.
So I searched for it in the V code, turns out "textui_get_effect_from_list" is from ui-effect.c. I don't even have a file called ui-effect.c in RubbberBand. It must be from newer V. How do I resolve this? What file was "textui_get_effect_from_list" in before it was moved to ui-effect.c?

EDIT: I could just add the ui-effect.c and ui-effect.h files to my code, but I have a feeling that'll just make more errors since I apparently have part of the change, but not the whole thing.
__________________
Will_Asher
aka LibraryAdventurer

My old variant DaJAngband:
http://sites.google.com/site/dajangbandwebsite/home (defunct and so old it's forked from Angband 3.1.0 -I think- but it's probably playable...)

Last edited by will_asher; July 27, 2021 at 02:51.
will_asher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 27, 2021, 02:53   #147
backwardsEric
Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 219
backwardsEric is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by will_asher View Post
I'm down to a few linker errors.
I'm getting "unresolved external symbol _textui_get_effect_from_list" in ui.input.c. I did a search and "textui_get_effect_from_list" does not appear anywhere else in my code. I tried to search the RubberBand code on git and it says "forked repositories are not currently searchable" which really sucks.
So I searched for it in the V code, turns out "textui_get_effect_from_list" is from ui-effect.c. I don't even have a file called ui-effect.c in RubbberBand. It must be from newer V. How do I resolve this? What file was "textui_get_effect_from_list" in before it was moved to ui-effect.c?
It's a completely new function added to support the SELECT effect (EF_SELECT). ui-effect.c and ui-effect.h were added in this pull request, https://github.com/angband/angband/pull/4829 .
backwardsEric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 27, 2021, 04:00   #148
will_asher
DaJAngband Maintainer
 
will_asher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 1,124
Donated: $10
will_asher is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by backwardsEric View Post
It's a completely new function added to support the SELECT effect (EF_SELECT). ui-effect.c and ui-effect.h were added in this pull request, https://github.com/angband/angband/pull/4829 .
Okay, so I just added the ui-effect.c and ui-effect.h files to my code, and finally got it to compile and run again.
thanks

I hope there aren't many more bugs from the merge that the compiler didn't catch with errors.
__________________
Will_Asher
aka LibraryAdventurer

My old variant DaJAngband:
http://sites.google.com/site/dajangbandwebsite/home (defunct and so old it's forked from Angband 3.1.0 -I think- but it's probably playable...)
will_asher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 30, 2021, 07:12   #149
will_asher
DaJAngband Maintainer
 
will_asher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 1,124
Donated: $10
will_asher is on a distinguished road
So I'm playtesting Rubberband and I'm getting that bug where 1 arrow turns into about 400 when I pick one up (it seems to automatically fill the quiver). I remember this bug (or a similar one at least) happening in V. Could you point me to where it was fixed in V? (assuming it was fixed in V.)
__________________
Will_Asher
aka LibraryAdventurer

My old variant DaJAngband:
http://sites.google.com/site/dajangbandwebsite/home (defunct and so old it's forked from Angband 3.1.0 -I think- but it's probably playable...)
will_asher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 30, 2021, 10:19   #150
backwardsEric
Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 219
backwardsEric is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by will_asher View Post
So I'm playtesting Rubberband and I'm getting that bug where 1 arrow turns into about 400 when I pick one up (it seems to automatically fill the quiver). I remember this bug (or a similar one at least) happening in V. Could you point me to where it was fixed in V? (assuming it was fixed in V.)
There was the problem you reported with flasks of oil multiplying, I believe that was addressed in https://github.com/angband/angband/pull/4671 . It's taken several sets of changes to get the handling of thrown weapons in the quiver to its current state. In order from first to last they were (the key files are obj-gear.c and player-calcs.c (for calc_inventory()):
  1. https://github.com/angband/angband/c...0afb42d95943f2
  2. https://github.com/angband/angband/pull/4613
  3. https://github.com/angband/angband/c...d95d01d83141e2
  4. https://github.com/angband/angband/c...d95d01d83141e2
  5. https://github.com/angband/angband/c...d95d01d83141e2
  6. https://github.com/angband/angband/pull/4671
  7. https://github.com/angband/angband/c...d95d01d83141e2
  8. https://github.com/angband/angband/pull/4769
backwardsEric is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
can we make identify more common ? Sky Vanilla 16 September 10, 2017 11:20
Make Artistry automatic bagori nd Sil 4 September 26, 2016 19:22
How many variant developers/maintainers have beaten their own variant? Delver Variants 12 June 5, 2009 10:08
Variant writing.. quickstart guide? Also, Hengband variant suggestions? dzhang Variants 34 April 1, 2009 01:45
Trying to make my own variant bpleshek Variants 8 September 15, 2008 21:42


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:50.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.