Angband.oook.cz
Angband.oook.cz
AboutVariantsLadderForumCompetitionComicScreenshotsFunniesLinks

Go Back   Angband Forums > Angband > Vanilla

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old March 22, 2011, 20:35   #1
ulrichvonbek
Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 82
ulrichvonbek is on a distinguished road
x11-settings.prf not behaving like I would expect

I upgraded from a 1440x900 to a 1920x1080 monitor, and I'm having some trouble fully using the extra real estate.

I'm running on ubuntu, the version from the packages, not one I compiled on my own. I've got my x11-settings.prf in ~/.angband/Angband

Code:
# Angband X11 settings

TERM_WINS=7

# Term 0
AT_X_0=0
AT_Y_0=0
COLS_0=80
ROWS_0=24
IBOX_0=1
IBOY_0=1
FONT_0=10x20
TILE_WIDTH_0=10
TILE_HEIGHT_0=20

# Term 1
AT_X_1=850
AT_Y_1=0
COLS_1=68
ROWS_1=27
IBOX_1=1
IBOY_1=1
FONT_1=9x15
TILE_WIDTH_1=9
TILE_HEIGHT_1=15
I didn't paste the whole file, but the other windows look much the same as the first, but with different values. (that don't seem to make a difference when I change them )

For example, changing fonts doesn't seem to have any effect. At one time it must have looked at my preferences because some of the windows are running with a tiny 5x8 font, but I can't make them bigger now that I have room.

Also, it is ignoring the window positioning and just opening all the terminals in the upper left. It would be nice if I didn't have to drag all my windows into position whenever I wanted to play.
ulrichvonbek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 22, 2011, 20:57   #2
Magnate
Angband Devteam member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 5,057
Magnate is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to Magnate Send a message via Yahoo to Magnate
Is there a particular reason that you're running with -mx11? The Ubuntu package (which I presume is 3.1.2v2-2) defaults to -mgtk, but better than both would be to run with -msdl. In SDL mode, you can change fonts and window sizes interactively.
Magnate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 22, 2011, 21:19   #3
ulrichvonbek
Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 82
ulrichvonbek is on a distinguished road
Um, that's different...but may have potential.

How do you get -msdl it to use the extra terms once you turn them on. It seems to be ignoring what I picked in the window options, and how do you get it to remember for next time.
ulrichvonbek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 22, 2011, 21:36   #4
Derakon
Prophet
 
Derakon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 8,722
Derakon is on a distinguished road
I thought SDL had a strict one-window-per-process limit?
Derakon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 23, 2011, 02:49   #5
Nick
Vanilla maintainer
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Canberra, Australia
Age: 53
Posts: 7,486
Donated: $60
Nick is on a distinguished road
The SDL port has a single window, but you can have multiple angband windows within it.
__________________
One for the Dark Lord on his dark throne
In the Land of Mordor where the Shadows lie.
Nick is online now   Reply With Quote
Old March 23, 2011, 03:25   #6
Derakon
Prophet
 
Derakon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 8,722
Derakon is on a distinguished road
Yeah, I never really liked the window-within-a-window shtick. And when I tried the SDL port I couldn't get the setup to be anything like what I wanted it to be, in part because I usually spread my game across two monitors.
Derakon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 23, 2011, 08:38   #7
Magnate
Angband Devteam member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 5,057
Magnate is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to Magnate Send a message via Yahoo to Magnate
Quote:
Originally Posted by ulrichvonbek View Post
Um, that's different...but may have potential.

How do you get -msdl it to use the extra terms once you turn them on. It seems to be ignoring what I picked in the window options, and how do you get it to remember for next time.
Once you have opened the subwindows, go into the game's options menu (=), sort out what you want to display in each window (w), and then escape back to the main game screen and press ctrl-r to redraw everything. You should then see all the right stuff appear in the right subwindows. If you then save and exit (ctrl-x), the game should preserve window positions and contents when you reload. The window contents are (currently) in your savefile, but the window sizes and positions are in ~/.angband/Angband/sdlinit.txt - you can edit this manually if you prefer.

If the game is not remembering subwindow stuff when you save and exit, you may have found a bug. You should not need to mess with any pref files to get this to work. If you do have problems, post the steps to reproduce them and I'll try it on my system.
Magnate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 23, 2011, 14:05   #8
ulrichvonbek
Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 82
ulrichvonbek is on a distinguished road
I should have started small. It doesn't look like the game updated ~/.angband/Angband/sdlinit.txt when I exited w/ Ctrl+x. I used ls -l before and after.

Code:
eric@Homespun-II:~/.angband/Angband$ ls -l sdlinit.txt 
-rw-r--r-- 1 eric users 821 2011-03-22 17:20 sdlinit.txt
eric@Homespun-II:~/.angband/Angband$ ls -l sdlinit.txt 
-rw-r--r-- 1 eric users 821 2011-03-22 17:20 sdlinit.txt
eric@Homespun-II:~/.angband/Angband$ ls -l sdlinit.txt 
-rw-r--r-- 1 eric users 823 2011-03-23 10:01 sdlinit.txt
However, it did save what I had done when I used the quit button on the window. The 1st timestamp was from when I was playing around yesterday, the 2nd Ctrx+x, and the 3rd, which seemed to work as desired, was after quit.

Thank you so much. I need to position & size everything one more time, but hopefully this will be the last time.
ulrichvonbek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 23, 2011, 14:12   #9
ulrichvonbek
Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 82
ulrichvonbek is on a distinguished road
One more note. Once I get a good sdlinit.txt, and can exit with Ctrl+x or the quit button, which is what you would expect. I'll just have to remember to use the quit button if I change things.

Thanks again!!
ulrichvonbek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 23, 2011, 14:44   #10
Magnate
Angband Devteam member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 5,057
Magnate is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to Magnate Send a message via Yahoo to Magnate
Quote:
Originally Posted by ulrichvonbek View Post
One more note. Once I get a good sdlinit.txt, and can exit with Ctrl+x or the quit button, which is what you would expect. I'll just have to remember to use the quit button if I change things.

Thanks again!!
Thank you for catching what is essentially a bug: ctrl-x and Quit should have the same behaviour, and they clearly don't. I've opened ticket #1379 for this.
Magnate is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Subwindow display settings. LCC Vanilla 10 August 21, 2009 01:25
Squelch settings not reloaded Magnate Vanilla 3 May 29, 2009 18:43
3.1 subwindow display settings RogerN Vanilla 6 January 15, 2009 08:02
What are your Angband 3.0.9 display settings? Berserker Vanilla 3 February 26, 2008 21:37
Saving PLAYER.prf *where* under Windows? TJA Vanilla 2 August 16, 2007 23:32


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:26.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.