Angband.oook.cz
AboutDownloadVariantsLadderForumCompetitionSpoilersComicScreenshotsFunniesLinks

Go Back   Angband Forums > Angband > Vanilla

Old January 5, 2010, 05:31   #1
Pete Mack
Veteran

Donated: $40
Pete Mack is on a distinguished road
Tried my hand at a basic player's guide.

I wrote it to help absolute newbies break the bad habit of scumming dl's 1-3. It doesn't consider gameplay past dl 20. It gives a rundown of the basic survival strategies for a fighter class, and a discussion of a reasonably conservative start that reduces the usual frustrations of early play.

Comments are very welcome.
http://rephial.org/wiki/PlayersGuide

EDIT:
I vaguely recall something like this by Eddie, but I can't find it.
Pete Mack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 5, 2010, 05:46   #2
d_m
Angband Devteam member

d_m is on a distinguished road
Pete,

This guide seems like a good start. Some things I might add:

1. Testing new scroll/potion flavors on a down staircase.
2. An actual description of throwing oil for damage, since a lot of people might not know about (v) to throw.
3. I might encourage people to bring more than 2 phase door scrolls, to make it easier to get to dlevel 10 or deeper without running out. I often try to get at least 6.
4. You might want to mention ID-by-use since it makes finding good weapons in the dungeon a lot easier.

Also there's a typo where "uou" is used instead of "you"
Old January 5, 2010, 06:18   #3
Pete Mack
Veteran

Quote:
Originally Posted by d_m View Post
Pete,

This guide seems like a good start. Some things I might add:

1. Testing new scroll/potion flavors on a down staircase.
2. An actual description of throwing oil for damage, since a lot of people might not know about (v) to throw.
3. I might encourage people to bring more than 2 phase door scrolls, to make it easier to get to dlevel 10 or deeper without running out. I often try to get at least 6.