Angband.oook.cz
Angband.oook.cz
AboutDownloadVariantsLadderForumCompetitionSpoilersComicScreenshotsFunniesLinks

Go Back   Angband Forums > Angband > Vanilla

View Poll Results: What tiles do you use?
None, ASCII is my one true love 23 46.00%
I like solid walls instead of #s 18 36.00%
Old tiles 4 8.00%
Adam Bolt tiles 0 0%
David Gervais tiles 5 10.00%
Voters: 50. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old November 26, 2010, 14:37   #1
takkaria
Veteran
 
takkaria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,599
Donated: $40
takkaria is on a distinguished road
What tiles do you use?

This is for tile users. I'm curious to hear whether anyone uses the old 8x8 tiles.
__________________
"Physician, heal thyself."
takkaria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 26, 2010, 14:52   #2
fyonn
Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 217
fyonn is on a distinguished road
I'd tell you if I knew. I use the 32x32 tiles that come with the game. are those the gervais tiles? not sure?

I do think there's a bug in them somewhere though. traps frequently take on other tile gfx, almost as those there's some tiles missing.

I mentioned it here.

dave
fyonn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 26, 2010, 15:31   #3
stabbo
Scout
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 26
stabbo is on a distinguished road
I just use ASCII, tiles don't look right.
stabbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 26, 2010, 18:14   #4
TJS
Swordsman
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 362
TJS is on a distinguished road
I use old tiles. I really like them.

There's a different character for each monster type and they are small and simple enough that you can see clearly what everything is when zoomed right out. I find the other tilesets far too busy.

I don't ever confuse one monster for another which seems to be a problem with the other graphical methods.

It's one of the reasons that I don't really play variants since I can never quite compute what is going on using just ASCII.
TJS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 26, 2010, 18:15   #5
ekolis
Knight
 
ekolis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Cincinnati, OH, USA
Age: 30
Posts: 906
ekolis is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to ekolis Send a message via MSN to ekolis Send a message via Yahoo to ekolis Send a message via Skype™ to ekolis
I voted ASCII, but not because it's my one true love... I just don't like the default tilesets for Angband - well, David Gervais' tiles are pretty good, but they're just so BIG, and Angband for some reason calls for more stuff to be visible on the screen than other roguelikes (Crawl, Nethack)... maybe dungeon levels in Angband are bigger (definitely bigger than Nethack, not sure about Crawl), or the GUI and text don't mesh up nicely unless the fonts are the right size, or something...
__________________
You read the scroll labeled NOBIMUS UPSCOTI...
You are surrounded by a stasis field!
The tengu tries to teleport, but fails!
ekolis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 27, 2010, 00:10   #6
Fendell Orcbane
Swordsman
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Washington state USA
Posts: 454
Fendell Orcbane is on a distinguished road
I use 32x32 for FA, but for V I use 16x16 since the 32x32 won't show some monsters at all.
Fendell Orcbane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 27, 2010, 00:40   #7
will_asher
DaJAngband Maintainer
 
will_asher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 927
Donated: $10
will_asher is on a distinguished road
I use ascii on my older computer which doesn't show tiles well, but when on a computer that shows them well, I use the old tiles (some of which aren't so old in DJA because I added them).
I like the 32x32 tiles, but I can't stand having so little of the dungeon map on the screen.
__________________
Will_Asher

Play DaJAngband:
http://sites.google.com/site/dajangbandwebsite/home
will_asher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 27, 2010, 01:44   #8
buzzkill
Prophet
 
buzzkill's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Indiana, USA
Posts: 2,910
Donated: $8
buzzkill is on a distinguished road
I use 32x32 if I can. I tend to avoid variants that don't support tiles. ASCII just doesn't cut it for me.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fendell Orcbane View Post
I use 32x32 for FA, but for V I use 16x16 since the 32x32 won't show some monsters at all.
Are you talking about koblod archers (and a few other) on a Mac system?
__________________
www.mediafire.com/buzzkill - Get your 32x32 tiles here. UT32 now compatible Ironband and Quickband 9/6/2012.
My banding life on Buzzkill's ladder.
buzzkill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 27, 2010, 05:15   #9
Whelk
Adept
 
Whelk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Utah
Posts: 180
Whelk is on a distinguished road
I usually don't like tiles, because it's harder for me to tell what's what at a quick glance. I just started trying Crawl today, though, and started on tile mode. Fun game.
Whelk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 29, 2010, 03:49   #10
ThunderToads
Scout
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 43
ThunderToads is on a distinguished road
I like ASCII for old-school goodness, but with solid walls.
ThunderToads is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help with Tiles! chris Development 2 November 2, 2010 19:03
Z / Z+ with tiles? Cazliostro Variants 4 September 11, 2010 13:20
Which tiles do you use? Magnate Vanilla 13 March 5, 2010 01:09
Zangband with tiles ? garu Variants 5 October 30, 2009 17:44
3.1 - Tiles bug? pndrev Vanilla 15 January 24, 2009 17:48


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:25.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.