Angband.oook.cz
AboutVariantsLadderForumCompetitionComicScreenshotsFunniesLinks

Go Back   Angband Forums > Angband > Vanilla

Old May 24, 2018, 04:11   #1
SethaWetha
Rookie

SethaWetha is on a distinguished road
Best race/class combo to win with?

I just started playing for the first time about a week ago. After about a dozen games dying at level 10 I finally made it to CL 46 (almost 47) as a Gnome Mage on my first go. I really like Mage but the low HP had me killed in one hit right after my frost resist ran out. I want to try a new class, but Mage is great too. What's the best, or at least a very good race/class combo to win with?

Last edited by SethaWetha; May 24, 2018 at 04:31. Reason: typo
SethaWetha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2018, 05:29   #2
Estie
Veteran

Estie is on a distinguished road
If you want to stick with mage, high elf has more hit points than gnome, though it still takes a while to get to the critical ~650 mark where youre all but safe from 1-shot.

I can recommend troll priest, if you are up for something different. Unlike mage, you have to kill stuff with a mace till your damage spell - orb of draining - kicks in; you get it at level 9. At the start, max out wisdom and put the rest in strength. The bless spell is useful for early melee.
Estie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2018, 07:24   #3
dos350
Knight

dos350 is on a distinguished road
dwarf priest is very safe
high elf warrior is nice for beginner
dunadain paladin is very fun

Reality hits you -more-

S+++++++++++++++++++
dos350 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2018, 08:07   #4
Pete Mack
Prophet

Donated: $40
Pete Mack is on a distinguished road