Angband.oook.cz
Angband.oook.cz
AboutDownloadVariantsLadderForumCompetitionSpoilersComicScreenshotsFunniesLinks

Go Back   Angband Forums > Angband > Vanilla

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old January 9, 2012, 11:33   #1
Rivendell
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 18
Rivendell is on a distinguished road
Customizing my Graphics Question

I like to go into the Display Feature section and customize my graphics; little diamonds for quartz veins, the little door symbols for the doors, and various colored blocks for the walls.

I'm trying to set up 3.3.2 the same way I had 3.2.0, but I'm running into some difficulty, and I'm hoping someone can help. I changed the symbols in the Display Feature Knowledge section, but when I play the game, the only time I see the blocks (my desired graphic) is when I'm in a room, or within the range of my light source. Otherwise, all the other graphics remain the old ascii ### symbols.

This didn't happen in 3.2.0. When I changed the graphics in the Knowledge section, the whole map changed accordingly.

Is there any way for me to have the graphics I want enabled for the whole map in 3.3.2?

I noticed when I changed the symbols in the Knowledge section that instead of there being only one symbol like in 3.2.0, there are three symbols in 3.3.2. I was only able to change the center symbol. (Hit v, scroll to desired symbol, hit enter) So, instead of ### it looks like #[block]#. Do I need to change all three of these symbols for it to work? And if so, how?

I also notice that there are a couple of options missing in 3.3.2. Map remembers all perma-lit and torch-lit grids. I have them enabled in 3.2.0. Could it be that these allowed the whole map to change?

I've been messing with it all night, and I'm stumped.
Rivendell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 9, 2012, 12:33   #2
Magnate
Angband Devteam member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 4,992
Magnate is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to Magnate Send a message via Yahoo to Magnate Send a message via Skype™ to Magnate
The difference is that 3.3.2 distinguishes between three different lighting levels, so there are now three things to change for each graphic. This is why you're seeing the changes you want when in the range of your light source, and not otherwise - you've only changed one of the three. Unfortunately the UI for changing the three is, er, not very good. I think it should be possible from the knowledge menu, but I couldn't swear to that (never done it myself). It *is* possible by editing your pref files manually, but you obviously have to know the syntax. I hope someone will be able to help here by pasting an example from their own pref files, but if not I will try to provide one when I can (I'm at work at the mo).
__________________
"3.4 is much better than 3.1, 3.2 or 3.3. It still is easier than 3.0.9, but it is more convenient to play without being ridiculously easy, so it is my new favorite of the versions." - Timo Pietila
Magnate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 9, 2012, 12:41   #3
ghengiz
Adept
 
ghengiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Roaming in Terry Pratchett's Discworld
Posts: 178
ghengiz is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Magnate View Post
It *is* possible by editing your pref files manually, but you obviously have to know the syntax. I hope someone will be able to help here by pasting an example from their own pref files, but if not I will try to provide one when I can (I'm at work at the mo).
this has been already answered by Nick some time ago
I quote him (note that he is first referring to save a pref file from the visual knowledge menu):

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick View Post
You could try saving it to a pref file and then reloading that; if that's what you have already tried, you could actually go in and edit the font-win.prf file directly:

Code:
# Magma (slate / solid block)

F:50:2/127:1:A
...here the 50 is the index of the terrain (you can get this from terrain.txt in lib/edit), 2 is the colour (you can check what you want from feature knowledge) and 127 is the block character.
ghengiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 9, 2012, 12:50   #4
Magnate
Angband Devteam member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 4,992
Magnate is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to Magnate Send a message via Yahoo to Magnate Send a message via Skype™ to Magnate
Thanks - but if I'm not mistaken, Nick's helpful advice is from before the split into three lighting levels. So for each terrain there need to be three F: lines, one for each lighting level. To make things more complicated, things like permanent walls have more than one terrain character (I have no idea why).

But hopefully the general advice still holds, in that looking in terrain.txt will provide the right numbers for editing in the pref file.
__________________
"3.4 is much better than 3.1, 3.2 or 3.3. It still is easier than 3.0.9, but it is more convenient to play without being ridiculously easy, so it is my new favorite of the versions." - Timo Pietila
Magnate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 9, 2012, 13:57   #5
Rivendell
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 18
Rivendell is on a distinguished road
Thank you for your help. I should probably add that I'm on Windows Vista, and I have that walls not showing up bug. I Changed name of the font-win.pref file to get the walls to work again.

I originally went this route with 3.2.0 because I couldn't unlock the font-win file to make changes to it via Nick's fix.

I was just thinking that maybe I was missing something painfully obvious with 3.3.2.
Rivendell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 9, 2012, 18:04   #6
Nomad
Swordsman
 
Nomad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: England
Posts: 450
Nomad is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rivendell View Post
I noticed when I changed the symbols in the Knowledge section that instead of there being only one symbol like in 3.2.0, there are three symbols in 3.3.2. I was only able to change the center symbol. (Hit v, scroll to desired symbol, hit enter) So, instead of ### it looks like #[block]#. Do I need to change all three of these symbols for it to work? And if so, how?
You should be able to press 'l' to cycle through the three lighting modes and change them individually. (I think the order from left to right is unlit, lit, torchlit, but I could be wrong.) Just to make it more horribly awkward, you have to press 'l' to cycle before you press 'v' to change the visuals, and it's not at all obvious that pressing 'l' has done anything until you pick a different symbol and you can see which one of the three changes.
Nomad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 9, 2012, 22:21   #7
Rivendell
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 18
Rivendell is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nomad View Post
You should be able to press 'l' to cycle through the three lighting modes and change them individually. (I think the order from left to right is unlit, lit, torchlit, but I could be wrong.) Just to make it more horribly awkward, you have to press 'l' to cycle before you press 'v' to change the visuals, and it's not at all obvious that pressing 'l' has done anything until you pick a different symbol and you can see which one of the three changes.
This did the trick! Lower case L! Now the entire screen is the way I like it. THANK YOU!
Rivendell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 10, 2012, 12:29   #8
Magnate
Angband Devteam member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 4,992
Magnate is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to Magnate Send a message via Yahoo to Magnate Send a message via Skype™ to Magnate
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rivendell View Post
This did the trick! Lower case L! Now the entire screen is the way I like it. THANK YOU!
Wow, I'm so glad that worked. Thanks to Nomad and ghengiz for their assistance - we really must get this documented somewhere.
__________________
"3.4 is much better than 3.1, 3.2 or 3.3. It still is easier than 3.0.9, but it is more convenient to play without being ridiculously easy, so it is my new favorite of the versions." - Timo Pietila
Magnate is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Old wall graphics? Swede2378 Vanilla 2 May 28, 2010 00:45
No graphics? biff Vanilla 14 August 27, 2009 16:44
3.1 wall graphics Zappa Vanilla 3 June 28, 2009 00:49
[O] Graphics? hero Variants 4 September 8, 2007 23:40
getting graphics to work arcane Vanilla 5 September 8, 2007 22:39


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 23:25.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.