Angband.oook.cz
Angband.oook.cz
AboutDownloadVariantsLadderForumCompetitionSpoilersComicScreenshotsFunniesLinks

Go Back   Angband Forums > Angband > Vanilla

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old January 14, 2010, 22:07   #1
Gordon
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 4
Gordon is on a distinguished road
Angry Morgoth Broken Again

Killed Morgoth with arrows! Never had to hit him with my weapon once. He only hit me twice and knocked me down less than 200 HP. Unfortunately, all he dropped was a Massive Iron Crown [0,+4] 2.0 lb and a Mighty Hammer (3d9) (+2,+1) 20 lb. Neither had any special abilities.

Last edited by Gordon; January 14, 2010 at 22:17.
Gordon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 14, 2010, 22:10   #2
Gordon
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 4
Gordon is on a distinguished road
Character Dump

Here's the dump:

http://angband.oook.cz/ladder-show.php?id=9806

Notice items v) and w) in the Character Inventory.
Gordon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 14, 2010, 22:27   #3
Magnate
Angband Devteam member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 4,992
Magnate is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to Magnate Send a message via Yahoo to Magnate Send a message via Skype™ to Magnate
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gordon View Post
Here's the dump:

http://angband.oook.cz/ladder-show.php?id=9806

Notice items v) and w) in the Character Inventory.
This is a long-standing bug: http://trac.rephial.org/ticket/641. Nobody's yet been able to figure out why it happens.
Magnate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 14, 2010, 23:09   #4
Marble Dice
Swordsman
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Columbia, MO. USA
Posts: 405
Marble Dice is on a distinguished road
Based on comments in monster2.c, the codebase seems to assume that apply_magic() will turn the INSTA_ART base items into the necessary artifacts, but this is certainly not the case. Has this bug really been around that long?
Marble Dice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 15, 2010, 13:32   #5
konijn_
Hellband maintainer
 
konijn_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York, the Big Apple
Age: 37
Posts: 346
Donated: $120
konijn_ is on a distinguished road
Lightbulb

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marble Dice View Post
Based on comments in monster2.c, the codebase seems to assume that apply_magic() will turn the INSTA_ART base items into the necessary artifacts, but this is certainly not the case. Has this bug really been around that long?
I wonder if setting the name1 will just fix it ?

Angband
Code:
2918	                /* Mega-Hack -- Prepare to make "Grond" */
2919	                object_prep(i_ptr, lookup_kind(TV_HAFTED, SV_GROND), 0, MAXIMISE);
2920	
2921	                /* Note -- We must not set name1 so that it can be made into
2922	                 * an artifact by apply_magic */
2923	
2924	                /* Mega-Hack -- Actually create "Grond" */
2925	                apply_magic(i_ptr, -1, TRUE, TRUE, TRUE);
Hellband
Code:
/* Get local object */
q_ptr = &forge;
/* Mega-Hack -- Prepare to make "Crown of the Universe" */
object_prep(q_ptr, lookup_kind(TV_CROWN, SV_SEVENTH));
/* Mega-Hack -- Mark this item as "Crown of the Universe" */
q_ptr->name1 = ART_SEVENTH;
/* Mega-Hack -- Actually create "Crown of the Universe" */
apply_magic(q_ptr, -1, TRUE, TRUE, TRUE);
/* Drop it in the dungeon */
drop_near(q_ptr, -1, y, x);
__________________
* Are you ready for something else ? Hellband 0.8.7 is out! *
konijn_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 15, 2010, 15:54   #6
Marble Dice
Swordsman
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Columbia, MO. USA
Posts: 405
Marble Dice is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by konijn_ View Post
I wonder if setting the name1 will just fix it ?
I'm guessing that's how it used to work, but at some point, changes were made to Vanilla's apply_magic() or make_artifact() which prevented them from upgrading the items properly. It's possible it was even fixed for a time under the assumption that you don't set name1 and they got upgraded some other way, but then that got broken too.

r1892 has a fix which doesn't yet seem to break anything else, so here's hoping this one is gone for good now.
Marble Dice is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
fire macro in nightlies broken? grassy Vanilla 3 December 30, 2009 17:52
r1673 - shop display broken zen0 Vanilla 2 September 11, 2009 15:12
On Windows, fwrite() and fread() are broken.(?) PaulBlay Development 2 June 16, 2009 18:29
Broken squelch in trunk Magnate Vanilla 3 May 14, 2009 08:11
Is the GTK port broken? PaulBlay Development 6 April 22, 2009 22:34


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 14:54.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.