Angband.oook.cz
Angband.oook.cz
AboutVariantsLadderForumCompetitionComicScreenshotsFunniesLinks

Go Back   Angband Forums > Angband > Vanilla

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old December 19, 2010, 01:42   #1
PowerDiver
Prophet
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,712
PowerDiver is on a distinguished road
char quick restart with changed options

If you change birth options, such as ironman, the quick restart uses the same option as the previous char, ignoring the change to birth options.

If this is the right way to do things, I think the birth options ought to be listed on the screen when it asks if you want to replay the character.

I kind of think it should use the new options even though it is a restart. If I go through the process of getting my race/class/stats just right, then realize too late that I needed to change a birth option, I'd still like to be able to change, suicide, and quickstart. However, I'm not sure, and it makes sense the way it is.
PowerDiver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 19, 2010, 10:37   #2
Magnate
Angband Devteam member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 5,057
Magnate is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to Magnate Send a message via Yahoo to Magnate
Quote:
Originally Posted by PowerDiver View Post
If you change birth options, such as ironman, the quick restart uses the same option as the previous char, ignoring the change to birth options.

If this is the right way to do things, I think the birth options ought to be listed on the screen when it asks if you want to replay the character.

I kind of think it should use the new options even though it is a restart. If I go through the process of getting my race/class/stats just right, then realize too late that I needed to change a birth option, I'd still like to be able to change, suicide, and quickstart. However, I'm not sure, and it makes sense the way it is.
You are correct that quickstart retains the previous character's "adult" options and therefore ignores any changes to birth options. I am not 100% certain whether this is the best approach, but there is no dilemma because I lack sufficient knowledge of the birth code to change it. One thing I do know from working on this is that non-maximise mode is the one to watch. I spent hours debugging why non-maximise wasn't working in various permutations of quickstart/normal start and changed/unchanged. It's ok now, but if we allow changed birth options to take effect on quickstart characters, we have to make sure that one works too.

If you want to have a go at this, CMD_FINALIZE_OPTIONS is the thing you need to insert at some point during the quickstart process.

The alternative - listing the options on the quickstart screen - is difficult due to lack of space. You could have an additional input choice - as well as Y, N, C you could have O to view birth options. That would require a new birth command action I think, since you'd just be displaying them and not changing them. But if you're going to go that far, you may as well allow changing them.
Magnate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 19, 2010, 12:24   #3
Nomad
Knight
 
Nomad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: England
Posts: 958
Nomad is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Magnate View Post
You could have an additional input choice - as well as Y, N, C you could have O to view birth options. That would require a new birth command action I think, since you'd just be displaying them and not changing them. But if you're going to go that far, you may as well allow changing them.
I'd definitely like to be able to press '=' on the "New character based on previous one" screen and change options from there. When I reload a save file, I usually want to keep all the race/class/stat choices but would like to be able to check/change whether I've got randarts on, and it's a pain in the butt to have to hit start afresh and re-enter all of that stuff just to get a look at the options.
Nomad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 19, 2010, 13:21   #4
Magnate
Angband Devteam member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 5,057
Magnate is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to Magnate Send a message via Yahoo to Magnate
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nomad View Post
I'd definitely like to be able to press '=' on the "New character based on previous one" screen and change options from there. When I reload a save file, I usually want to keep all the race/class/stat choices but would like to be able to check/change whether I've got randarts on, and it's a pain in the butt to have to hit start afresh and re-enter all of that stuff just to get a look at the options.
I'd be up for that, and I'm sure takkaria wouldn't mind, as long as it didn't break anything. Patches welcome - or a pull request on github will do instead.

I have opened ticket #1259 for this. The problem is going to be recalculating the stats if maximise mode is changed: when you first see the quickstart character, the stats are based on the assumption that birth_maximize is unchanged. If you change this option, not only will the base stats change, but the sensible spending of points will also change.
Magnate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 19, 2010, 19:28   #5
PowerDiver
Prophet
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,712
PowerDiver is on a distinguished road
Perhaps the mistake is setting birth options from the options menu.

The idea of changing an option so that things won't change now, but will next game, is pretty strange.

Suppose they were only set at birth, with a screen coming up during normal birth where you can change them. Then they could not change before a quickstart, and there would be nothing to talk about. Also, the double variables could be switched to single variables.
PowerDiver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 19, 2010, 19:37   #6
Magnate
Angband Devteam member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 5,057
Magnate is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to Magnate Send a message via Yahoo to Magnate
Quote:
Originally Posted by PowerDiver View Post
Perhaps the mistake is setting birth options from the options menu.

The idea of changing an option so that things won't change now, but will next game, is pretty strange.

Suppose they were only set at birth, with a screen coming up during normal birth where you can change them. Then they could not change before a quickstart, and there would be nothing to talk about. Also, the double variables could be switched to single variables.
Yes, that's pretty good too - and probably a good simplification.
Magnate is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Options that you think should be on (off) by default PaulBlay Variants 13 June 18, 2009 03:12
Rest options pav Vanilla 5 January 10, 2009 19:07
Should any monsters be changed for 3.1.0? Skyknight Vanilla 6 June 16, 2008 15:35
Nightlies updating even when nothing changed ekolis Vanilla 1 May 26, 2008 15:25
Monster options? Markus_z Vanilla 0 May 8, 2008 09:52


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 15:53.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.