Angband.oook.cz
Angband.oook.cz
AboutVariantsLadderForumCompetitionComicScreenshotsFunniesLinks

Go Back   Angband Forums > Angband > Vanilla

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old August 1, 2011, 23:55   #1
Tibarius
Swordsman
 
Tibarius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Germany
Age: 50
Posts: 399
Tibarius is an unknown quantity at this point
[3.30] charset / colors under windows

Hi,

i am using Win XP, Version 2002, SP3.

Angband 3.20 looks for me like this:
Town has brown walls and dots for each space within. Lit dungeon walls are white and unlit walls are dark grey.

Angband 3.30 looks for me like this:
Town has red walls (and not the familiar # but instead a special char, i cannot reproduce on the keyboard). Lit dungeon walls are sometimes light and dark gray at the same time. The dots for each space within are smaller than in 3.20.

I don't like the new optic. Is this a feature?

If not, what can i do to get my old charset back?

Thanks in advance,
Tibarius
Tibarius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 2, 2011, 00:11   #2
d_m
Angband Devteam member
 
d_m's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Philadelphia, PA, USA
Age: 39
Posts: 1,516
d_m is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tibarius View Post
Angband 3.30 looks for me like this:
Town has red walls (and not the familiar # but instead a special char, i cannot reproduce on the keyboard). Lit dungeon walls are sometimes light and dark gray at the same time. The dots for each space within are smaller than in 3.20.

I don't like the new optic. Is this a feature?
Can you post screenshots of 3.2.0 and 3.3.0 (or link to them)?
__________________
linux->xterm->screen->pmacs
d_m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 2, 2011, 03:05   #3
Jazerus
Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 74
Jazerus is on a distinguished road
Delete the fonts-win.prf file under [angband folder]/lib/pref to eliminate the use of "graphical" characters.

I'd personally like a better ingame way to switch between "old" and "new" style graphics (# vs. block for walls, for example), but until then that's the best way to switch back to the older display style.
Jazerus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 2, 2011, 10:52   #4
Tibarius
Swordsman
 
Tibarius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Germany
Age: 50
Posts: 399
Tibarius is an unknown quantity at this point
old charset

Quote:
Originally posted by Jazerus
Delete the fonts-win.prf file under [angband folder]/lib/pref to eliminate the use of "graphical" characters.
Thanks, that worked for me (i just renamed the file tho)!

Quote:
Originally posted by d_m
Can you post screenshots of 3.2.0 and 3.3.0 (or link to them)?
I dunno how to do that. But i did the following:

Options Menu => v) interact with visuals (advanced) => d) dump feature attr/chars

Once with the standard package and once with the deleted (renamed) font-win file.

The permanent walls have different attr/chars in the two files.
Attached Files
File Type: txt 330_standard.txt (3.3 KB, 186 views)
File Type: txt 330_deleted_font-win_file.txt (3.3 KB, 139 views)
Tibarius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 2, 2011, 13:46   #5
buzzkill
Prophet
 
buzzkill's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Indiana, USA
Posts: 2,939
Donated: $8
buzzkill is on a distinguished road
In Windows you can produce a screen dump by pressing shift-PrtSc (next to F12). This will copy the current screen to the clipboard. From there you can paste it into your favorite graphic editor and do what you want with it. There's also a keypress to only copy the active window, but I forget what it is (maybe Shift-Alt-PrtSc).
__________________
www.mediafire.com/buzzkill - Get your 32x32 tiles here. UT32 now compatible Ironband and Quickband 9/6/2012.
My banding life on Buzzkill's ladder.
buzzkill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 2, 2011, 14:37   #6
Timo Pietilš
Prophet
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Climbing up from hole I just dug.
Posts: 4,096
Timo Pietilš is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by buzzkill View Post
There's also a keypress to only copy the active window, but I forget what it is (maybe Shift-Alt-PrtSc).
Just Alt-PrintScrn
Timo Pietilš is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 3, 2011, 12:27   #7
kaypy
Swordsman
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 294
kaypy is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jazerus View Post
I'd personally like a better ingame way to switch between "old" and "new" style graphics (# vs. block for walls, for example), but until then that's the best way to switch back to the older display style.
You can also use the knowledge menus to edit the feature visuals on a case by case basis (this wont get everything-at-once, but you may not want that anyway...)
kaypy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 3, 2011, 13:01   #8
Timo Pietilš
Prophet
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Climbing up from hole I just dug.
Posts: 4,096
Timo Pietilš is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by kaypy View Post
You can also use the knowledge menus to edit the feature visuals on a case by case basis (this wont get everything-at-once, but you may not want that anyway...)
That unfortunately is not enough, because there are now three symbols / feature, one light, one dark and one something between. Also you can't save those in knowledge-menu.

This is one UI feature that is unfinished.

I tried to search ticket for that, but didn't find any. Should I make a "reminder" ticket about this?
Timo Pietilš is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 3, 2011, 16:08   #9
kaypy
Swordsman
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 294
kaypy is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Timo Pietilš View Post
That unfortunately is not enough, because there are now three symbols / feature, one light, one dark and one something between. Also you can't save those in knowledge-menu.
There are three char/attr pairs for a given feature, but you can swap which one you are editing until all three are to your liking (use L for Lighting). I was able to get it possible-to-change-everything-ingame pretty easily. Getting the UI *decent* would be a lot harder. I wasn't able to figure out what it ought to look like, let alone make it happen- there isn't anywhere I could see to logically put an indicator for which pair you are editing, for example.

First that needs figuring out (and getting working)
Then it could use documenting (I wouldn't recommend putting too much documentation in place until getting the UI right)
Saving the visuals from that screen would be a logical addition about this time, too.
Oh, and IIRC you can make things go *really* strange by using the mouse on that screen...
kaypy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 3, 2011, 19:57   #10
Timo Pietilš
Prophet
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Climbing up from hole I just dug.
Posts: 4,096
Timo Pietilš is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by kaypy View Post
There are three char/attr pairs for a given feature, but you can swap which one you are editing until all three are to your liking (use L for Lighting).
That doesn't work in my copy (official 3.3). Pressing 'l' does nothing as far as I can tell. Or UI sucks so much that it does, but doesn't indicate it in any way....

I figured it out, you need to press 'l' before you go to edit visuals. And it doesn't tell you that you just changed lightning, or what setting you are at that point editing.

There is also mysterious "'c' to copy" at the bottom of the screen. Copy what? Where? if I press it "'p' to paste" appears, but I still don't know what I am copying and where.

IMO it was easier to edit those directly in pref-files than in UI once you figured out codes for symbols and colors.

I repeat the question which I made earlier: should I make a ticket from this, or is this already work in progress?
Timo Pietilš is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question about colors AnonymousHero Development 2 April 22, 2011 19:44
Monster colors Timo Pietilš Development 13 June 25, 2010 06:51
Fonts and colors questions Whatproblem Vanilla 7 November 1, 2009 19:15
Changing colors of uniques Donald Jonker Development 4 June 27, 2009 21:00
Give a meaning to object colors fph Vanilla 7 May 3, 2009 18:29


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:36.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.