Angband.oook.cz
Angband.oook.cz
AboutVariantsLadderForumCompetitionComicScreenshotsFunniesLinks

Go Back   Angband Forums > Angband > Vanilla

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old March 15, 2015, 19:45   #21
Nomad
Knight
 
Nomad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: England
Posts: 958
Nomad is on a distinguished road
I'm getting some inconsistent weirdness with inscriptions:

- Trying to read Identify scrolls inscribed {@r4} by pressing r then 4 gets the "Type '?' for help" message
- Trying to read Magic Mapping inscribed {@r6} reads one of my (uninscribed) Phase Door scrolls instead (they're in slot g, MM is in slot h), and then triggers a "No Available Target" message.
- Treasure Detection inscribed with {@r2} works correctly, as does my Rod of Door/Stair Location {@z3} and my Staff of Identify {@u4}

I did some further experimenting, and changing the inscription on the Identify Scrolls to {@r1} worked correctly. {@r3} and {@r5} are also fine. If I change it to the {@r6} slot I previously had the magic mapping scrolls in, that also reads my Phase Door scrolls from slot g, but does not come up with the no target message. If I drop the Phase Door scrolls on the floor and try reading r6 again, it opens the inventory.

...Good luck with that.

ETA: Spoke too soon. My Staff of Identify {@u4} which was working fine earlier is now not. Results seem to change depending on which letter slot the item is currently in.

Last edited by Nomad; March 15, 2015 at 21:49.
Nomad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 15, 2015, 20:06   #22
StMicah
Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 106
StMicah is on a distinguished road
I'm using a mac OSX 10.10. I am having persistent crashes when trying to leave any store/home. (I don't see a log file to report/send along.)

Anyone else experiencing this or are my shop keepers try real hard to keep me safe?
StMicah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 15, 2015, 20:15   #23
Nomad
Knight
 
Nomad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: England
Posts: 958
Nomad is on a distinguished road
I got a replicable crash with this error message trying to read an un-ID'd scroll from the floor:

Code:
Assertion failed!

Program: ...
File: obj-pile.c
Line: 133

Expression: pile_contains(*pile, obj)
Went back to ID the scroll and it was Teleportation. I picked it up and read it after that, and it worked without crashing.
Nomad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 15, 2015, 21:48   #24
Nomad
Knight
 
Nomad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: England
Posts: 958
Nomad is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by MattB View Post
Also, I've just been paralysed while wearing boots of FA (and two other sources of FA to... er... boot).
Yep, I also just got paralyzed by a Ghoul while wearing a ring of FA.

I'm also suffering from an intermittent problem with a 'flickering' lantern, which I can't quite pin down; sometimes the light from my lantern will go off for a turn (not just on the display; if I try to read a scroll while it's gone dark, it tells me I have no light to read by). Seems to only happen when there are monsters within or adjacent to the light radius, but that might just be the only point when I'm paying attention to notice.

And I spoke too soon when I said some of my inscribed items were working fine - what happens when you try and use an {@[action][number]} style inscription seems to vary depending on which inventory slot that item is currently in.
Nomad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 15, 2015, 22:06   #25
Nick
Vanilla maintainer
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Canberra, Australia
Age: 55
Posts: 8,667
Donated: $60
Nick will become famous soon enough
This is exactly the sort of feedback I was after, thank you all. I will answer the first batch now, and more later (and actually fix stuff later still).

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nomad View Post
  • I think you need to restore the "in Quiver: 40 missiles" display on the inventory screen that shows how many slots the quiver is taking up. Otherwise it's unclear when your inventory's actually full.
  • Nothing happens if you press '.' when the quiver is empty, which is a tad confusing, especially for a newbie investigating the controls. I think it needs to go to the quiver display and just show "(nothing)" like empty equipment screen slots do.
  • The "(Inven a-w, / for equip, . for Quiver, ESC)" line you've added at the top of the 'i' display has pushed slot 'w' off the bottom of the screen if you're playing with the screen resized to the minimum 24 rows. (I don't know if many other people actually do, but I still habitually resize the display as small as it'll go so I can switch programs easily. And I'm guessing it might be more of a problem for ports to devices with small screens.)
First two sound sensible. Third - yes definitely needs fixing, and please keep testing in 24x80, I haven't been.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MattB View Post
Ref quiver, I don't seem to be able to store any ammo at home? (maybe I'm being stoopid...)

Also, I've just been paralysed while wearing boots of FA (and two other sources of FA to... er... boot).
Ammo @ home - can you not find the quiver to drop from, or is it failing to?

FA - yeah, looks like that's a thing.

Redraw is worse than 3.5.1, I assume? I'd really like to get that properly sorted, it's been an ongoing issue with big tiles. And this...
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrrstark View Post
It feels like there is a lot of flicker when the turn is draw when "Center Player Continuously" is enabled. Much more than previous versions. Is that something that can be fixed?
...is probably because of an attempt to fix the redraw issues.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nomad View Post
Does the new passable rubble in town exist in the dungeon as well, or is it town-only at the moment? Just wondering because it's currently impossible to distinguish from regular rubble in tile mode (I had no idea until I accidentally walked over it), which could lead to some nasty surprises if monsters can pass over it.

Also, does passable rubble have any chance of items, or am I just wasting my time digging through the stuff in town?
Currently the new terrain is town-only. It's to give a taste of something which blocks LOS but not movement, which I think is good to have. Post 4.0, I'd consider making all rubble behave like this. And I think the digging is a waste of time, but I haven't actually checked

Skipping forward because I really want this clarified:
Quote:
Originally Posted by StMicah View Post
I'm using a mac OSX 10.10. I am having persistent crashes when trying to leave any store/home. (I don't see a log file to report/send along.)

Anyone else experiencing this or are my shop keepers try real hard to keep me safe?
Are you using revision f2fa8c2 or revision 0a915bd? There was a memory bug in the first which I believed was fixed in the second - if not, then either I didn't fix (or made it worse) or there's a separate issue.

Thanks again all, will respond further later.
__________________
One for the Dark Lord on his dark throne
In the Land of Mordor where the Shadows lie.
Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 15, 2015, 22:25   #26
MattB
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Berkshire, UK
Posts: 1,165
MattB is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick View Post


Ammo @ home - can you not find the quiver to drop from, or is it failing to?
There's no option for quiver and you can't force it by hitting <.>.

Quote:
FA - yeah, looks like that's a thing.
I've also been frightened with pFear - just to add to your fun

Quote:
Redraw is worse than 3.5.1, I assume? I'd really like to get that properly sorted, it's been an ongoing issue with big tiles.
Never had a problem with this in any version, to be honest, until now. Sometimes I just seem to lose half of my 'known' squares. Like I said, hitting <i>, or just about any other menu, and exiting out sorts it, so only mildly annoying.

Keep it up - we're all verrry impressed!
MattB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 15, 2015, 22:28   #27
Nomad
Knight
 
Nomad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: England
Posts: 958
Nomad is on a distinguished road
I see objects can occur in the same squares as traps now? That's pretty neat, but I think maybe there should be a new symbol/tile added for "square with both object and trap", similar to the pile symbol. Unless you want to be cruel to the players and force them to just remember which of those treasures had a trap under it after they've been teleported halfway across the dungeon.
Nomad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 15, 2015, 22:32   #28
MattB
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Berkshire, UK
Posts: 1,165
MattB is on a distinguished road
Some more for you - since you asked so very nicely!...

- Tunnelling time seems to be way out of whack - takes far longer than the <I>nspect screen implies.

- Just seen a trapped square of granite - although, having played FA, maybe that's intended behaviour? (I had previously earthquaked, so maybe I moved granite 'under' a trap? That's a bit screwy if so!)

- My elven armour is apparently without higher resists, according to the squelch system. Nearly lost my first decent bit of armour that way...

- Further to inscription comments below, @m1, @m2 and @m3 work fine, but if I hit <m4> it asks me what I would like to drop!?

That's it for now, thanks for the new release. I actually find bug-spotting fun. It's like a mini-game. Right up until I'm wearing gloves of FA and get paralysed in a bunch of plasma hounds. Then I'll be cross.
MattB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 15, 2015, 22:35   #29
MattB
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Berkshire, UK
Posts: 1,165
MattB is on a distinguished road
I'm also being told every single turn that the weight of my armour encumbers my movement. Which is a little tiresome. This might actually force my priest to wear light armour, so maybe no bad thing...
MattB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 15, 2015, 22:44   #30
MattB
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Berkshire, UK
Posts: 1,165
MattB is on a distinguished road
My potion of enlightenment told me about 3 items on the map, but they remained 'unknown items'. Is this intended? Actually, I don't really have a problem with that, if so.
MattB is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FuryBand 5.1 Beta Release The GP Fury Variants 31 February 23, 2013 07:27
Angband release Shockbolt Vanilla 4 February 29, 2012 20:52
NPP 0.5.1 Beta-6 "Release Candidate" is available nppangband Variants 4 January 23, 2011 13:36
[Un]angband 0.6.2 beta Arralen Variants 9 February 20, 2008 22:09
FuryBand Gold Beta Release The GP Fury Variants 15 November 26, 2007 23:31


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 20:28.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.